Multiple transit visas for Sri Lanka

Status
Not open for further replies.

Fiches Mouser

Established Member
Joined
Dec 14, 2013
Posts
1,416
Hi all,

I have a number of 1 day transits on multiple occasions through CMB, and I've applied and received approval on the first transit eVisa.

When I try to do another, the system tells me I can't hold more than one visa.

Should I just wait until I've used the current visa and then apply for the next? There will be about 5 days between visits, so I assume it's enough time.

Has anyone dealt with this issue before?
 

jason8612

Newbie
Joined
Feb 11, 2009
Posts
1
I'm having a similar issue. I'll be transiting CMB a few times in a month (twice with just a connection (but one connection is separate tickets), once its under 48hrs, and one time is 3 days).
I could get a double entry tourist visa which can cover the last entry of a few days, and apparently there is no need for any ETA or visa with a connection under 8hrs. But if I apply for the double visa, and I need to enter CMB land-side on my 2nd connection, then I'm technically 1 visa too short.
 
Virgin Wines Australia Has Exceptional Red, White & Sparkling Wines On Offer. See Online. See Our Exclusive Wine Selections From Around Australia & Around The World. Shop Now! Advent Calendar 2021. Better Wines for Less. Cancel Anytime. No Membership Fees.

AFF Supporters can remove this and all advertisements

clifford

Established Member
Joined
Jul 6, 2004
Posts
2,131
I have used these transit visas a few times and have another one active at the moment.

My understanding is that one visa can be used multiple times before its expiry date. Also, they tend not to be checked very thoroughly or consistently IME, and often they are not even taken, only glanced at. If the immigration officer does take the printed visa, you can always print another one.

So I wouldn't worry about it.
 

Fiches Mouser

Established Member
Joined
Dec 14, 2013
Posts
1,416
I have used these transit visas a few times and have another one active at the moment.

My understanding is that one visa can be used multiple times before its expiry date. Also, they tend not to be checked very thoroughly or consistently IME, and often they are not even taken, only glanced at. If the immigration officer does take the printed visa, you can always print another one.

So I wouldn't worry about it.

Thanks clifford. Good to hear.

Mine's a 2-day transit ETA so I assume I won't need a print out since it's all electronic?

Wish they'd just let me apply for an annual multi-entry visa so I never had to worry about it.
 

zainman

Established Member
Joined
Jan 31, 2012
Posts
1,450
using CMB to start some trips are we? Good J fares on offer usually!
 

Fiches Mouser

Established Member
Joined
Dec 14, 2013
Posts
1,416
using CMB to start some trips are we? Good J fares on offer usually!

Indeed! Best achievement so far was booking QR J CMB-LHR-CMB in October for about AUD$1300. Use some CMB-MEL-CMBs on CX for about $2500 each and I've got quite a few cheap J trips ahead.

But seriously, it's a great strategy if you have the time, but it's literally taking me three days to get from MEL to HND and then another three days to get home. As to why, it even baffles me.
 

Austman

Established Member
Joined
Sep 21, 2007
Posts
3,650
Qantas
Platinum
I didn't even know I needed a transit visa.

You can get one, on the spot and for free, at the counter just near the immigration booths. It took me about 1 minute. I did this about 2 weeks ago.

For my next transit, I applied on-line and it was approved instantly. The immigration officer then didn't even want to look at it. Perhaps it was all there in the computer?

With all the on-line form filling out, it was actually quicker to get it done on the spot!

Although having it done in advance seems more sensible and secure.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top