Login Now to remove this and all advertisements (GOLD and SILVER members)
Not a member? Register Now for free

Ask The Pilot

jb747

Enthusiast
Joined
Mar 9, 2010
Messages
10,019
Points
1,755
With Rex flying some 737 previous flown by Virgin and I understand pilots previously employed by Virgin would you expect any difference in the different airlines procedures ?

From what little I've heard, most of the pilots will come from Virgin, though they may also be a smattering from QF. And of course, there were plenty of Australian pilots flying 737s overseas.

Rex would know very little about the operation, so I'd expect Virgin's procedures to be imported, lock, stock and barrel. Whilst Virgin won't be giving anything away, all of the pilots would have copies of their manuals, so some will accidentally find their way into Rex's book case. The same happened with Ansett when they got the 747 Classic.

There is a huge amount of work to be done to convince CASA to allow the operation to start. Whilst I'm sure they'll get there, any shortcuts will be welcome. They will also be restricted initially. Things like ETOPs (which you need if WA ever rejoins the country), and low vis operations, require institutional experience, which they will not have for quite a while.

Also if a pilot changes airlines and flys the same plane type what certification do they need to complete?

I think the pilots will need less paperwork than the airline. They really just need their licence to be current at the appropriate level. Rex will have to develop and prove a training and checking system. Just one of the many hurdles.


Whilst on that theme, where would Rex obtain a 737 SIM ?

I doubt that they will. Do Boeing have one in Brisbane? I can't see QF or Virgin being all that helpful, not because they don't rent out sim time, but because they'll be under heavy load from their own training.
 
Last edited:

straitman

Enthusiast
Moderator
Joined
Apr 27, 2003
Messages
17,826
Points
840
Qantas
LT Gold
Virgin
Red
Like everything else in this world there are commercial operators for simulators that are fully compliant with the regulatory requirements. They are able to fill gaps in airline programs.
 

jb747

Enthusiast
Joined
Mar 9, 2010
Messages
10,019
Points
1,755
Like everything else in this world there are commercial operators for simulators that are fully compliant with the regulatory requirements. They are able to fill gaps in airline programs.

Very true, and often used by all of the airlines, even those that have their own sims. But, right now, it would have to be within Oz, to avoid all of the quarantine issues. So, who does that leave? Boeing? BaE?
 

AviatorInsight

Active Member
Joined
Oct 5, 2016
Messages
886
Points
465
The only 737 sims in Aus is the Boeing one (just 1 is owned by Boeing) in BNE, next door is the VA 737. In SYD is the QF 737 sim, with the same in MEL. For VA, we use the Ansett 737 sims (my favourite). Rex are also in the same building already with the Saab Sim at Ansett.

VA used the QF A330 sims and it was always the 12am - 4am shift. Air NZ used our sims for the 777 in the same time slot. So if Rex were to use anyone’s simulators that would be the time slot they would get.

As far as procedures go, a couple of senior VA guys are hitting the operation up at Rex. We were told we couldn’t go on leave without pay and then fly for Rex.

When the 777 started, it was a complete cookie cutter approach from the Emirates manuals. In fact, I’ve still got the videos when I joined and it showed the Emirates training facility and where to sign on, etc.
 
Last edited:

jb747

Enthusiast
Joined
Mar 9, 2010
Messages
10,019
Points
1,755
Would these be used by RAAF for their BBJ and P-8 pilot training?

The RAAF have at least 3 sims for the 737 family. They’ve got one for the Wedgetail variant at Williamtown, and two for the P-8 at Edinburgh. I don’t know about the BBJ.
 
Get paid up to 25% in real cash from your everyday purchases from leading companies such as Virgin Australia, Booking.com, Woolworths, Coles, Apple, Microsoft and much more. Free to join and no catches!

Recommended by the Australian Frequent Flyer

mjt57

Active Member
Joined
Jan 9, 2012
Messages
839
Points
245
The only 737 sims in Aus is the Boeing one
What about the static sim that people like me (50th birthday present) can use?


There's also one out at Essendon which I got for Xmas last year. It's an A320 sim. I got to experience the differences between the two aircraft insofar as driving the things went.
 

jb747

Enthusiast
Joined
Mar 9, 2010
Messages
10,019
Points
1,755
What about the static sim that people like me (50th birthday present) can use?

It's not really a simulator.

There's also one out at Essendon which I got for Xmas last year. It's an A320 sim. I got to experience the differences between the two aircraft insofar as driving the things went.

Yes, but a 320 sim isn't a great deal of use to Rex....
 

AviatorInsight

Active Member
Joined
Oct 5, 2016
Messages
886
Points
465
What about the static sim that people like me (50th birthday present) can use?


There's also one out at Essendon which I got for Xmas last year. It's an A320 sim. I got to experience the differences between the two aircraft insofar as driving the things went.
Those sims aren’t Level D certified for training. It needs to be full motion for the purposes of endorsement training and cyclic training.

We had a fixed based sim for a maximum of 4 sim sessions before we moved onto the full flight sim during the endorsement and it definitely wasn’t the same.

The flight experience sims are not quite 100% the same either. The fixed base and full flight sims contain parts from the real aircraft and can be interchanged if need be.
 

I love to travel

Established Member
Joined
Jun 4, 2016
Messages
1,604
Solutions
1
Points
565
Qantas
Platinum
Those sims aren’t Level D certified for training. It needs to be full motion for the purposes of endorsement training and cyclic training.

We had a fixed based sim for a maximum of 4 sim sessions before we moved onto the full flight sim during the endorsement and it definitely wasn’t the same.

The flight experience sims are not quite 100% the same either. The fixed base and full flight sims contain parts from the real aircraft and can be interchanged if need be.
@AviatorInsight are you getting any flights in?
 

harvyk

Senior Member
Joined
Apr 15, 2009
Messages
6,811
Points
980
Qantas
Gold
Those sims aren’t Level D certified for training. It needs to be full motion for the purposes of endorsement training and cyclic training.

We had a fixed based sim for a maximum of 4 sim sessions before we moved onto the full flight sim during the endorsement and it definitely wasn’t the same.

The flight experience sims are not quite 100% the same either. The fixed base and full flight sims contain parts from the real aircraft and can be interchanged if need be.


Are the fixed base sim's identical in look and design as the real flight deck, just without movement, or are there other tell tail signs that you're not in the real thing?
 

AviatorInsight

Active Member
Joined
Oct 5, 2016
Messages
886
Points
465
@AviatorInsight are you getting any flights in?
I'm not current anymore, and my letter still says I'm stood down until the 24th of January. I'm hoping though that things move quickly now with the eastern states opening up and more people start booking flights again. But at this stage nothing yet.

I'll need 3 simulator sessions and a line check to get current again.
 

AviatorInsight

Active Member
Joined
Oct 5, 2016
Messages
886
Points
465
Are the fixed base sim's identical in look and design as the real flight deck, just without movement, or are there other tell tail signs that you're not in the real thing?

Yep absolutely identical. It was actually really weird trying to "fly" without it moving when you know it should. VA got rid of it for some reason. I have no idea what's going to happen to the Brisbane building. Boeing are moving out and taking their sim with them. The 777 sim will be gone in the next couple of months I presume, so it'll be just one lonely 737 simulator.
 

jb747

Enthusiast
Joined
Mar 9, 2010
Messages
10,019
Points
1,755
So is all the retesting practical or is there some theory you need to pass as well?
QF had a scale of requirements for people to requalify after time off. As best I recall, up to about 6 months, it was a group of 3 sims, plus any of the recurrent ones you might have missed. And a flight check slid in after about 3 months.

I don't specifically recall any mention of redoing the theory tests, but, there was a trigger at around 9 months where the entire type course had to redone. All sims come with fairly lengthy theory discussions, and also a quiz, on just about anything. I don't think theory will be all that much of an issue.
 

AviatorInsight

Active Member
Joined
Oct 5, 2016
Messages
886
Points
465
I'm not current anymore, and my letter still says I'm stood down until the 24th of January. I'm hoping though that things move quickly now with the eastern states opening up and more people start booking flights again. But at this stage nothing yet.

I'll need 3 simulator sessions and a line check to get current again.

Well it’s amazing how quickly things can change. Looks like demand has increased over the next couple of months (and now we’re officially out of administration), they’re bringing me back early! 😁

The goal is to have me done before Christmas so I’m ready for a January ramp up. To give you an idea, we were flying 18,000 block hours per month pre Covid. During administration it was around 3,000 and December will be around 8,500hrs, with January looking around 13,000.

To say I’m ecstatic is an understatement. I have really missed flying and will be great to get back into the seat after almost 6 months off. I didn’t take for granted the time I had off, as it was spent with family, knowing I probably won’t have this much time off again.

We just need borders to stay open and demand to be there heading into the new year. Now it’s back to the books.
 

mjt57

Active Member
Joined
Jan 9, 2012
Messages
839
Points
245
Great news, AI. Look forward to you or your colleagues flying us to whereever. I was hoping it'd be to New York but that ain't happening any time soon.
 

oz_mark

Enthusiast
Joined
Jun 30, 2002
Messages
18,780
Solutions
4
Points
1,425
Well it’s amazing how quickly things can change. Looks like demand has increased over the next couple of months (and now we’re officially out of administration), they’re bringing me back early! 😁

The goal is to have me done before Christmas so I’m ready for a January ramp up. To give you an idea, we were flying 18,000 block hours per month pre Covid. During administration it was around 3,000 and December will be around 8,500hrs, with January looking around 13,000.

To say I’m ecstatic is an understatement. I have really missed flying and will be great to get back into the seat after almost 6 months off. I didn’t take for granted the time I had off, as it was spent with family, knowing I probably won’t have this much time off again.

We just need borders to stay open and demand to be there heading into the new year. Now it’s back to the books.
Great to hear that people are coming back. Good you'll be done my Christmas, so maybe you can get a Christmas break from the books :)

I imagine it quite the feat of logistics for the airlines...
 

AviatorInsight

Active Member
Joined
Oct 5, 2016
Messages
886
Points
465
Great news, AI. Look forward to you or your colleagues flying us to whereever. I was hoping it'd be to New York but that ain't happening any time soon.
New York would be great but we’ll have to settle domestically for now until the Pacific bubble opens up.
Great to hear that people are coming back. Good you'll be done my Christmas, so maybe you can get a Christmas break from the books :)

I imagine it quite the feat of logistics for the airlines...
I’ll be done by Christmas for sure which will be a great Christmas present.

The next roster starts on the 28th Dec so I’ll be good to go on a 75% roster at this stage in Jan, hopefully up to 100% by Easter.

Definitely a massive feat to try and get everything back up and running.
 
Top