Login Now to remove this and all advertisements (GOLD and SILVER members)
Not a member? Register Now for free

What is wrong with QANTAS Website??

Status
Not open for further replies.

lovetravellingoz

Senior Member
Joined
Jul 13, 2006
Messages
9,134
Solutions
1
Points
540
I went to havea look at the QANTAS website and my account balance....but it was down..

Now at alsmost 10pm it is only operating in a cut down format..

So what has hapened...for it to hampered for so long???
 

JohnK

Veteran Member
Joined
Mar 22, 2005
Messages
43,731
Points
3,070
Maintenance? Overload from people trying to book awards!

Qantas said:
qantas.com is currently unavailable. We apologise for any inconvenience.

This is a temporary page that enables you to access key functionality.
 

Mal

Enthusiast
Joined
Dec 25, 2004
Messages
12,385
Points
10
The website was down at 18:30 AEST (BNE) and rotated between "Server not found" and generic error messages.

Around 20:30 AEST (BNE), The outage was replaced with a seriously cut down version of the website.

Someone is going to get "reamed" over it, I would assume. E-Commerce websites being down for that amount of time costs companies many, many $ - especially in a highly competitive field like airlines.

Really good showing for the new owners-to-be :)
 

lovetravellingoz

Senior Member
Joined
Jul 13, 2006
Messages
9,134
Solutions
1
Points
540
I do not think it is mainatenance...or at least planned maintenance as this afternoon it was completely down.....you could not make bookings or do anything.

So this would have cost them revenue...

This evening there is a stripped down booking system......so I would think that something had gone astray.
 

aus_flyer

Established Member
Joined
Feb 15, 2005
Messages
1,446
Points
365
I've been trying to get on since lunchtime.

Maybe they're going through the website to put the Macquarie logo on every page? ;)
 

dajop

Enthusiast
Joined
Jul 1, 2002
Messages
11,525
Solutions
3
Points
1,195
Pulling the website down ... isn't that taking the concept of moving from being a public company to a private company just a little bit too literally ;)
 

Mal

Enthusiast
Joined
Dec 25, 2004
Messages
12,385
Points
10
odoherty said:
Maybe they're going through the website to put the Macquarie logo on every page? ;)

Nah they're adding the toll gates onto every page :D
 

Kiwi Flyer

Senior Member
Joined
Sep 24, 2004
Messages
5,546
Points
0
Temporary page with booking engine is up. For NZ and other places outside australia don't use the normal addy, but instead go to www.qantas.com.au and then select country (top right).

So go to use this temporary page and it doesn't return anything other than page not found. :(
 

ANstar

Active Member
Joined
Sep 22, 2006
Messages
687
Points
220
I find it quite shoddy that an airline the size of QF has an outage for this long... It can;t be due to the increased demand as I'm sure they would also have added a press release to the cut down version.

A sign of a cost cut to far with all this outsourcing?
 

Dave Noble

Senior Member
Joined
Oct 10, 2005
Messages
6,419
Points
0
ANstar said:
I find it quite shoddy that an airline the size of QF has an outage for this long... It can;t be due to the increased demand as I'm sure they would also have added a press release to the cut down version.

A sign of a cost cut to far with all this outsourcing?

Why should QF start explaining why they are having a problem with their computer systems to all n sundry and I can see no reason to try and blame outsourcing for it

Dave
 

aus_flyer

Established Member
Joined
Feb 15, 2005
Messages
1,446
Points
365
You can still access as normal by visiting here:
Qantas Homepage

I see that the Qantas agents site has had a complete makeover, maybe the Qantas website is being overhauled also.
 

oz_mark

Enthusiast
Joined
Jun 30, 2002
Messages
18,680
Solutions
3
Points
1,425
The website seems to working normally now.
 

Mal

Enthusiast
Joined
Dec 25, 2004
Messages
12,385
Points
10
The website seemed to be restored around 10:30am today (BNE +10 time).
 

simongr

Enthusiast
Joined
Jul 10, 2006
Messages
14,426
Points
0
Has anyone tried to book an award? Is that part of the website still working ;)
 

oz_mark

Enthusiast
Joined
Jun 30, 2002
Messages
18,680
Solutions
3
Points
1,425
PC World are reporting firewall issues: PC World - News - Qantas site hits turbulence, firewall to blame


Qantas may be flying high following its proposed $11b takeover by Macquarie Bank and Texas Pacific Group, but faulty server hardware on its Web site has ensured it has come crashing down to reality.

Customers experienced trouble and received server errors when accessing the www.qantas.com.au site late Thursday night.

This was then followed by a temporary page albeit with limited functionality: customers were able to make domestic and international bookings but not packages, car hire or accommodation.

According to Qantas spokesperson the site has experienced "internal technical issues". He said this was due to malfunctioning firewalls. He did not elaborate any further, but said at 12.30AEST that the sight was slowly coming back up to full capacity.

He ruled out a denial of service attack.

The Web site of Qantas's low cost subsidiary JetStar was fully operational.
 

ANstar

Active Member
Joined
Sep 22, 2006
Messages
687
Points
220
Dave Noble said:
Why should QF start explaining why they are having a problem with their computer systems to all n sundry and I can see no reason to try and blame outsourcing for it

Dave

Well if a major ecommerce site is out for over 12 hours, I would expect some information on why the outage occurred.
 
Vinomofo is the best wine deals site on the planet. Good wines, real people and epic deals, without all the bowties and bs.

Recommended by the Australian Frequent Flyer

JohnK

Veteran Member
Joined
Mar 22, 2005
Messages
43,731
Points
3,070
ANstar said:
Well if a major ecommerce site is out for over 12 hours, I would expect some information on why the outage occurred.
Someone with any sense of common courtesy would have released some information on the reasons behind the outage.
 

Kiwi Flyer

Senior Member
Joined
Sep 24, 2004
Messages
5,546
Points
0
Mal said:
The website seemed to be restored around 10:30am today (BNE +10 time).

It wasn't working from NZ (even looking at QF Oz site). :confused:
 

simongr

Enthusiast
Joined
Jul 10, 2006
Messages
14,426
Points
0
I am having repeated problems with the QF website - I can log in and see my bookings fine - but every time I click on the link to upgrade them I get a 404 error. Anyone having similar issues or is it just that I only have 1 QF flight in a 17 fligth booking that I am trying to UG...
 

serfty

Veteran Member
Moderator
Joined
Nov 16, 2004
Messages
43,258
Solutions
7
Points
3,275
Qantas
Platinum
Virgin
Platinum
I would call Qantas on 131131 and request that upgrade ASAP ...
 
Status
Not open for further replies.

Community Statistics

Threads
86,642
Messages
2,101,596
Members
53,928
Latest member
ron8
Top