Velocity/Virgin websites are RUBBISH

Status
Not open for further replies.

Grimace1

Member
Joined
May 12, 2013
Posts
304
Me too, but I think it's because they've got a new login page but have not bothered to redirect the old page.

Try this one.


Yeah I noticed their whole new login page a week or so ago; ever since then I've been having odd problems.

With that link you just provided, upon trying to login; I get
"
[h=1]HTTP Status 401 - Authentication Failed: Auth outcome: FAILED"[/h]
Little problems like this make me consider switching back to QFF
 
D

Deleted member 29185

Guest
Yeah I noticed their whole new login page a week or so ago; ever since then I've been having odd problems.

With that link you just provided, upon trying to login; I get
"
[h=1]HTTP Status 401 - Authentication Failed: Auth outcome: FAILED"[/h]
Little problems like this make me consider switching back to QFF
Bummer. That link works for me but the old one doesn't. Sorry, I have no other potential answers for you.
 
Joined
Jul 30, 2010
Posts
499
Hi there,
Sorry to hear you are having problems with the website. I've checked with the relevant team who have not been able to replicate this issue.

They have asked me to ask:
Are you trying to log on via the VA or Velocity website?
Which page are you trying to log on from?
Are you using a bookmark for Velocity.com (e.g. an old bookmark which may be from when our address was velocityrewards.com

If you could please advise, they can investigate further.
Many thanks,
Velocity
 

kevrosmith

Established Member
Joined
Feb 13, 2009
Posts
2,337
Hi there,
Sorry to hear you are having problems with the website. I've checked with the relevant team who have not been able to replicate this issue.

They have asked me to ask:
Are you trying to log on via the VA or Velocity website?
Which page are you trying to log on from?
Are you using a bookmark for Velocity.com (e.g. an old bookmark which may be from when our address was velocityrewards.com

If you could please advise, they can investigate further.
Many thanks,
Velocity

Hi Velocity,
I'm having this problem too. Haven't been able to log into my account for over a week now. I'll send you a PM with details and screen shots.
 

kevrosmith

Established Member
Joined
Feb 13, 2009
Posts
2,337
Can't paste images into PM, so I'll post the details here:

Hi Velocity,

I've tried logging in using Chrome and IE, both in standard and "incognito/private" mode to ensure existing cookies or previous browser session settings didn't interfere.

So steps I use:

Open Chrome in "incognito" mode, and go to address: https://www.velocityfrequentflyer.com/ (I don't use a bookmark or anything, I type this into the address directly).

It automatically redirects to https://www.velocityfrequentflyer.com/content/

velocity1.jpg

I click Login and it redirects to https://accounts.velocityfrequentfl...79d53b-6fad-48d7-8530-ac9b62b55763&login=true

velocity2.JPG


I enter my Velocity number and password and press Login.

Then the browser just keeps spinning and it says "waiting for www.velocityfrequentflyer.com..." at the bottom. It never gets past this. It just hangs. (Parts of screen shot highlighted to show what happens).

velocity3.JPG

It's been like this for over a week and doesn't matter what browser I use or what settings. (Don't ask me to clear out my cookies, because that's not practical or possible for so many other reasons.)
 

Grimace1

Member
Joined
May 12, 2013
Posts
304
So it does appear to log us into Velocity but the velocity website has issues.

I can tell it logs in as going to virginaustralia.com, the top bar shows me logged into Velocity and shows my points balance.

I'm able to load this page; https://www.velocityfrequentflyer.com/content/MyAccount/ClaimMissingPoints/ but any other page times out or now gives me

"
We are sorry, but we are unable to complete your request at this time, please try again later.
If this problem persists please contact our Membership Contact Centre on 131 875."

IT has been informed of this and hopefully something can be fixed soon
 

Grimace1

Member
Joined
May 12, 2013
Posts
304
Many thanks for the information.

The relevant team are investigating and I'll post here with any info/solutions they advise.
Regards,
Velocity

Thanks! I have been in contact with Velocity via FB messages and was advised the IT team can't replicate this issue.

Another person posted to their FB wall saying they are having the same problems as the rest of us, even using IE11 and different computers and devices, I still have no luck using the velocity website.
 

QF WP

Enthusiast
Moderator
Joined
Jun 20, 2002
Posts
18,156
Qantas
Gold
Virgin
Platinum
Hmmm, I tried to replicate kevrosmith's issue (using Chrome), I use Dashlane to auto sign-in and it worked for me :eek:
 

indigo1

Intern
Joined
Jul 21, 2011
Posts
60
I managed to nab a great deal I found via ITA matrix - i was searching PE flights and it offered VA in J and NZ in Y. The 3rd party site I booked through lists it as ticketed and seat confirmed, the NZ site shows the VA leg in J, the VA website shows it in J (see pic - note the 1 bag allowance?), but the VA app has recently changed from "business", to "economy", but still has me seated in 5A.

Any thoughts?

Bus.jpg
 

anat0l

Enthusiast
Joined
Dec 30, 2006
Posts
11,672
I managed to nab a great deal I found via ITA matrix - i was searching PE flights and it offered VA in J and NZ in Y. The 3rd party site I booked through lists it as ticketed and seat confirmed, the NZ site shows the VA leg in J, the VA website shows it in J (see pic - note the 1 bag allowance?), but the VA app has recently changed from "business", to "economy", but still has me seated in 5A.

Any thoughts?

View attachment 84412

Check the 3rd party booking and see if there is a booking reference for Virgin Australia (i.e. the carrier's reference).

If there is one, go to virtuallythere.com and fill in the blanks to bring up the e-ticket from the Sabre system. Whatever is on that e-ticket will stand as your booking, so if it says Business, it is Business (you should also be able to verify this by checking the fare code or basis, if available).

If the carrier reference is not for VA but another carrier (e.g. NZ), try using NZ's site to examine the booking. Try to obtain a copy of the fare rules for your booking, which may show the fare basis, and that should give away which class you are booked under.

I would harbour a guess that you're OK in Business, but no idea why the app is misreporting the information.
 

indigo1

Intern
Joined
Jul 21, 2011
Posts
60
Check the 3rd party booking and see if there is a booking reference for Virgin Australia (i.e. the carrier's reference).

If there is one, go to virtuallythere.com and fill in the blanks to bring up the e-ticket from the Sabre system. Whatever is on that e-ticket will stand as your booking, so if it says Business, it is Business (you should also be able to verify this by checking the fare code or basis, if available).

If the carrier reference is not for VA but another carrier (e.g. NZ), try using NZ's site to examine the booking. Try to obtain a copy of the fare rules for your booking, which may show the fare basis, and that should give away which class you are booked under.

I would harbour a guess that you're OK in Business, but no idea why the app is misreporting the information.

Thanks so much for the prompt reply. Unfortunately, I get the error "This reservation doesn't have email, please contact your travel arranger" with the 6 charachter VA confirmation code and no luck with the NZ one either.
 

indigo1

Intern
Joined
Jul 21, 2011
Posts
60
I had a hunt on NZ's site through the booking and appears to be I class (and V for MEL-AKL). Thanks again for your help

iclass.png
 

CJEMNMAC

Active Member
Joined
Jun 12, 2014
Posts
968
I might be stating the obvious but does anyone have issues with the app displaying all the account information correctly ??

I constantly have the following :

Upgrading to ( NULL ) 0 of 0 status credit earned

Maintaining ( NULL ) 0 of 0 status credit earned

I cannot get this to work


FullSizeRender 2.jpg
 
Last edited:
Joined
Feb 9, 2014
Posts
5,178
I might be stating the obvious but does anyone have issues with the app displaying all the account information correctly ??

I constantly have the following :

Upgrading to ( NULL ) 0 of 0 status credit earned

Maintaining ( NULL ) 0 of 0 status credit earned

I cannot get this to work


View attachment 84438

I think that the VFF website is on the blink (not working mode) again.
I had logged in, it accepted the log in, then the next page is a blank page, with a single few words, "log in" on the top of the page, with nothing else.
 

Pleb Status

Established Member
Joined
Feb 19, 2011
Posts
3,141
Everything appears to be working fine on the website for me. Logged in and managed my bookings with no issues at all.

The whole system appears to be working far better since they upgraded to the 'new' single log on system for VA and VFF. Single log on used to be very hit and miss but now I cannot recall a time it has not worked. They have made some other changes in the My bookings area which appear to have made that more reliable as well.
 

CJEMNMAC

Active Member
Joined
Jun 12, 2014
Posts
968
I think that the VFF website is on the blink (not working mode) again.
I had logged in, it accepted the log in, then the next page is a blank page, with a single few words, "log in" on the top of the page, with nothing else.

Except I am talking about the APP..

I find the website generally ok with ocassional drama as mentioned on this thread.
 

Bolthead

Active Member
Joined
Apr 15, 2010
Posts
948
Everything appears to be working fine on the website for me. Logged in and managed my bookings with no issues at all.

The whole system appears to be working far better since they upgraded to the 'new' single log on system for VA and VFF. Single log on used to be very hit and miss but now I cannot recall a time it has not worked. They have made some other changes in the My bookings area which appear to have made that more reliable as well.

I agree, since the new single log on page I have had zero issues with the site. And to be honest compared to may other people I rarely had a problem any way. I use mac OS sierra with Chrome.
 
Sponsored Post

This is an example of a Sponsored Post, one of the many ways you can advertise on the Australian Frequent Flyer.

Other options include banner advertisements on our content and forum pages or our newsletter. You can also purchase an audio message on our podcast - or if you just want to try it out, you can sponsor a thread.

If you'd prefer not to see any advertisements (including these sponsored posts), you can become an AFF Supporter from just $6 and instantly remove all advertisements from our website!

kevrosmith

Established Member
Joined
Feb 13, 2009
Posts
2,337
I agree, since the new single log on page I have had zero issues with the site. And to be honest compared to may other people I rarely had a problem any way. I use mac OS sierra with Chrome.

I never used to have problems, even when others were. About two weeks ago, the logon stopped working for me. Since I posted here, I've also tried re-setting my password, and that just timed out. I rang the call centre. They also tried re-setting my password, and trying two different methods, both failed to work.
 

Grimace1

Member
Joined
May 12, 2013
Posts
304
I never used to have problems, even when others were. About two weeks ago, the logon stopped working for me. Since I posted here, I've also tried re-setting my password, and that just timed out. I rang the call centre. They also tried re-setting my password, and trying two different methods, both failed to work.

I'm still waiting to hear back from the eCommerce team about the issues I'm having. Even the call centre are having problems doing points bookings, viewing my account on their end.

I've even had one person admit to me that there are many other people calling them up saying they are suffering the same issues.

It's a pain really as I can't view my bookings online, I can only make bookings (after many hassles).
 
Status
Not open for further replies.

Enhance your AFF viewing experience!

From just $6 we'll remove all advertisements so that you can enjoy a cleaner and uninterupted viewing experience.

And you'll be supporting us so that we can continue to provide this valuable resource :)


Sample AFF with no advertisements? More..
Top