New Look QF MMB

Status
Not open for further replies.

Pleb Status

Established Member
Joined
Feb 19, 2011
Posts
3,141
Sometimes there's a 'hot link' with the cabin class description when you look at your individual segments. e.g. Economy (O).

I had tried that but it just takes me to the standard QF international economy 'information' page that you get under the 'Fly' drop down box.

I also tried the same thing on a separate domestic booking and it takes me to the standard domestic economy 'information' page.

I am playing 'fee-lotto' with QF at the moment, as they are just making up change fees which vary wildly (up to SGD200) depending on which agent I speak to for the ex SIN booking. The change fee should be SGD25 (as it is if you create a new ex SIN booking) but I have no way to prove it as I cannot display the fare conditions that apply to my booking.

When it takes a full 15 minutes to come back with an answer to the question 'What is the change fee for this booking?' and when they come back they are not completely sure, you know there must be something wrong.
 

MelUser

Established Member
Joined
Aug 6, 2007
Posts
1,680
They can do a dummy change and the computer will do an estimate.

I don't think it would be just 25SGD as they add in a service fee, change fee, telephone fee, fare difference etc etc for Economy Class bookings.
 

Pleb Status

Established Member
Joined
Feb 19, 2011
Posts
3,141
They can do a dummy change and the computer will do an estimate.

I don't think it would be just 25SGD as they add in a service fee, change fee, telephone fee, fare difference etc etc for Economy Class bookings.

If it was that easy, the change fee (excluding any other fees) would not vary from agent to agent. I believe they are having to do it manually from the time it takes and therefore the correct fare conditions are important, not the fare conditions they 'think' apply. As there is no fare difference (QF and I both agree on that), I always get the agent to clearly breakdown the fee components of any proposed charge.

In any case, in a final attempt this morning, the QF agent today agreed that the change fee was SGD25 so I was able to change the booking for the correct fee, not some made up one. I would still like to be able to access the fare conditions on the new MMB page like I could on the old one.
 

serfty

Veteran Member
Moderator
Joined
Nov 16, 2004
Posts
45,017
Qantas
Platinum
Virgin
Platinum
If you can use "Saudia" to look up your booking you may see the fare code.

Cross reference that with e/f or KVS fare rules.
 

eastwest101

Established Member
Joined
Oct 26, 2010
Posts
3,364
Qantas
Gold
Virgin
Gold
If it was that easy, the change fee (excluding any other fees) would not vary from agent to agent. I believe they are having to do it manually from the time it takes and therefore the correct fare conditions are important, not the fare conditions they 'think' apply. As there is no fare difference (QF and I both agree on that), I always get the agent to clearly breakdown the fee components of any proposed charge.

In any case, in a final attempt this morning, the QF agent today agreed that the change fee was SGD25 so I was able to change the booking for the correct fee, not some made up one. I would still like to be able to access the fare conditions on the new MMB page like I could on the old one.

I was just about to suggest the good old HUCA until you get a change fee that you are satisfied with, and then note the exact time and operator number and rely on a recording of the conversation if the change fee is later increased/dishonoured. But can see you got it sorted out now.

I agree - it would be nice to see the fare conditions seeing as thats what airlines rely on, when changes are requested or things go a bit different to plan.....
 

whughes3

Active Member
Joined
Dec 21, 2009
Posts
710
Qantas
Platinum
Can't check in online for a booking within 24 hours. Can't tell whether its the new MMB or a glitch full stop:rolleyes:

It appears that, for multi-sector bookings at least, the rules have changed: you used to be able to OLCI from 24 hours before the first sector; now you have to wait until 24 hours before the last sector.
 
Sponsored Post

This is an example of a Sponsored Post, one of the many ways you can advertise on the Australian Frequent Flyer.

Other options include banner advertisements on our content and forum pages or our newsletter. You can also purchase an audio message on our podcast - or if you just want to try it out, you can sponsor a thread.

If you'd prefer not to see any advertisements (including these sponsored posts), you can become an AFF Supporter from just $6 and instantly remove all advertisements from our website!

JessicaTam

Enthusiast
Moderator
Joined
Jan 29, 2012
Posts
15,841
Qantas
LT Gold
Virgin
Red
Why not just check in at the airport?
OLCI allows some extra seat selection options (if not at T-80). It also means one less queue at the airport. For international flights I can head through immigration when I like, and not am dependant on a check-in counter being open.
 

hossein_au

Established Member
Joined
May 2, 2013
Posts
1,620
It appears that, for multi-sector bookings at least, the rules have changed: you used to be able to OLCI from 24 hours before the first sector; now you have to wait until 24 hours before the last sector.

I can confirm that (have two flights tomorrow afternoon and I've had to wait for the last one to slide into the 24 hour windows before I could check in).
 

Cynicor

Established Member
Joined
Jun 13, 2007
Posts
3,884
It appears that, for multi-sector bookings at least, the rules have changed: you used to be able to OLCI from 24 hours before the first sector; now you have to wait until 24 hours before the last sector.

Thanks for this update. I had a booking last night, for today, for which I could not use the app to check in. Tried again this morning, I must have been outside the 24 hour window on my final flight by about 15 min.

Bit of a stupid change, wonder why it happened or if it is another bug.
 

notsure

Junior Member
Joined
May 1, 2014
Posts
33
It appears that, for multi-sector bookings at least, the rules have changed: you used to be able to OLCI from 24 hours before the first sector; now you have to wait until 24 hours before the last sector.

Using the above logic, OLCI for my upcoming LHR-MEL-SYD flights (12 hours in MEL) would finally open when I'm somewhere between DXB-MEL making it impossible to OLCI for the LHR-MEL flight - not really an issue for me as we're in F - so airport check-in should be a breeze anyways (and have already selected 2A/3A :D) - but would hate to be forced to wait until airport check-in to choose seats if traveling down the back.

Hopefully BA haven't succumbed to this logic and will allow me to OLCI for my OSL-LHR flight.
 

RooFlyer

Enthusiast
Joined
Nov 12, 2012
Posts
20,836
Qantas
Platinum
Looks like the children who do the QF web site may have outdone themselves this time. Hopefully just a bug.

Just perusing my up-coming booking to Nth America, starting from home port, HBA, and ending in MEL. Down the bottom, MMB has decided that Hobart is one of my 'Destinations' (in spite of me only flying out of Hobart on this journey) and is offering me hotels, tours, you name it.

Seriously, would it be that hard, when coding this stuff, for the kids to realise that I am only departing from HBA, not arriving there? :rolleyes:
 

notsure

Junior Member
Joined
May 1, 2014
Posts
33
Looks like the children who do the QF web site may have outdone themselves this time. Hopefully just a bug.

Just perusing my up-coming booking to Nth America, starting from home port, HBA, and ending in MEL. Down the bottom, MMB has decided that Hobart is one of my 'Destinations' (in spite of me only flying out of Hobart on this journey) and is offering me hotels, tours, you name it.

Seriously, would it be that hard, when coding this stuff, for the kids to realise that I am only departing from HBA, not arriving there?
rolleyes.png

My OSL-LHR-MEL-SYD booking is offering me hotels in Oslo & Sydney - staying with relatives in both locations (though QF couldn't know that about SYD), however the two locations en-route where I have over night layovers of 23 & 12 hours respectively, and actually need hotels - nothing is offered.


Also, just been reminded of another thing I find annoying with the QF site - why is it not possible to get the Your Bookings page to show a flight that doesn't contain my QF FF number - ba.com quite happily lets me add a flight based on PNR (combination of BA/QF flights booked as an AAward that currently contains my AA number).

As it currently stands, if I'm looking at my FF info, and want to go to view the booking, I need to go to the home page and then enter the MMB info to view the flights.
 
Last edited:

Himeno

Established Member
Joined
Jun 15, 2011
Posts
4,183
Have QF819/JQ23 tomorrow. QF819 depart 1710, JQ23 depart 2300. QF MMB just let me check in for both flights (1900). MMB is also offering me hotel and car rental in MEL...
 

JessicaTam

Enthusiast
Moderator
Joined
Jan 29, 2012
Posts
15,841
Qantas
LT Gold
Virgin
Red
Have QF819/JQ23 tomorrow. QF819 depart 1710, JQ23 depart 2300. QF MMB just let me check in for both flights (1900). MMB is also offering me hotel and car rental in MEL...
Hmm, I wonder if the JQ flight made the difference.
 

Speedbird001

Intern
Joined
Jul 15, 2007
Posts
79
Agree. Too fiddly now. Isn't the airline short of cash? So why is it spending money on website upgrades? Most peculiar signals. Perhaps to counteract appearances for what we are all bracing ourselves: the additional 2000 to be added to the 5000 staff cuts, most of which will have to come from QFi judging from the nature and need described by management. Will be interesting to see what mood the FAs are in on my forthcoming QFi sectors.
 

Dmac6345

Active Member
Joined
Sep 16, 2012
Posts
566
Looks like the children who do the QF web site may have outdone themselves this time. Hopefully just a bug.

Just perusing my up-coming booking to Nth America, starting from home port, HBA, and ending in MEL. Down the bottom, MMB has decided that Hobart is one of my 'Destinations' (in spite of me only flying out of Hobart on this journey) and is offering me hotels, tours, you name it.

Seriously, would it be that hard, when coding this stuff, for the kids to realise that I am only departing from HBA, not arriving there? :rolleyes:

+1. I have 2 bookings showing Mel as my departure, which I correct. I live in Mel, why an earth would I want accommodation offering where I live? Dumb...
 

codash1099

Established Member
Joined
Aug 2, 2006
Posts
2,914
Qantas
Platinum
+1. I have 2 bookings showing Mel as my departure, which I correct. I live in Mel, why an earth would I want accommodation offering where I live? Dumb...

Many people would stay overnight close to the airport, especially for an early morning flight.

I'm visiting Melbourne next month staying east of the city, but I'm spending one night at an airport hotel because I have an early flight out.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top