Unable to select seats on a Domestic Flight in J - Gold member

Status
Not open for further replies.

Pushka

Veteran Member
Joined
Jan 26, 2011
Messages
28,320
Solutions
4
Points
3,350
Qantas
Platinum
Virgin
Red
Another query for the booking that is proving problematic. On one of our domestic sectors on an International Flight, we are not able to select seats - Saturday 27th December QF 736. We can on the QF Emirates metal, and also on the return flight Sydney Adelaide.

Just wondering if maybe, this flight is sold out and all seats already taken? And waiting on a drop out for ours?
 

ckck

Member
Joined
Jul 31, 2011
Messages
280
Points
180
You can still book qf736 on the qantas website, try logging out and logging back in again after waiting a few minutes.


 

Pushka

Veteran Member
Joined
Jan 26, 2011
Messages
28,320
Solutions
4
Points
3,350
Qantas
Platinum
Virgin
Red
You can still book qf736 on the qantas website, try logging out and logging back in again after waiting a few minutes.



I've had this booking for a few weeks and have logged in and out multiple times. Not even a phone call to Qantas seemed to help. Just wondering if it's overbooked in J, even though you can still buy seats. Might go over to the upgrade thread to see what flightstatus says.
 

ckck

Member
Joined
Jul 31, 2011
Messages
280
Points
180
I checked Expert Flyer (I too am a QF SG) and rows 1-2 are blocked for me and all seats in row 3 have been allocated to someone already.
 

blackcat20

Enthusiast
Joined
Jan 7, 2011
Messages
12,396
Points
1,545
All of Row 1 and 2 are still available, only Row 3 is taken.
 

Pushka

Veteran Member
Joined
Jan 26, 2011
Messages
28,320
Solutions
4
Points
3,350
Qantas
Platinum
Virgin
Red
All of Row 1 and 2 are still available, only Row 3 is taken.

Thanks - wonder why we can't select anything. We can't even see a seat plan. Economy cheap fares are all sold out - might be interesting. Must checkin online as soon as we can. ;)
 

ckck

Member
Joined
Jul 31, 2011
Messages
280
Points
180
You may have to wait until t-80 to select your seats.
 

Pushka

Veteran Member
Joined
Jan 26, 2011
Messages
28,320
Solutions
4
Points
3,350
Qantas
Platinum
Virgin
Red
You may have to wait until t-80 to select your seats.

I've been able to select our seats for all but this sector, and have seats selected for July 2015 flights. Doesnt make any sense.
 

turnip666

Member
Joined
Nov 26, 2007
Messages
221
Points
175
As SG I have been only able to select Row 3 in J. 1-2 seem to held for higher status, like Rows 4-6 in Y. They usually open up at T-80. Likely they are not taken, just unable to be selected t this stage. You probably bought the final of the 4 avail in Row 3.

Since hitting WP haven't flown J so can't say if this still applies or 1-2 are for WP1 or CL's.
 

ckck

Member
Joined
Jul 31, 2011
Messages
280
Points
180
Maybe it's just simpler and fairer ;)

Maybe it's just a glitch?
 

blackcat20

Enthusiast
Joined
Jan 7, 2011
Messages
12,396
Points
1,545
As SG I have been only able to select Row 3 in J. 1-2 seem to held for higher status, like Rows 4-6 in Y. They usually open up at T-80. Likely they are not taken, just unable to be selected t this stage. You probably bought the final of the 4 avail in Row 3.

Since hitting WP haven't flown J so can't say if this still applies or 1-2 are for WP1 or CL's.

Row 1 is blocked for WP but Row 2 is open (as per EF)
 
Joined
May 20, 2011
Messages
6,987
Points
1,330
Qantas
Platinum
I've been able to select our seats for all but this sector, and have seats selected for July 2015 flights. Doesnt make any sense.
As a gold I found I could only select row 3 on some flights other flights I could select row 2. As a WP I can always select row 2, some flights I can select row 1. I think they have some flights that are deemed to have a higher no of WP and above, so more restrictions on selection. I don't know any of this as a fact - more what I have been able to select for Domestic J over the years.
 

Pushka

Veteran Member
Joined
Jan 26, 2011
Messages
28,320
Solutions
4
Points
3,350
Qantas
Platinum
Virgin
Red
Thanks everyone. I thought selecting seats was a given for SG. :p. We have row 3 on return flight so either simpler and fairer (to WP and CL) and clearly they DKWIA.

Interesting that a phone call to Qantas about this came back with "sorry we don't know what the problem is" when it seems it might be a status withhold issue.
 

ckck

Member
Joined
Jul 31, 2011
Messages
280
Points
180
I am surprised that you couldn't select seats by phoning customer service. Maybe try phoning again.
 

Pushka

Veteran Member
Joined
Jan 26, 2011
Messages
28,320
Solutions
4
Points
3,350
Qantas
Platinum
Virgin
Red
I am surprised that you couldn't select seats by phoning customer service. Maybe try phoning again.

I will try. There were a couple of other issues that took precedence - I had given myself a Mr title instead of Mrs and that seems to have meant they needed to split the booking and rebook me! :eek: because there is Emirates involvement. That finally got sorted, then I realised I had EK numbers instead of QF so that needed sorting. Now I am back to seat selection again. :p
 

Pushka

Veteran Member
Joined
Jan 26, 2011
Messages
28,320
Solutions
4
Points
3,350
Qantas
Platinum
Virgin
Red
This flight booking seems to be full of headaches for you! This is the third or fourth problem is it not?

Haha. Yes. But will be worth it. We'd originally booked Y for a 10 day trip that was supposed to be an end of year catch up after a drilling year in all fronts. Decided it's only money and forked out J. That's when the issues started.

And looking forward to another Emirates J experience for 10 hours. :p Chauffeur four ways. French Champagne. I even love their amenities pack.
 

samh004

Enthusiast
Joined
Apr 1, 2009
Messages
19,432
Solutions
14
Points
1,570
Qantas
Platinum
Virgin
Red
I believe on a 737 non-status to SG can see row 3, WP can see row 2 and P1 can see all.

I understand why it is that way, but they need to open more rows forward if all seats are taken.
 

Pushka

Veteran Member
Joined
Jan 26, 2011
Messages
28,320
Solutions
4
Points
3,350
Qantas
Platinum
Virgin
Red
I believe on a 737 non-status to SG can see row 3, WP can see row 2 and P1 can see all.

I understand why it is that way, but they need to open more rows forward if all seats are taken.

Yes. That all makes sense. But as we have to sit somewhere then row 2 should open up. T80(?) is Christmas Day. I was more concerned it had been overbooked ( ;) ) so the explanations here have been very helpful. Thanks all. :p
 

defurax

Established Member
Joined
Jun 27, 2012
Messages
2,870
Points
695
Qantas
Platinum 1
Yes. That all makes sense. But as we have to sit somewhere then row 2 should open up. T80(?) is Christmas Day. I was more concerned it had been overbooked ( ;) ) so the explanations here have been very helpful. Thanks all. :p

I would argue they should open row 1 before row 2!;) I prefer the legroom of row 2. Although on a MEL-SYD flight at lunch or dinner time I sometimes select row 1...to avoid the rare instances of slow service when the FA only reaches row 2 at top of descent.:evil:
 
Virgin Wines Australia Has Exceptional Red, White & Sparkling Wines On Offer. See Online. See Our Exclusive Wine Selections From Around Australia & Around The World. Shop Now! Advent Calendar 2021. Better Wines for Less. Cancel Anytime. No Membership Fees.

AFF Supporters can remove this and all advertisements

Status
Not open for further replies.
Top