Roaming in Japan with 3G mobile

Discussion in 'Communication & Internet' started by Commuter, Jul 13, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Welcome to Australia's leading independent Frequent Flyer and Travel Resource!
Our site contains tons of information that will improve your travel experience.
Joining AFF is fast, simple & ABSOLUTELY FREE -  join now by clicking on the JOIN NOW button, and take immediate advantage of these great BENEFITS.
Once registered, this box will disappear. And you will see fewer advertisements :)
  1. Commuter

    Commuter Active Member

    Jun 14, 2006
    793
    3
    Someone reported that he/she was able to use Nokia 6880 (?) in Japan on international roaming on 3G signals.

    Has anyone else used other models of mobile successfully over there?

    I'm thinking getting a Nokia E61 or Sony Ericsson K600i. Has anyone used either of them over there?
     

  2. jasonja3

    jasonja3 Member

    Sep 12, 2005
    368
    1
    SYD
    Just returned from Tokyo this week. My 3G sim card worked a treat, video calls, caller ID, the whole box and dice. I am with Telstra, and they have a sharing agreement with Vodaphone DoCoMo. I used a Samsung Z510 as my quad band IPAQ was no good.

    3G works just as well in HKG, but in mainland China, I only get GSM service without GPRS.:(
     
  3. Commuter

    Commuter Active Member

    Jun 14, 2006
    793
    3
    Thanks Jason, that's what I wanted to hear! I'll change to 3G (I'm still with Telstra GSM).

    Out of curiosity, is your quad band iPAQ purely a GSM model or is it a 3G as well?
     
  4. jasonja3

    jasonja3 Member

    Sep 12, 2005
    368
    1
    SYD
    Unfortunately, AFAIK there is no 3G PDA's available at the moment, though they are coming. I use the 3G sim card in the IPAQ as it connects to GSM also. I have the samsung (free from Telstra) when I don't need the IPAQ (or it doesn't work:D )
    I will update soon after they arrive so I have better online access with 3G.
     
  5. Commuter

    Commuter Active Member

    Jun 14, 2006
    793
    3
    Ahh I see, thanks for the info :D

    Now the lovely bit of choosing the phone (I rather like getting a new phone)...
     
  6. Mal

    Mal Enthusiast

    Dec 25, 2004
    12,250
    1,325
    London
    Flight Map:
    View my flight map
    I've read conflicting reports on whether you need a 3G Sim in a 3G mobile to be able to roam while in Japan, or if you can use a GSM sim in a 3G phone.

    Can you use a standard Optus GSM sim in your 3G phone and have it work for standard stuff like calls and sms's while in Japan? (Not video calling or data... don't care about that) Can anyone confirm either way?

    Will get around to getting a 3G sim off Optus at some stage, but not wanting one just yet if I don't need it.
     
  7. Evan

    Evan Established Member

    Dec 26, 2006
    3,168
    0
    SIN / MEL
    I have used my normal optus GSM SIM in a G3 phone in Japan no problems.
    The SIM's are essentially identical, i think Optus just want to get people onto new SIM's that have more memory etc.

    I have used a few different models over there but currently been using a Nokia E60 (same as E61 but different form factor) no problems at all.

    Havn't really ever used any 3G features though.

    PDA - well there is the HTC phone thingie that is 3G and PDA, cant remember the model, as is the Fuji/Siemens T830 i think is also a 3G phone and PDA.

    Evan
     
  8. Commuter

    Commuter Active Member

    Jun 14, 2006
    793
    3
    Hi Evan,

    That's good to hear, thanks!

    Mal - I noticed that 3G was being offered as an option on networks when I recently roamed in the UK, even though I was using a Telstra GSM sim (on a GSM/3G phone). I suspect it will just work with a GSM sim in a 3G phone as a result, although I can't speak for the potential odd things in Japan.
     
  9. moa999

    moa999 Senior Member

    Jun 23, 2003
    9,240
    1,702
    Sydney
    Flight Map:
    View my flight map
    Most recent SIMs are 3G compatible and will switch into 3G mode when roaming.

    Confirm that the Voda BBerry 8707 works a treat when roaming in Tokyo
     
  10. simongr

    simongr Enthusiast

    Jul 10, 2006
    14,229
    1,742
    The BB is working in Japan? My Telstra BB wasnt working there before Xmas - but it is an older model.
     
  11. Commuter

    Commuter Active Member

    Jun 14, 2006
    793
    3
    I can't remember if BB roaming on Telstra network was listed as something that works in Japan. There's a list somewhere on Telstra website.

    Can anyone confirm?
     
  12. serfty

    Moderator

    Nov 16, 2004
    39,916
    8,103
    MEL
    Flight Map:
    View my flight map
    #12 serfty, Feb 9, 2007
    Last edited: Feb 9, 2007
    International Roaming - Global Roaming - Telstra Mobile

    I'd avoid doing this as it's quite costly. I have taken NM's advice posted elsewhere on this forum and Divert all calls to my VM before leaving Oz.

    I then ether get a prepaid SIM card for my phone in the destination county and use that in my phone or obtain a calling card and use that instead.

    I then regularly check my VM for messages etc.

    Better than getting a call from work's helpdesk on a support issue while it's 3:30am in London. :-|

    An example of this is with a pp sim card while in Hong Kong I can call any Oz landline for ~4¢ per minute, mobiles cost ~22¢ per minute. Compare this with Telstra roaming cost for outgoing calls of $2.74 per minute.
     
  13. jasonja3

    jasonja3 Member

    Sep 12, 2005
    368
    1
    SYD
    I have done the same in China where the the pre-paid card get cheaper if you only need one city or province. After only a few days away, I would have massive phone bills. Now they are significantly reduced, I can make local calls, at local rates, and it also stops the "unecessary" calls which is great!!
     
  14. Evan

    Evan Established Member

    Dec 26, 2006
    3,168
    0
    SIN / MEL
    Different people, different needs, i just live with the costs and use my mobile where ever i travel. The downside to being systems support i guess.

    Evan
     
  15. Flashback

    Flashback Senior Member

    Oct 29, 2006
    8,410
    3,205
    Flight Map:
    View my flight map
    serfty, that sounds like a great idea - can you provide any further specific information? The reason I ask, is that I'm heading to HKG for the first time so don't really know what to expect :rolleyes:
     
  16. Mal

    Mal Enthusiast

    Dec 25, 2004
    12,250
    1,325
    London
    Flight Map:
    View my flight map

    Cool. While playing around with my phone recently, I saw that it was able to connect to the Optus 3G tower and had access (and Telstra too - but of course no access). Presume the same will happen in Japan.

    Ta for the info.
     
  17. Evan

    Evan Established Member

    Dec 26, 2006
    3,168
    0
    SIN / MEL
    Actually i used to borrow a phone from one of the guys i work with in Japan, but on one trip i saw one i liked at a nice price (an export model, grey market via malaysia judging by the plug) and just put my sim in and no worries found a provider (mostly NNT DoCoMo or Vodafone).

    Got back to Oz and couldn't connect to optus 3G, so went into a store and thats when i found out they need a new sim (i think they must block the old ones even though it will work), 15 mins later had my new sim at no cost and all good. Since then i have traveled with a few different phones and all have worked really well.

    Expensive call rates but hey you pay for the convenience if you want it. (or rather work may)

    Evan
     
  18. serfty

    Moderator

    Nov 16, 2004
    39,916
    8,103
    MEL
    Flight Map:
    View my flight map
    PEOPLES»» Home Page.

    For HKG98 (~AUD18) you can get a pre-paid SIM at any airport 7-11 or similar which will give at least HKD100 in calls. It's HKD0.25 (~AUD0.04) per minute to call back to an Oz landline or HKD2.25 (~AUD0.23) to a mobile.
     
  19. Flashback

    Flashback Senior Member

    Oct 29, 2006
    8,410
    3,205
    Flight Map:
    View my flight map
    Thanks serfty :) Now to scour the Telstra website and find out what number I'd need to ring to access my VM.
     
  20. moa999

    moa999 Senior Member

    Jun 23, 2003
    9,240
    1,702
    Sydney
    Flight Map:
    View my flight map
    Other way of doing it is to buy the Prepaid SIM get its number, then divert your Australian mobile to that number

    -- the diversion costs are typically much cheaper than what they would charge you to roam
    -- of course you cant divert text messages
     
Loading...

Share This Page