LONE4 starting from SWP hitting and SAM is LONE5?

Status
Not open for further replies.

vt

Member
Joined
Mar 9, 2006
Posts
221
Hi all,

This is my itinery:
MEL-LAX-LIM,LPB-SCL-EZE,GIG-JFK-LHR-DXB-LHR-IST-LHR-HKG-PEK-HKG-KUL-HKG-PER-ADL-MEL,SYD-BME-SYD

MEL-LAX-LIM and GIG-JFK-LHR is transit.

AA are saying this is a LONE5 instead of a LONE4 as I start from SWP and travel in SAM. There basis is that the xONEx tickets have a minumun of 3 continents which are NAM, ASA and EUR. Starting from SWP adds 1 continent and travel to SAM adds another.

Is this correct?
 

Kiwi Flyer

Senior Member
Joined
Sep 24, 2004
Posts
5,546
Yup that routing is a LONE5. If you go to Europe directly from South America AND to South America directly from SWP then you can do it on a LONE4. Eg SYD-SCL-LIM, LPB-SCL-EZE,GIG-LHR-...

Starting from NZ is a bit cheaper than from Australia.

I don't think you can do SYD-BME-SYD. Needs to be PER-BME-SYD vv.
 

serfty

Veteran Member
Moderator
Joined
Nov 16, 2004
Posts
45,065
Qantas
Platinum
Virgin
Platinum
vt said:
there is a seasonal SYD-BME-SYD flight ...
With a xONEx, more than one BME-MEL/SYD segment is specifically excluded.

xONEx Rules said:
FLIGHT APPLICATION

...

WITHIN AUSTRALIA ONLY ONE NONSTOP/SINGLE PLANE SERVICE FLIGHT IS PERMITTED BETWEEN THE FOLLOWING POINTS
- BNE/CNS/SYD/MEL - PER
- MEL/SYD - DRW
- MEL/SYD - BME
 

Kiwi Flyer

Senior Member
Joined
Sep 24, 2004
Posts
5,546
That's why I suggested PER-BME-SYD. Sorry I didn't have the rules handy when I posted.
 

vt

Member
Joined
Mar 9, 2006
Posts
221
thats ok...

I am now rescheduling so that I do not touch NAM in so saving abuot $700 for a LONE4 rather than a LONE5
 

vt

Member
Joined
Mar 9, 2006
Posts
221
I was just trying to clarify of a xONEx had to count EUR/NAM/ASA regardless.

It has been bothering me hearing AA RTW Desk saying a xONEx ticket must "count" NAM/EUR/ASA
 

Kiwi Flyer

Senior Member
Joined
Sep 24, 2004
Posts
5,546
I think you misunderstood. You need to have a minimum of 3 continents, and due to the OW network, IF you have a xONE3 they must be Europe, North America and Asia. There is no other combination of 3 continents that are possible.

If you have a xONE4 then there are a few different combinations of continents that are possible.
 

vt

Member
Joined
Mar 9, 2006
Posts
221
Thats exactly what I thought. Seems it is a case of some agent interpreting the rules a bit differently.
 

Kiwi Flyer

Senior Member
Joined
Sep 24, 2004
Posts
5,546
vt said:
Thats exactly what I thought. Seems it is a case of some agent interpreting the rules a bit differently.

Just a thought, but it is going to be tricky getting AA to ticket this since there will be no AA flights on SWP-SAM-EUR-AS-SWP routing.
 

Dave Noble

Senior Member
Joined
Oct 10, 2005
Posts
6,419
Kiwi Flyer said:
Just a thought, but it is going to be tricky getting AA to ticket this since there will be no AA flights on SWP-SAM-EUR-AS-SWP routing.

I have had no issues getting AA to issue ATWs which have had no AA component

Dave
 

Kiwi Flyer

Senior Member
Joined
Sep 24, 2004
Posts
5,546
Dave Noble said:
I have had no issues getting AA to issue ATWs which have had no AA component

Dave

That is surprising. They don't get any revenue from issuing if they have no flights.

*A RTWs specifically have a rule that can only be ticketed on an airline in the itinerary.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.

Enhance your AFF viewing experience!

From just $6 we'll remove all advertisements so that you can enjoy a cleaner and uninterupted viewing experience.

And you'll be supporting us so that we can continue to provide this valuable resource :)


Sample AFF with no advertisements? More..
Top