"oneworld" award (132.4K/249.6K/318K/455K) Planning - The Definitive Thread

kingzac

Member
Joined
Jan 29, 2010
Messages
116
Points
150
Qantas
Gold
Virgin
Silver
So we've looked at potentially changing things up since the previous post and cutting Scotland for the trip with the potential to add somewhere else. This is for Feb/March 2022 (Hopefully).
Currently looking at adding Moscow


BNE-NRT
NRT-FRA
MUN-DME
SVO-HEL
HEL-KEF
KEF-BEL
DUB-DOH-BNE


It come sup with an error when I try to search, but if I delete the last leg (DUB-BNE) it works fine.
Is this an issue or are there too many legs leaving DUB?


Any tips or other suggestions?
 
Last edited:
AMX001595_Travel-Insider_1100x260

blu

Active Member
Joined
Oct 8, 2004
Messages
803
Points
270
at a quick look, it's over the mileage limit. "Ground" sectors have to be included.
 
Last edited:

Guvner

Active Member
Joined
Jul 1, 2014
Messages
819
Points
365
Have you tried a dummy multi city booking just entering DUB-DOH-BNE ?

I did, and got this after I selected the DUB-DOH flight, so couldn't even get to the DOH-BNE page.:

This page isn’t working​

If the problem continues, contact the site owner.

HTTP ERROR 400
 

Guvner

Active Member
Joined
Jul 1, 2014
Messages
819
Points
365
married sectors?
Could be.
Strange, as when you search DUB-BNE it's OK (random date)

1611386003138.png

But if you search DUB-DOH and DOH-BNE the same flights appear but it just gives the generic error in my previous post when you try to select the second leg.

If they are married, shouldn't multi-city still work as you are selecting the same flights?
 

DC3

Senior Member
Joined
Jan 8, 2010
Messages
6,139
Solutions
2
Points
980
Qantas
Platinum
Are the dates being looked at for DUB-DOH-BNE more than 360 days out (Feb/Mar 2022)? Is that right? These would not yet be available.

If sooner, and receiving an error message, it may be worth checking ITA Matrix for the routing rules.

Edited
 
Last edited:

kingzac

Member
Joined
Jan 29, 2010
Messages
116
Points
150
Qantas
Gold
Virgin
Silver
Yeah thanks guys, If I delete any one let it works fine, I assume it's the mileage limit as mentioned as I can't find anything else.
At the moment I'm just searching different months to get it all planned before it comes online.

As Guvner said it just comes up with:

This page isn’t working

If the problem continues, contact the site owner.
HTTP ERROR 400


I've tried different months and everything but no luck.

Looks like we'll cut back a little bit and just extend time on the ground instead.
Peoples suggestions here have helped find direct flights for the most part so we'll probably keep it trim to:

BNE-NRT
NRT-FRA
FRA-HEL
HEL-KEF
KEF-BEL (Via LHR)
DUB-DOH (or HKG) -BNE

Guessing it would be hard to get two PAX in J DUB-DOH-BNE or other QSuites legs?


Edit: It almost just looks like an error searching 7 flights, If I break down any combination over the last flights, e.g.
Flight 6: DUB-Anywhere
Flight 7: Anywhere-BNE
It crashes the search, if I just keep it DUB-BNE it works. I've tried North America, Asia, Middle East, Africa, no matter what I put in flight 5/7 it crashes, 6 flights works fine.
 
Last edited:

vetrade

Established Member
Joined
Nov 1, 2011
Messages
1,534
Points
570
Just a suggestion, Kingzac:
In post No. 9341 you referred to a MUN - DME sector but presumably that was a typo and you meant MUC (Munich). Obviously, with "MUN" the total would be well over the mileage limit but using MUC the mileage would OK at just under 55,000km.

HTTP Error 400 indicates an invalid/bad request. Since MUN airport is in Venezuela, is there a chance you confused the system by entering the wrong airport code?
 

kingzac

Member
Joined
Jan 29, 2010
Messages
116
Points
150
Qantas
Gold
Virgin
Silver
Just a suggestion, Kingzac:
In post No. 9341 you referred to a MUN - DME sector but presumably that was a typo and you meant MUC (Munich). Obviously, with "MUN" the total would be well over the mileage limit but using MUC the mileage would OK at just under 55,000km.

HTTP Error 400 indicates an invalid/bad request. Since MUN airport is in Venezuela, is there a chance you confused the system by entering the wrong airport code?

Yes, great spot, that was a mistake and I was putting MUC in the search.

I've taken that leg out now and am just doing the simplified 6 flights I've put above and just get the error whenever I add any sort of 7th leg, even just splitting the connecting flights in to two separate flights. Looks like it can't search 7?
 

aikman

Member
Joined
Sep 19, 2009
Messages
429
Points
225
Try systematically removing one flight at a time from your itinerary and see if the error persists. You might be able to then work out what the offending flight/s are through trial and error. It might be that the system for whatever reason just doesn't like the combination of flights/airlines that you have chosen.
 

kingzac

Member
Joined
Jan 29, 2010
Messages
116
Points
150
Qantas
Gold
Virgin
Silver
Try systematically removing one flight at a time from your itinerary and see if the error persists. You might be able to then work out what the offending flight/s are through trial and error. It might be that the system for whatever reason just doesn't like the combination of flights/airlines that you have chosen.

I've tried that and it likes every combination except the full 7. If I put seven and just delete any single other option it works fine.


I also deleted any connecting flights and just split the flights home, e.g. removed DUB and BEL and replaced with in and out of London, and split the last flight to stop in HKG, DOH, FRA, SIN, anywhere really to get back to 7, and it crashed. Delete any single flight to go back to 6 and it works fine.
 

motef

Member
Joined
Aug 16, 2015
Messages
304
Points
215
I've tried that and it likes every combination except the full 7. If I put seven and just delete any single other option it works fine.


I also deleted any connecting flights and just split the flights home, e.g. removed DUB and BEL and replaced with in and out of London, and split the last flight to stop in HKG, DOH, FRA, SIN, anywhere really to get back to 7, and it crashed. Delete any single flight to go back to 6 and it works fine.
It always crashes if you add more than six
 

kingzac

Member
Joined
Jan 29, 2010
Messages
116
Points
150
Qantas
Gold
Virgin
Silver
It always crashes if you add more than six
That's what I figured. I guess I'll just have to find what I want and go through the call centre to book.
Thanks for confirming, I wasn't sure if there was a workaround I was missing.
 

Sapz

Junior Member
Joined
Jun 16, 2020
Messages
45
Points
45
Hi, I'm wondering if there is a way to search in this thread to see different itineraries that people have successfully booked in the past?
Thanks
mine was in Oct-Nov 2019
ADL-SYD QF
SYD-HND JL
NRT-SFO JL
LAS-JFK AA
JFK-LCY BA (BA2;))
London-Paris Euro Star ( land sector)
CDG-VCE AF ( private sector not part of the itinerary)
VCE-DOH-CMB QR
CMB-HKG-ADL
should it still find useful.....
 
Get paid up to 25% in real cash from your everyday purchases from leading companies such as Virgin Australia, Booking.com, Coles, Apple, Microsoft and much more. Free to join and no catches!

AFF Supporters can remove this and all advertisements

madrooster

Established Member
Joined
May 21, 2012
Messages
2,130
Solutions
3
Points
570
Qantas
Platinum
Virgin
Gold
Heads up...

If you are changing an award, which includes JL or QR and the ticket needs to be reissued...

JL only gives 1 hour to reissue the ticket
QR only gives 14 hours to reissue the ticket

Both JL and QR now automate the taking back of seats more than before, and so those seats will now auto cancel bang on the minute after the above time period.

If you are changing an award that includes either carrier, make sure the agent you are talking to gets a supervisor to manually reissue the ticket on the spot.
 

ozflier

Active Member
Joined
Jan 6, 2009
Messages
650
Points
300
Heads up...

If you are changing an award, which includes JL or QR and the ticket needs to be reissued...

JL only gives 1 hour to reissue the ticket
QR only gives 14 hours to reissue the ticket

Both JL and QR now automate the taking back of seats more than before, and so those seats will now auto cancel bang on the minute after the above time period.

If you are changing an award that includes either carrier, make sure the agent you are talking to gets a supervisor to manually reissue the ticket on the spot.
Give agents their due , in my experience , most are now aware of this issue but it doesn't hurt to remind them tactfully.
 

Sapz

Junior Member
Joined
Jun 16, 2020
Messages
45
Points
45
most are now aware of this issue
No disrespect, But I would insist them to reissue the tickets while on the phone. if you waited too long, your JL seats are gone..IMO
make sure the agent you are talking to gets a supervisor to manually reissue the ticket on the spot.
Way to go. I wouldn't even hang up until receive my tickets.
 

madrooster

Established Member
Joined
May 21, 2012
Messages
2,130
Solutions
3
Points
570
Qantas
Platinum
Virgin
Gold
Give agents their due , in my experience , most are now aware of this issue but it doesn't hurt to remind them tactfully.

Fact: they aren't. Even more so right now because a lot of them are barely doing any international bookings and so they forget.

This is specifically about reissues - the time limit has been tightened compared to before.
 
Last edited:

Daver6

Senior Member
Joined
Dec 31, 2011
Messages
6,149
Solutions
5
Points
1,125
Qantas
Platinum
Virgin
Red
Fact: they aren't. Even more so right now because a lot of them are barely doing any international bookings and so they forget.

This is specifically about reissues - the time limit has been tightened compared to before.

Surely it is QFs problem to "get back" the original flights if they're lost due to their stuff up though?
 
Top