Login Now to remove this and all advertisements (GOLD and SILVER members)
Not a member? Register Now for free

Status runs: min down time, 1.5 hours enough? say, its VA MEL airport.

Status
Not open for further replies.

AustraliaPoochie

Established Member
Joined
Feb 9, 2014
Messages
4,430
Points
595
Domestically: from any airport to MEL, and you option (A), the plane arrives into Gate 1-10, 1.5 hours? Have you done it in less? 30 mins?
Or option (B), the plane arrives into Gate 11-18 (other side), and you don't have to transfer to Gate 1-10. 1.5 hours? Less? 30 mins?
Or if you have to cross over from one to the other, say, 2 hours turn around time? Less?
I have 10 more SC to earn, to get to meet the min 250 SC. Have that 10 SC flight booked and ready, BUT just in case I lose any through oversight or miscalculation, I might have to do a quick SR.
ADL to MEL gives 10 SC, and MEL to ADL gives 10 = 20.:shock::-|:( OR what the **ll is this guy on about?:confused:
 
Trying to access your favourite Australian websites when overseas only to discover they have been geo-blocked? Concerned about your internet privacy especially when using unsecured wifi? NordVPN will solve both these common problems.

Recommended by the Australian Frequent Flyer

anat0l

Enthusiast
Joined
Dec 30, 2006
Messages
11,672
Points
10
When you say "down time", do you mean the transit time, i.e. the time between flights?

I think the nominal minimum connecting time (domestic to domestic) is 40 minutes at the major ports, and 25 minutes at regional ports. I'm not sure about VA as QF's booking engine (as far as I know) will enforce these limits when selecting consecutive flights in the booking process.

As for how much time you want to pad out between those two flights above the minimum, I guess it all depends on how much time you have to burn, and what you would do in the interim.

If everything runs on time, technically you could probably do a 25 minute connection and still make it. Of course, no lounge for you in that case, just get off the first flight then leg it to the next one. You probably can't make this connection on one ticket, so you would need to do it on separate tickets. Now that is fraught with danger as not only will you run a high risk if things get delayed, but you will also risk being chastised for making such a slim connection. On a single ticket, if your first flight goes to custard, at least you can be protected for the subsequent flight(s).
 

Grooba

Established Member
Joined
Mar 4, 2008
Messages
1,379
Points
0
what the **ll is this guy on about?:confused:
Wow. I'll take this option just to be safe.

What exactly are you trying to achieve? There are MCT (minimum connection times) set out for each connection type (INT to DOM, INT to INT, DOM to INT, etc) and this has no bearing as to which gate.
 

AustraliaPoochie

Established Member
Joined
Feb 9, 2014
Messages
4,430
Points
595
I just need to build up my SC, if my numbers pop downwards.
Yeah, transit time.
Say, MEL VAd.
Plane from ADL comes in at 11.45am, do I "dare" to book the next flight back to ADL at 12.15pm, or do I play it safe and book the 12.45pm? Or later still?
What would you do?
Of course, it hard to say which concourse at MEL VAd will use. Running from Concourse A to Be is about 7.5 mins, then you or I have to go through security, if there is a need to change concourse, add 2.5 mins.
My 12 months are up 15 Jul.
I would need to do a very fast SC run, to get 20 if my 20 drops off. As mentioned, I am now at 245, need 250, am expecting to maybe loss 20 sooner or later. I did fly to get VA 20 SC about Jul last year sometime.
This is my first at being PS, so am so keen on catching hold of it.
ADL to MEL to ADL in a Sat odyssey, out from ADL 9.40am, return to ADL 14.30pm? $85 x 2 = $170 plus $7.70 to get 20 SC, what the...!!!
Sorry, I am letting the SC run get to my head.
 

anat0l

Enthusiast
Joined
Dec 30, 2006
Messages
11,672
Points
10
Just book a return flight ADL-MEL-ADL; you can likely time it so the connection is as low as 40 minutes between both flights. One booking - not two.

Too easy? Or am I missing something here.

Unless you were severely crippled, there is some disability I am unaware about or you somehow get held up at security screening (that you may or may not need to clear), as far as I can guess it would not take 30 minutes to briskly walk between the extremities of the two MEL T3 concourses. That's the worst case scenario anyway. If you remain on one concourse, 40 minutes is more than enough time, especially if you're not intending to go back to the lounge to grab a coffee, as you save considerable time not needing to re-clear security.

Maybe you should get some sleep, settle down a bit then look over this with a fresh mind and eyes in the morning ;)
 

Mwenenzi

Established Member
Joined
May 17, 2006
Messages
1,816
Points
10
OR what the **ll is this guy on about?:confused:
Wow. I'll take this option just to be safe.

What exactly are you trying to achieve? There are MCT (minimum connection times) set out for each connection type (INT to DOM, INT to INT, DOM to INT, etc) and this has no bearing as to which gate.
Well said. Have read post 1 several times and still hard to follow the logic.


Too easy? Or am I missing something here.
Only for some of us. 100's if not 1000's of people per day have connecting flights (tranists) on the same PNR
 

serfty

Veteran Member
Moderator
Joined
Nov 16, 2004
Messages
43,233
Points
3,270
Qantas
Platinum
Virgin
Platinum
Note there is a temporary elevated concourse between the piers.
 
Last edited:
Status
Not open for further replies.

Community Statistics

Threads
86,566
Messages
2,098,291
Members
53,895
Latest member
JudiP
Top