Would you pay a price premium for non-stop SYD-LHR flight?

Discussion in 'Open Discussion' started by NM, Sep 27, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
?

How much of a price premium would you pay for non-stop SYD-LHR flight?

  1. up to 10%

    97.8%
  2. 20%

    0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  3. 30%

    2.2%
  4. 40%

    0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  5. 50%

    0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  6. 60+%

    0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  1. NM

    NM
    Moderator

    Aug 27, 2004
    15,698
    1,179
    Flight Map:
    View my flight map
    Following on from discussions around the traps regarding the possibility of Qantas purchasing the 777-200LR, and the possibility of Boeing offering an even longer range derivative of this airliner with 18,500km range (by adding more aux fuel tanks and a lighter interior), would you consider paying a premium for the non-stop flight if:
    • Lighter interior was achieved by reducing the number of seats and hence more space per seat such as BA's World Traveller Plus seating
    • Flight schedule was convenient (ie connections at each end, not middle of the night or crack of dawn departures etc)
    • Considering economy fares and seating at this time
    Feel free to post your thoughts on paying a premium for business or first class non-stop flights as well.
    Registered Users don't see this and have the option of removing all other advertisements.  Register HERE
     
  2. Kiwi Flyer

    Kiwi Flyer Senior Member

    Sep 24, 2004
    5,453
    5
    IMHO any premium worth paying would be higher for economy than business/first.

    Being based in NZ, the premium for a nonstop Oz-UK flight would be less than if I was based in Oz. Still have the connection in SYD/MEL/BNE to deal with, which is comparable to a SIN/BKK/HKG connection I think (but still much better than connecting LAX/SFO due to the silly rules & process for transit in US). So for me the premium would be for the extra comfort rather than any convenience.
     
  3. Kiwi Flyer

    Kiwi Flyer Senior Member

    Sep 24, 2004
    5,453
    5
    Will see if I can find the premium that SQ charges on the A345 nonstop services SIN-LAX/EWR over the one-stop. This is the same concept - more space and convenience of avoiding a transit.
     
  4. aus_flyer

    aus_flyer Established Member

    Feb 15, 2005
    1,361
    25
    Brisbane
    Personally, I couldn't think of anything worse!

    Regardless of whether flying first, business, premium cattle or ordinary cattle, the thought of a non-stop flight for that long terrifies me!


    :shock:
     
  5. NM

    NM
    Moderator

    Aug 27, 2004
    15,698
    1,179
    Flight Map:
    View my flight map
    Perhaps I should have added an option for:

    I would not take it even if 20% cheaper than the 1-stop service :lol: .
     
  6. willyroo

    willyroo Junior Member

    Jan 14, 2003
    37
    0
    Assuming an 19 hour flight time, a departure from SYD at 21:00 would arrive 06:00 LHR - ignoring DST either end.

    This leaves you with another 4 hours in SYD - a full working day. If the aircraft was (say) 60 J and 120 Y+, this could be a nice little earner for QF.
     
  7. serfty

    Moderator

    Nov 16, 2004
    36,838
    6,704
    MEL
    Flight Map:
    View my flight map
    It could make a xONE3 from SWP that excludes ASIA possible (A, D, WT+)
     
  8. NM

    NM
    Moderator

    Aug 27, 2004
    15,698
    1,179
    Flight Map:
    View my flight map
    How about something like this config mix:

    12 x First Class in 3 rows of 1x2x1
    56 x Skybeds in 8 rows of 2x3x2
    120 x PE in 15 rows of 2x4x2 (per BA WT+) @ 38" pitch

    QF standard Y seating is 3x4x3 @ 31" in 747, so assume 3x3x3 @ 31" would be an equiv 777 Y config such as BA use.

    I know the SQ A345's are only 2 class (64 Raffles + 117 PE)

    Not sure just how that would fit with the extra galley space needed for extra catering for the longer flight etc???

    Compare with BA's 4-class 777's at 14F, 48J, 40WT+, 127WT.
     
  9. Kiwi Flyer

    Kiwi Flyer Senior Member

    Sep 24, 2004
    5,453
    5
    SQ's A345 being 2 class wasnt their choice - weight considerations came into play though. They have 2 galleys to serve business class.
     
  10. Alan in CBR

    Alan in CBR Member

    Apr 2, 2004
    308
    0
    Canberra ACT
    I'd be willing to bet that the introduction of a non-stop would be accompanied by a change to the *ONEn rules, e.g.:

    "Europe to/from SWP nonstop overflying Asia requires Asia to be counted as a visited continent." :)
     
  11. aus_flyer

    aus_flyer Established Member

    Feb 15, 2005
    1,361
    25
    Brisbane
    I would be surprised if these planes could fit 2-3-2 skybeds - but could be 2-2-2.

    Can't say I'm in favour of being stuck in the middle of the 3!
     
  12. aus_flyer

    aus_flyer Established Member

    Feb 15, 2005
    1,361
    25
    Brisbane
    At the moment the OneWorld explorer rules state that a single flight number from Europe to Australia still counts as having past through Asia.
     
  13. NM

    NM
    Moderator

    Aug 27, 2004
    15,698
    1,179
    Flight Map:
    View my flight map
    The 777 is almost as wide as a 747 lower deck. BA use the same seating config for Club World and WT+ on both 747 and 777 (2x4x2). But they have one less seat across in WT on 777 than on 747.

    Now given that QF has two different width Skybeds, with the wider centre armrest used on the 747-400 upper deck and Zone B lower deck cabins, and the narrower arm rest version used on the A330-300 and Zone A of the 2-class 747-400, I think they might be able to get the narrower arm-rest version as 2x3x2 on a 777. Then again, they may fall into the same floor strength issues as the A330-200 experienced :?: .

    Given the 777's extra width over a A330, a 2x2x2 config would result in a very generous aisle width, similar to the upper deck of a 747.
     
  14. NM

    NM
    Moderator

    Aug 27, 2004
    15,698
    1,179
    Flight Map:
    View my flight map
    But that is because the flight does actually land in Asia, not just fly over. It does, however, permit a second touch in Asia if you route SWP-ASIA-NA-Europe-SWP. Great option for status runs.

    It would be interesting to see how the fare rules are modified to cater for a non-stop Europe-SWP operation, even if it was something like FRA-PER.
     
  15. QF WP

    Moderator

    Jun 20, 2002
    14,240
    5,926
    Brisbane
    Flight Map:
    View my flight map
    Twitter:
    Facebook:
    Linkedin:
    Whilst I shudder at the thought, it is a fact of life. We do SYD or MEL/LAX so why not a little further.

    I'd still prefer a stop though. I think much beyond 15 hours is starting to extend the level of my ability to want to be on a plane, no matter what class of service.
     
  16. NM

    NM
    Moderator

    Aug 27, 2004
    15,698
    1,179
    Flight Map:
    View my flight map
    Another thought regarding this and *ONE* fares .... perhaps they just don't offer the A, D, L fares on that route and hence it is not eligible for the discounted fares nor for OneWorld Explorer itineraries. They may only seel it as F, J, Y+ full fares.
     
  17. aus_flyer

    aus_flyer Established Member

    Feb 15, 2005
    1,361
    25
    Brisbane
    For a flight that long they would probably need 3 crews!
     
  18. MetroAir

    MetroAir Guest

    No way, too long!

    I prefer to be able to get out, walk around and sleep properly - in a bed, even if flying first.

    Needs a 'not in a million years' button :lol:

    Cheers
     
  19. straitman

    Moderator

    Apr 27, 2003
    16,080
    4,292
    SE Oz (Sale)
    Flight Map:
    View my flight map
    You've now got my vote :!:
     
  20. oz_mark

    oz_mark Enthusiast

    Jun 30, 2002
    16,875
    1,486
    Melbourne
    Flight Map:
    View my flight map
    I would have to say that I am firmly in the group of people that would want a stop.
     
Loading...

Share This Page