Login Now to remove this and all advertisements (GOLD and SILVER members)
Not a member? Register Now for free

Denied Access to lounge in Abu Dhabi - Velocity GOLD

Status
Not open for further replies.
Joined
May 6, 2014
Messages
5
Hi,

Just wanted to check something, when we arrived in Abu Dhabi on a Etihad flight booked with virgin (on points), I asked one of the terminal staff where the lounge was.

I was told the lounge was closed for refurb for 3 months.

Now as a virgin Gold velocity member, I remember reading somewhere having access to a "
Al Reem" lounge ???? at Abu Dhabi.

I assume that lounge was closed, but should I be able to access the Business class lounge instead??

I did not try, but on the way back as I am travelling alone it would be more important to have access to the lounge.

Any help is appreciated.
 
Last edited:
Joined
May 6, 2014
Messages
5
yeah double checked myself, maybe I wasn't in terminal one and the one in my terminal (that I cant access anyway) was closed.

i have heard its not much chop, but I will be by myself and not interested in shopping etc so I will try again.

After 17 hours with a baby over here we were too delirious to care when they said that. On the way home (by myself) I will give it a go.
 

markis10

Veteran Member
Joined
Nov 25, 2004
Messages
30,449
yeah double checked myself, maybe I wasn't in terminal one and the one in my terminal (that I cant access anyway) was closed.

i have heard its not much chop, but I will be by myself and not interested in shopping etc so I will try again.

After 17 hours with a baby over here we were too delirious to care when they said that. On the way home (by myself) I will give it a go.
Its in the old terminal, I was very unimpressed by it, and the fact you need to re-clear security for the other terminal which is a huge PITA.
 

Jack3193

Established Member
Joined
Oct 1, 2012
Messages
1,537
Qantas
Platinum 1
Virgin
Platinum
Flights
My Map
I actually thought the Al Reem lounge was ok. Certainly a lot better than the public areas in AUH, and better than a lot of lounges I've been in too - although clearly not on a par with the actual EY lounges. I was only there once mind you, but there was plenty of room, the food was decent enough, and every time I finished my beer a guy came over straight away to ask if I want another one. You don't get service like that in many lounges I've been to, but maybe I was just lucky!
 
Joined
Jul 30, 2010
Messages
499
Hi someonegavemegold, I can confirm that Velocity Gold members departing AUH with VA or EY will be accommodated at the Al Dhabi lounge for the duration of the Al Reem lounge's renovation. The Al Dhabi lounge is also located in Terminal 1 in close proximity to the Al Reem lounge. I do apologise for the confusion and inconvenience you have experienced. Our website will be updated imminently to reflect this information.
 
Joined
May 6, 2014
Messages
5
Hi All.

didnt see VA's reply here before coming home, and indeed the Al Reem lounge is closed.

Upon going to entrance to the Al Dhabi lounge it was clear it wasn't worth my time, lift was packed, it seems like it services every other airlines lounge, so I assume based on the amount of people streaming in it was going to be crammed.

Left and had a shower in the public showers in T3 gate 35 ish.

I was too pressed for time to wait for a shower and didn't really need any of the other features of the lounge.
 

rlarosa

Member
Joined
Dec 1, 2010
Messages
154
Flights
My Map
Hi someonegavemegold, I can confirm that Velocity Gold members departing AUH with VA or EY will be accommodated at the Al Dhabi lounge for the duration of the Al Reem lounge's renovation. The Al Dhabi lounge is also located in Terminal 1 in close proximity to the Al Reem lounge. I do apologise for the confusion and inconvenience you have experienced. Our website will be updated imminently to reflect this information.
I was also recently refused access to the *A F lounge (I'm VA Plat) in LAX. I got in to the business lounge, and it's a great lounge so no drama there, but was hoping to sample some of the food offerings in the F lounge. Also have to battle in SIN sometimes on SQ flights for a priority arrivals pass, but they seem to be improving :)
 

serfty

Veteran Member
Moderator
Joined
Nov 16, 2004
Messages
43,146
Qantas
Platinum
Virgin
Platinum
Flights
My Map
I was also recently refused access to the *A F lounge (I'm VA Plat) in LAX. ...
No problem on the 9th .. approached business entry showing my WP card and BP and was proactively ushered across to the First area.
 

mikewsmith

Junior Member
Joined
Feb 14, 2014
Messages
17
Flights
My Map
I'm just trying to get my head round this one myself...

VA Gold, Flying economy through Abu Dhabi over christmas. According to my booking I'm flying in and out of T3. Virgin Lounge says I have access to the Al Reem Lounge but thats it T1 so not much use, if I was Platinum I would have access to the Ethiad Diamond Lounge which is in T3, there is also a Pearl Business Lounge that doesn't shop up on the Virgin site at all. So where do I get to go!!
 

ywwol

Intern
Joined
Oct 30, 2011
Messages
92
VA Gold go to the Al Reem Lounge in T1. It's about a 10 minute walk. When you return to T3, budget for clearing security, there is a priority line on the left most side.
 

bullerdude

Established Member
Joined
Dec 26, 2011
Messages
1,157
Unfortunately VA still haven't fixed up lounge access for Golds in Abu Dhabi.

F Ticket / Platinum = First Lounge
Business Ticket = Business Lounge
Gold = Al Reem Lounge (T1)

Basically there is no lounge access for Golds in T3 :-/
 

mikewsmith

Junior Member
Joined
Feb 14, 2014
Messages
17
Flights
My Map
Cheers for the update guys, I'm guessing my chances of smiling nicely and getting an upgrade are out of the question too.... (the points upgrades are all taken) and slightly OT can you sort out the Ethiad seating when you check in? Half expecting to be at the back or in the toilets for those one as you are with Air NZ/Singapore codeshares.
 
Vinomofo is the best wine deals site on the planet. Good wines, real people and epic deals, without all the bowties and bs.

Recommended by the Australian Frequent Flyer

Jack3193

Established Member
Joined
Oct 1, 2012
Messages
1,537
Qantas
Platinum 1
Virgin
Platinum
Flights
My Map
Hi all, I went through AUH the other day and the EY Business and First lounges in T3 are now closed. I understand the F lounge is being renovated, to reopen in April next year, while the Business lounge has been replaced by the newly opened "Premium" lounge, which is near gate 35. So even as VA WP there is no F lounge for now. The new Premium lounge is great though.
 

bullerdude

Established Member
Joined
Dec 26, 2011
Messages
1,157
Ah I forgot that they were currently renovating the first and business lounges.... I presume that Gold's cannot access the premium lounge though.
 

Jack3193

Established Member
Joined
Oct 1, 2012
Messages
1,537
Qantas
Platinum 1
Virgin
Platinum
Flights
My Map
Ah I forgot that they were currently renovating the first and business lounges.... I presume that Gold's cannot access the premium lounge though.

I assume you're correct that Velocity Gold can't access the Premium lounge, as even EY Golds have been unable to access the EY lounges in AUH since about 3 years ago (unless flying J or F).
 

markis10

Veteran Member
Joined
Nov 25, 2004
Messages
30,449
Unfortunately VA still haven't fixed up lounge access for Golds in Abu Dhabi.

F Ticket / Platinum = First Lounge
Business Ticket = Business Lounge
Gold = Al Reem Lounge (T1)

Basically there is no lounge access for Golds in T3 :-/
Until EY change their members Gold lounge access I doubt VA will be able to.
 
D

Deleted member 29185

Guest
Hi all, I went through AUH the other day and the EY Business and First lounges in T3 are now closed.
How bloody typical. So much for my quandary as to whether they'll let me, my +1 and daughter into the F lounge.

So do plats go to the premium lounge..........is that in T.3?
 

OzEire

Established Member
Joined
Aug 4, 2013
Messages
1,365
How bloody typical. So much for my quandary as to whether they'll let me, my +1 and daughter into the F lounge.

So do plats go to the premium lounge..........is that in T.3?
Yes - I was able to access it as a Velocity WP on our recent tansit/stopover - the Premium Lounge was pretty good, as mentioned above it was near gate 35 (T1 ?) and close to our departure gate so all good on that front. I haven't seen the Diamond (F) lounge to compare but I understand that as a Velocity WP I would have had access if it was not currently being refurbished.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.

Community Statistics

Threads
86,418
Messages
2,088,326
Members
53,796
Latest member
pearlz007
Top