TransferWise Borderless Account

BRIS_VA_HAWK

Member
Joined
Oct 22, 2015
Posts
158
Has anyone taken up one of these Borderless accounts?

I've got the 28 Degrees card for my purchases whilst overseas (can't say I've checked Mastercard's rates, but the lack of a 3% surcharge is a winner for me), but this seemed interesting for cash purposes.

Heading to the USA at the end of July, so have a little time up my sleeve to set it all up.
 

VPS

Senior Member
Joined
Apr 2, 2011
Posts
6,693
Qantas
LT Gold
Virgin
Platinum
Just bumping this. Has anyone managed to open an account for the debit card by pretending they are in another country. I have UK US NZ and Australian bank accounts and would find this card really useful.
 

Mr_Orange

Senior Member
Joined
Jun 17, 2013
Posts
5,034
Just bumping this. Has anyone managed to open an account for the debit card by pretending they are in another country. I have UK US NZ and Australian bank accounts and would find this card really useful.

I'm also interested to know if anyone has opened one of these and any feedback that you might be able to share.

My wife is starting to receive a modest income in USD and HSBC will charge $10 per deposit so eliminating that charge will be very useful.
 

daft009

Established Member
Joined
Feb 21, 2014
Posts
2,420
Qantas
Bronze
Virgin
Red
i have been using it to receive customer payments in my transferwise euro account.
For the EUR account the account name is mine only "Company name Pty Ltd"

For the USD one it originally was the same however now my account name has some tranferwise prefix on it which some of my customer's banks won't accept.
If they are paying my company, account name has to be only my company name.
incoming USD can only be accepted from certain countries so double check this before using it
 

Mr_Orange

Senior Member
Joined
Jun 17, 2013
Posts
5,034
i have been using it to receive customer payments in my transferwise euro account.
For the EUR account the account name is mine only "Company name Pty Ltd"

For the USD one it originally was the same however now my account name has some tranferwise prefix on it which some of my customer's banks won't accept.
If they are paying my company, account name has to be only my company name.
incoming USD can only be accepted from certain countries so double check this before using it

Thank you for a quick response. The incoming USD are from the US so assume that would not be an issue.
 

VPS

Senior Member
Joined
Apr 2, 2011
Posts
6,693
Qantas
LT Gold
Virgin
Platinum
The problem is you can't open this account in Australia. I was wondering if I used a vpn and pretended I was in the UK whether it would work
 

Mr_Orange

Senior Member
Joined
Jun 17, 2013
Posts
5,034
The problem is you can't open this account in Australia. I was wondering if I used a vpn and pretended I was in the UK whether it would work

Oh, that's a strange drawback given that they offer an AUD account and Australians can use their normal money transfer service.
 

Mr_Orange

Senior Member
Joined
Jun 17, 2013
Posts
5,034
The problem is you can't open this account in Australia. I was wondering if I used a vpn and pretended I was in the UK whether it would work

Oh, that's a strange drawback given that they offer an AUD account and Australians can use their normal money transfer service.

I've just spent some time looking into this account in more detail and it seems as though Australians can open an account according to this page: TransferWise Help | Why can't I get a borderless account?.

This page: TransferWise Help | Why can't I get USD account details?, confirms that Australian account holders can have a USD denominated account.
 

Mr_Orange

Senior Member
Joined
Jun 17, 2013
Posts
5,034
Just to confirm that I have sucessfully opened one of these accounts (subject to verification) for me with a EUR denominated account which will facilitate a funds transfer.
 

daft009

Established Member
Joined
Feb 21, 2014
Posts
2,420
Qantas
Bronze
Virgin
Red
I've had a borderless account for USD and EUR for the last 6-8months.
no issues and I'm based in Sydney.

tried a transfer from my citibank no forex account into my transfer-wise account without issues. since then been receiving multiple customer payments into it.
 

VPS

Senior Member
Joined
Apr 2, 2011
Posts
6,693
Qantas
LT Gold
Virgin
Platinum

SeatBackForward

Established Member
Joined
Jun 20, 2006
Posts
4,474
I've had a borderless account for USD and EUR for the last 6-8months.
no issues and I'm based in Sydney.

tried a transfer from my citibank no forex account into my transfer-wise account without issues. since then been receiving multiple customer payments into it.

Agreed, my business has setup bordless accounts in EUr, GBP and USD and we've accepted payments into all of these, am an Austrlaian based business using Transferwise for the past 9months or so.
 

theblank

Established Member
Joined
Aug 3, 2014
Posts
1,601
The problem is you can't open this account in Australia. I was wondering if I used a vpn and pretended I was in the UK whether it would work

You can open the account, I have one, and I have used it, you just cannot get a Debit Card
 
Top