Tonight's VA 697 showing 777-300

Status
Not open for further replies.

dcauson

Junior Member
Joined
Nov 17, 2011
Messages
20
Points
0
Was just checking my seat selection for VA 697 from Mel-per tonight . The flight number has changed to va 9844 and shows a 777 seat map for selection.

After selection it is notifying me the selection is unconfirmed and shows no seat has been selected. Anyone else seeing this?

Flight status between mel-per was all normal.

More likely a website bug but would be pretty cool if it is just a random one off because of a 330 issue.

image.jpg
 

pblackie

Member
Joined
Jan 10, 2012
Messages
194
Points
140
Was just checking my seat selection for VA 697 from Mel-per tonight . The flight number has changed to va 9844 and shows a 777 seat map for selection.

After selection it is notifying me the selection is unconfirmed and shows no seat has been selected. Anyone else seeing this?

Flight status between mel-per was all normal.

More likely a website bug but would be pretty cool if it is just a random one off because of a 330 issue.

View attachment 36623

Very odd, just done a dummy booking, on the flight selection page VA697 is showing as an A330, when you get to the seat selection it is showing a 738 seat chart and in your booking you're getting a 777?
 

robd

Established Member
Joined
Nov 8, 2011
Messages
2,270
Points
470
Really weird. Has 777 ever done a domestic route? Pity you're not in J.
 

bass_ke

Active Member
Joined
Sep 25, 2011
Messages
972
Points
10
I think it may have done a couple of SYD - Mel runs during the last Qantas strike?
 

aaflyer

Member
Joined
Jul 24, 2014
Messages
217
Points
10
Expert Flyer is showing it as a 737 seat map, but lists it as an A330:

Screen Shot 2014-10-26 at 7.01.01 pm.jpg
Screen Shot 2014-10-26 at 7.01.41 pm.jpg
 

dcauson

Junior Member
Joined
Nov 17, 2011
Messages
20
Points
0
Well as it turns out it is a placeholder flight and I'll be on QF653! Get to pick up my bags and re-check in at QF when I get to melbourne.
 

notzac

Established Member
Joined
Oct 6, 2008
Messages
2,811
Points
0
Really weird. Has 777 ever done a domestic route? Pity you're not in J.

Indeed it has - and the lack of planning and foresight when attempting to attach an airbridge to door 2L at MEL was entertaining for everyone - if memory serves me correctly, it took quite some time for them to officially give up and go find the stairs..

P1000852.jpg
 
We've Increased Our Flying to 30 Destinations Across Australia. Book With Us Today. Change Your Flight, Fee-Free and As Often As You Like for Travel up to 30 Apr 22*. Contactless Check-in. Special Safety Protocols. New Cleaning Practices. Online Check-in.

AFF Supporters can remove this and all advertisements

aaflyer

Member
Joined
Jul 24, 2014
Messages
217
Points
10
Indeed it has - and the lack of planning and foresight when attempting to attach an airbridge to door 2L at MEL was entertaining for everyone - if memory serves me correctly, it took quite some time for them to officially give up and go find the stairs..

View attachment 36651

I seem to recall row 5 was particularly nice on that segment ;)
 

dcauson

Junior Member
Joined
Nov 17, 2011
Messages
20
Points
0
As it all turned out. Flight was changed to a 738.

I was offloaded on to a QF flight (got to pay $40 for my extra bag as an added bonus - still trying to get hold of someone at VA about that one. They haven't been overly helpful thus far).

I believe others were sent on a JQ flight so glad I didn't get on that one! Between this and the storms pretty lucky to be in PER at all!

Anyone had this happen before? I assume Virgin will still credit my VFF points and SC for my trip if I ask. Seemed like a regular QF booking so will try a retro claim with them in a couple of days as well.
 

kalboy

Member
Joined
Mar 27, 2011
Messages
348
Points
175
Apologies, I've been flying West-East coast and back the last few days. That daylight saving along with redeye flights really took its toll.
 

Fiches Mouser

Established Member
Joined
Dec 14, 2013
Messages
1,416
Points
470
Speaking of their international airline, I was looking at flights for February next year and some Domestic flights are listed as "Operated By Virgin Australia International for Virgin Australia" rather than "Operated by Virgin Australia" which the other flights are listed as.

This is very strange.

Same here. Had a Feb 2015 booking change from 'VA' to 'VA Intl' (MyFlights picked it up). Seems kind of insignificant, but I secretly dream that my quick MEL-ADL trip will be on a 77W in J.
 

Jordan94

Junior Member
Joined
Dec 17, 2012
Messages
16
Points
0
Same here. Had a Feb 2015 booking change from 'VA' to 'VA Intl' (MyFlights picked it up). Seems kind of insignificant, but I secretly dream that my quick MEL-ADL trip will be on a 77W in J.


I am dreaming mine changes to a 77W as well. I got a feeling they are implementing Tiger Air into their booking system though.

I hope and HOPE that I am WRONG!!
 

bubblyguy

Intern
Joined
Jul 17, 2012
Messages
97
Points
0
That is due to aircraft now being moved to different AOCs. There are a number of 737s that are now listed under VAI instead of VAA.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.

Enhance your AFF viewing experience!

From just $6 we'll remove all advertisements so that you can enjoy a cleaner and uninterupted viewing experience.

And you'll be supporting us so that we can continue to provide this valuable resource :)


Sample AFF with no advertisements? More..

Staff online

Top