Is FT down?

Status
Not open for further replies.

serfty

Veteran Member
Moderator
Joined
Nov 16, 2004
Messages
43,938
Solutions
14
Points
3,300
Qantas
Platinum
Virgin
Platinum
I use Telstra ADSL and could not access FT using this yesterday afternoon.

Was able to use Bigpond dial up, but that's a PITA!

Today, using the office proxy server connection I am getting "connection timeout" errors.

However, I have a sort of a workaround. Sometime fails but generally ok.

I connect to FlyerTalk "Lite", then select Qantas Frequent Flyer, then "View Full Version".
 

NM

Enthusiast
Moderator
Joined
Aug 27, 2004
Messages
16,536
Points
1,295
Qantas
LT Gold
Virgin
Red
serfty said:
I use Telstra ADSL and could not access FT using this yesterday afternoon.
I assume this is Telstra Bigpond ADSL. They don't seem to have the most stable DNS around, and I have seen them screw up routing updates on a few occasions.

I am using a corporate ADSL service from Telstra (Internet Direct or something like that) that is different to the consumer Telstra Bigpond ADSL. It does not have Bigpond email or provision of News servers etc, and uses diffrerent DNS services and does seem to be a lot more reliable than Bigpond.

My service has bounced a few times in the last week (maybe 3 or 4 times), but never out for more than a minute or so at a time. I sometimes have 10 or more FT windows loading and none have timed out.
 

serfty

Veteran Member
Moderator
Joined
Nov 16, 2004
Messages
43,938
Solutions
14
Points
3,300
Qantas
Platinum
Virgin
Platinum
Temporary Solution

I was still having a great deal of trouble using FT today. These problems are occurring when using a national corporation's internet service provided to them by Telstra; similar to that NM has described, but probably more powerful.

In frustration, I used dial up from my laptop at work to connect. For some reason Dial up works when other faster services are unreliable.

With Dial-Up, I had a look at FlyerTalk under the "Technical Issues" Forum and found this Thread: Is FT Slow???.

In it is the post: What works for me.

Anyway, there appears to be corruption affecting some FlyerTalk Domain Name Server (DNS) resolution processes out there. This can be bypassed by typing the IP address directly instead of the www.flyertalk.com URL.

Following this advice it seems to work fine.

Here is the IP code: 64.78.185.85.

Good Luck.
 
Get paid up to 25% in real cash from your everyday purchases from leading companies such as Virgin Australia, Booking.com, Coles, Apple, Microsoft and much more. Free to join and no catches!

AFF Supporters can remove this and all advertisements

serfty

Veteran Member
Moderator
Joined
Nov 16, 2004
Messages
43,938
Solutions
14
Points
3,300
Qantas
Platinum
Virgin
Platinum
NM said:
serfty said:
I use Telstra ADSL and could not access FT using this yesterday afternoon.
I assume this is Telstra Bigpond ADSL. They don't seem to have the most stable DNS around, and I have seen them screw up routing updates on a few occasions. ...
Yeah, that is from my home. I've only had ADSL there for a week or two; Bigpond threw an ADSL modem, 4 filters, two months 'free' connection and $20 at me.

However, I have the same problems at my current work place which has trunk connections far more powerful than ADSL.

These problems are also being experienced in the 3rd World.

The IP solution will do me fine for now....
 
G

Guest

Guest
for those paying rediculous $$ on telstra adsl:

iinet adsl has 8mb down in selected areas, for under $50/mo with loads more bandwidth than t$ will ever give
:)
 

thadocta

Active Member
Joined
Jan 8, 2003
Messages
757
Points
0
d00t said:
for those paying rediculous $$ on telstra adsl:

iinet adsl has 8mb down in selected areas, for under $50/mo with loads more bandwidth than t$ will ever give
:)

iinet get good reports on Whirlpool, along with Netspace and WestNet - I have been with both of these too and find them far more reliable than BigPong ADSL, by an order of magnitude. I only left Netspace because I had an issue with their billing policies. Would thoroughly recommend WestNet though.

Dave
 

Bundy Bear

Established Member
Joined
Jul 17, 2004
Messages
3,734
Points
860
I sometimes get a problem where I go to flyertalk and get a heading but no listing of posts. I can usually reload and up it comes again, weird problem. Sometimes I get a blank screen when I am reading a multi page thread as well, very annoying.

Ok, testing to make sure my frequentflyer account works, took me about 10 minutes to find it.
 

NM

Enthusiast
Moderator
Joined
Aug 27, 2004
Messages
16,536
Points
1,295
Qantas
LT Gold
Virgin
Red
No problems here. In fact its faster than it has been for a while.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top