Seat selection on Business seat QF domestic

sanne

Member
Joined
Jun 23, 2010
Messages
439
Points
225
We‘ve just had a change of time on a flight Brisbane to Broome. The booking is in U ( award business flights) . We had confirmed seats on original booking. Now with the new time we cannot select seats...it says that selecting seats is not possible on this flight.

We are lifetime silver. Is this new or just a glitch. Have logged in and out over a couple of days but still unable to select seats other than the preference of aisle or window.

Has anyone else had issues with this? Thanks.
 

sudoer

Established Member
Joined
Feb 23, 2015
Messages
2,414
Solutions
3
Points
575
More likely a glitch than anything else. I can see J seatmaps for QF1044 on a few random Sundays in April / May using ExpertFlyer. (I don't think the route is scheduled to operate before then?)

I wouldn't expect a schedule change to result in your seat selection being lost, unless you've been moved to a different flight number altogether? Can you still see your seats in the Qantas app?
 
Last edited:

sanne

Member
Joined
Jun 23, 2010
Messages
439
Points
225
Thanks sudoer for your help.

we can’t see our seats in the QF app. When I click on ‘seat selection’ it then says that seats cannot be individually selected for this flight! Prior to the change of time we had 3A/B

Our flight is 1st August. And I notice the flight # has change from 1030 to 1044.
 

RichardMEL

Senior Member
Joined
Mar 28, 2014
Messages
5,572
Solutions
4
Points
975
I looked up the flight. The issue is that you are in row 3. Row 3 is fully allocated while rows 1 and 2 are free. However Silver can't preallocate 1 and 2 until T-80 as status is not high enough. Since there are no free seats in row 3 to change to you can't change within that row.
 

sudoer

Established Member
Joined
Feb 23, 2015
Messages
2,414
Solutions
3
Points
575
I wouldn't stress too much though @sanne, you'll be able to select seats in Rows 1 or 2 at 80 hours prior to departure.

If you are worried about being separated from your travel companion you could call, explain you were moved to this flight, and ask if they can make an exception and allocate seats to ensure you're seated together.
 

RichardMEL

Senior Member
Joined
Mar 28, 2014
Messages
5,572
Solutions
4
Points
975
I think it is very unlikely they will be separated. If two on the same booking they should be in A/C or D/F. Yeah QF do have issues from time to time as we all know, but I do feel they will be seated together. The algorithm may have an issue if both had an "aisle" preference but I suspect it won't be a problem.. and as you say later in July there will be an opportunity to chose more freely, assuming J does not fill fully by then.
 

sudoer

Established Member
Joined
Feb 23, 2015
Messages
2,414
Solutions
3
Points
575
Yes, the more plausible scenario is a full J cabin where two single travellers (with status) select 1A and 1D or similar.
 

sanne

Member
Joined
Jun 23, 2010
Messages
439
Points
225
Thanks for your replies.

I have recently had a time change on a flight BNE to Darwin and the allocated seats which were in row 3 stayed put with the change so that’s why I was surprised to see that we no longer had our allocated row 3 seats on the change of flight time on the BNE to Broome flight and even couldn’t reselect them again.

In the meantime I have sent a message to Qantas so I guess at some point they’ll get round to answering and sort it out.
 

sudoer

Established Member
Joined
Feb 23, 2015
Messages
2,414
Solutions
3
Points
575
I have recently had a time change on a flight BNE to Darwin and the allocated seats which were in row 3 stayed put

A schedule change (where the flight number remains the same but the dep/arr times move) usually retains seat selection.

In the case of your BNE-BME flight it sounds like you've been moved to an entirely different flight.
 

sanne

Member
Joined
Jun 23, 2010
Messages
439
Points
225
Yes I can’t quite work that out. There was only ever 1 direct flight from BNE - BME and I believe only once a week. We flew that in 2019.

And checking on QF web site, there still is only this 1 direct flight that now has a new flight # and new time. Also showing no availability for business award flights or revenue ones either. Just hoping we don’t get bumped out of business ...for medical reasons need to be in business for this length of flight.
 

RichardMEL

Senior Member
Joined
Mar 28, 2014
Messages
5,572
Solutions
4
Points
975
sudoer (I love the name btw as a unix guy lol) has it right. The flight number change essentially created a new flight. it is unusual you can't see what assignments you have but I see 3A/C/D/F all occupied.
 

Franky

Established Member
Joined
Apr 25, 2015
Messages
1,275
Points
330
sudoer (I love the name btw as a unix guy lol) has it right. The flight number change essentially created a new flight. it is unusual you can't see what assignments you have but I see 3A/C/D/F all occupied.

Richard - as a non unix person, could you please enlighten me?...
 

RichardMEL

Senior Member
Joined
Mar 28, 2014
Messages
5,572
Solutions
4
Points
975
Yes, it is zero'd out in J. Not too sure why.. perhaps those other seats are sold just not allocated:

J0 C0 D0 I0 Y9 B9 H9 K9 M9 L9 V9 S9 N9 Q9 O9 X9 E9
Post automatically merged:

Richard - as a non unix person, could you please enlighten me?...

Well I could be wrong of course - I mean sudoer could be a reference to something else totally :) but in my world, "sudo" is a command to become what is called the super user, or administtrator account of a system. totally off topic :)
 

ozflier

Active Member
Joined
Jan 6, 2009
Messages
676
Points
300
I looked up the flight. The issue is that you are in row 3. Row 3 is fully allocated while rows 1 and 2 are free. However Silver can't preallocate 1 and 2 until T-80 as status is not high enough. Since there are no free seats in row 3 to change to you can't change within that row.
I love the concept of T80 .
I understand that at that time , say in economy in the domestic 737, all unoccupied seats become available to choose from eg rows 4 and 5 but does that include access to exit row seats?
 
Easy to install and operate, this 10 in 1 lens kit can be used on your Smartphone.

The kit includes a 198 degree fisheye lens, 0.63x wide angle lens, 15x Macro lens, a super wide angle lens, 0.36X , 2x telephoto lens , Kaleidoscope Lens plus a circular polariser lens, star filter lens, flow filter lens.

AFF Supporters can remove this and all advertisements

AIRwin

Established Member
Joined
Apr 13, 2013
Messages
4,797
Solutions
9
Points
825
Qantas
Gold
Virgin
Gold
I love the concept of T80 .
I understand that at that time , say in economy in the domestic 737, all unoccupied seats become available to choose from eg rows 4 and 5 but does that include access to exit row seats?
No, you'll still have to pay...
 

Lifetime Bronze

Junior Member
Joined
Aug 5, 2018
Messages
13
Points
50
I’ve been able to select Exit Row seats at check-in for free through the app. Not sure if that’s a status thing though?

Also think you can select domestic Exit Row seats for free if you’re travelling on a classic reward ticket... although I haven’t done that in quite a while. Happy to be proven wrong :)
 

Enhance your AFF viewing experience!

From just $6 we'll remove all advertisements so that you can enjoy a cleaner and uninterupted viewing experience.

And you'll be supporting us so that we can continue to provide this valuable resource :)


Sample AFF with no advertisements? More..
Top