Citibank Debit card in ATM's overseas Savings or Credit button?

Status
Not open for further replies.

PLANT

Established Member
Joined
Jan 23, 2005
Messages
3,230
Points
540
Hi all,

I have used the debit card in America and I thought I always pressed the SAVINGS button to withdraw cash.
I thought I read on here that people have used both buttons(Credit and Savings) with the same result cash and conversion charges the same.

Today I am informed from family member that in Australia you use SAVINGS button and overseas you use CREDIT button as instructed by CITIBANK staff!

Can some one please post their experiences and clarify which button in Singapore, England and Paris on any ATM to get cash via CITI DEBIT card?
 

knasty

Active Member
Joined
Mar 11, 2010
Messages
936
Points
5
I always choose Savings or equivalent at ATMs, credit for purchases. Never had an issue.
 

Major

Established Member
Joined
Jan 21, 2011
Messages
4,466
Points
845
Qantas
Bronze
Virgin
Platinum
In France in May/June I always selected savings with no problems
 

Coley

Junior Member
Joined
Aug 16, 2013
Messages
49
Points
0
Just got back from 4 weeks travelling the states. My experience was that purchases needed to be done as credit, otherwise the card would be declined.

Withdrawing cash from the ATM can be done on Checking or Savings. (Note: The Citibank account is actually called a checking account in online banking and on statements).

Both types of transactions appeared to get the same currency rates.
 

robd

Established Member
Joined
Nov 8, 2011
Messages
2,270
Points
470
Last 23 days in USA, all ATM withdrawals were from savings. I didn't use the card for purchases (28 degrees card). Mostly $3.00 ATM fee. Best was $2.50 at Chase ATM.
 

Coley

Junior Member
Joined
Aug 16, 2013
Messages
49
Points
0
FYI. Nearly every 7-Eleven in the states has a Citibank ATM with fee free transactions. They are literally everywhere, even in remote locations. Once you get into major cities, the are also a lot of Citi branches with atms as well.
 

Plutonus

Active Member
Joined
Jan 22, 2012
Messages
837
Solutions
1
Points
295
I think that's because the Savings button when purchasing is linked to the EFTPOS network in Australia, not 100% sure though.

Just got back from 4 weeks travelling the states. My experience was that purchases needed to be done as credit, otherwise the card would be declined.

Withdrawing cash from the ATM can be done on Checking or Savings. (Note: The Citibank account is actually called a checking account in online banking and on statements).

Both types of transactions appeared to get the same currency rates.
 

OzEire

Established Member
Joined
Aug 4, 2013
Messages
1,365
Points
10
My Citi debit card doesnt seem to work overseas. I have tried on several occasions, at several different ATMs, different banks and locations in both UAE and Ireland, same result (generic error code). Tried both Credit and Savings when the option was (rarely) offered.

PIN is correct. Has been activated.

Tried it in Aus a few days before traveling, worked fine and I withdrew cash.

Does this card need to be further 'activated' for use overseas?

OzE
 

DeKa

Established Member
Joined
Oct 26, 2008
Messages
2,395
Points
475
Qantas
Gold
Virgin
Red
My Citi debit card doesnt seem to work overseas. I have tried on several occasions, at several different ATMs, different banks and locations in both UAE and Ireland, same result (generic error code). Tried both Credit and Savings when the option was (rarely) offered.

PIN is correct. Has been activated.

Tried it in Aus a few days before traveling, worked fine and I withdrew cash.

Does this card need to be further 'activated' for use overseas?

OzE

No, but I do advise them I'm travelling and where, to avoid issues. I do it through Internet banking messaging.
 

jgm

Member
Joined
Feb 16, 2007
Messages
378
Points
225
I had the same issue recently - you need to advise them where & when you are going. They automatically block overseas transactions if you don't. BTW, I usually had to use the credit button.
 

Isochronous

Established Member
Joined
Dec 18, 2009
Messages
4,818
Points
705
I never notified Citibank about my O/S travel and the card has always worked abroad for me.
 

zig

Established Member
Joined
Apr 9, 2007
Messages
1,919
Points
475
I have always used the credit option for ATM withdrawals, including the last few weeks in South America. Some of the fees for ATM withdrawals have been high this time - one was $7 in Argentina. In Chile I made a withdrawal from an ATM which had a huge Citibank sign on it, and there was still a fee for withdrawal.
 

Cynicor

Established Member
Joined
Jun 13, 2007
Messages
3,869
Points
700
I had the same issue recently - you need to advise them where & when you are going. They automatically block overseas transactions if you don't. BTW, I usually had to use the credit button.

This is not true for everyone. In general I don't tell any bank about any of my travels and all cards have been fine so far; credit or debit/savings. A lot of it comes down to your normal usage patterns.
 

jgm

Member
Joined
Feb 16, 2007
Messages
378
Points
225
I have never had to advise any other card provider, so it came as a bit of a shock to find problems with the Citi card in NZ. When I skyped them to check on the problem the agent told me to specifically contact them before OS travel, with dates & locations.
 

Ewing

Established Member
Joined
Jun 22, 2006
Messages
2,471
Points
580
Qantas
Platinum
This is not true for everyone. In general I don't tell any bank about any of my travels and all cards have been fine so far; credit or debit/savings. A lot of it comes down to your normal usage patterns.

Citibank block my card the instant it gets used overseas if I haven't called them prior.

After getting blocked about 4 times I now call them a few days prior to departure and haven't had an issue since.

It's the only card I've had to do it with.
 

Cynicor

Established Member
Joined
Jun 13, 2007
Messages
3,869
Points
700
Citibank block my card the instant it gets used overseas if I haven't called them prior.

After getting blocked about 4 times I now call them a few days prior to departure and haven't had an issue since.

It's the only card I've had to do it with.

And that's the Citi debit or the credit or both?

Quite amazing really, because I have no spend profile on my debit; I only use it for overseas travel. Maybe because my account has my other 2 credit cards they know I frequently spend oseas online and in real life?
 

mitwg

Member
Joined
Nov 11, 2012
Messages
340
Points
0
I actually use the checking button because thats what my statement says.

95% of the time, it'll work otherwise if it doesn't, it'll actually tell me to do it again with the credit button so thats what I'll use in that case.

In the UK, I believe the button is also called 'Current'.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top