Login Now to remove this and all advertisements (GOLD and SILVER members)
Not a member? Register Now for free

Will QF be in T5 or T3 at LHR?

Status
Not open for further replies.

openseat

Active Member
Joined
Jun 1, 2006
Messages
705
Points
300
I had been under the impression that QF would be at the new T5 when it opens next year. A colleague, however, has told me some rather disturbing news that QF will be relegated to T3 and together with the BA flights to Australia. Eventually T3 will become the Oneworld terminal.
Doesn't this undermine the whole purpose of T5? I can't stand the transfers at LHR as it is.
I had been rather looking forward to using T5. Perhaps one will have to route through HKG and transfer to BA there.
 

Get paid up to 25% in real cash from your everyday purchases from leading companies such as Virgin Australia, Booking.com, Woolworths, Coles, Apple, Microsoft and much more. Free to join and no catches!

Recommended by the Australian Frequent Flyer

Kiwi Flyer

Senior Member
Joined
Sep 24, 2004
Messages
5,546
Points
0
When it opens T5 will not be big enough even for just BA flights. So QF and some BA (kangaroo route destinations at least) will be in another terminal.
 

openseat

Active Member
Joined
Jun 1, 2006
Messages
705
Points
300
Thanks for the quick responses of bad news.
Personally I find T3 a bit of a dump, apart from the wonderful VS Clubhouse.
 

NM

Enthusiast
Moderator
Joined
Aug 27, 2004
Messages
16,336
Points
1,295
Qantas
LT Gold
Virgin
Red
And T3 will have the A380-capable gates. This is one reason QF is starting the A380 on the Trans-Pacific route since they won't have moved into T3 when they first get the A380s and there are no A380 capable gates at T4.
 

thadocta

Active Member
Joined
Jan 8, 2003
Messages
757
Points
0
openseat said:
A colleague, however, has told me some rather disturbing news that QF will be relegated to T3 and together with the BA flights to Australia. Eventually T3 will become the Oneworld terminal.
Doesn't this undermine the whole purpose of T5? I can't stand the transfers at LHR as it is.
I had been rather looking forward to using T5. Perhaps one will have to route through HKG and transfer to BA there.
I don't think it will be that bad actually - at the moment, you have BA spread between all of the terminals (I think - not sure about T2), OW spread around most of them, all other carriers spread all over the place (including T4). The FCC is an absolute mess as a result, with everybody transferring from every terminal to every other terminal, so that connecting has become a huge PITA.

With the completion of the rationalisations, I think everything will become a lot smoother. T3 (totally renovated) and T5 will become oneworld hubs, and there will be very few transfers from T3/T5 to other terminals - so this will become somewhat streamlined. (transfers from T3/T5 to elsewhere might become problematic though).

Likewise, Star in T4 will make for easier transfers between Star carriers.

I suggest we wait and see how it all pans out. I don't think we will see the current situation where everybody funnels into the FCC and then gets sorted, I think that a natural streamlining will occur.

Dave
 
Joined
Nov 4, 2006
Messages
403
Points
10
I agree with thadocta - I suspect that rationalisation of terminals into Alliance-based hubs will help ease the current problems at LHR. Although, T4-->T4 connections have taken me up to an hour to get through security, anyway.

In the spirit of AFF, I have never been to T3 (have been to the rest), so, in combination with T5 departures for intra-Europe BA flights, will have completed my own full house.

Presumably, a BA/QF lounge will be established in T3, to accommodate the BA Kangaroo route.
 

thadocta

Active Member
Joined
Jan 8, 2003
Messages
757
Points
0
Hawkeye said:
Presumably, a BA/QF lounge will be established in T3, to accommodate the BA Kangaroo route.
I suspect there will a few lounges, sort of like what is happening in LAX at TBIT - one super-duper J lounge (doubling as a QP, one large F lounge (for OWE), with (knowing BA) a lounge for F passengers (but not a FLounge - there is a difference). These lounges would be for the use of all the airlines using T3 (which would all be oneworld).

Dave
 

simongr

Enthusiast
Joined
Jul 10, 2006
Messages
14,426
Points
0
thadocta said:
I suspect there will a few lounges, sort of like what is happening in LAX at TBIT - one super-duper J lounge (doubling as a QP, one large F lounge (for OWE), with (knowing BA) a lounge for F passengers (but not a FLounge - there is a difference). These lounges would be for the use of all the airlines using T3 (which would all be oneworld).

Dave

Hopefully designed and managed by the guys that built/manage the Pier/Wing ;)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top