"Menu Select" not available if upgraded | Australian Frequent Flyer
Australian Frequent Flyer

Welcome to Australia's leading independent Frequent Flyer and Travel Resource since 1998!
Our site contains tons of information that will improve your travel experience.

Joining AFF is fast, simple & absolutely free - register now and take immediate advantage of these great BENEFITS.

Once registered, this box will disappear. And you will see fewer advertisements :)

"Menu Select" not available if upgraded

Status
Not open for further replies.

defurax

Established Member
Joined
Jun 27, 2012
Messages
2,775
Flights
My Map
I'm not sure if this is an enhancement or a software glitch but I'm unable to use the "Menu Select" function for an upcoming flight. I had already pre-ordered a meal two days ago for my flight to HKG (booked in PE) and last night I received a notification that my upgrade request to J was successful. Usually, when the upgrade is confirmed the previously selected meal is cancelled and it is possible to put a new order and choose from the J menu. I've done this countless times from Y to J and PE to J. But this time I still see that a meal has been ordered, but I can't cancel or change it and I get a message to call QF. So I called QF to ask why I couldn't pick a J meal. I like to pre-order simply because the online exclusive meal is sometimes quite good (e.g. lobster salad). I was told that upgraded flights are not eligible anymore for "Menu Select". As usual, I tend to believe people here more than QF staff, so has anyone else not been able to request a meal following an upgrade? My upgrade came through 60 hours before departure.
 

downgraded

Member
Joined
Apr 2, 2014
Messages
361
I just had an upgrade from PE to J on QF10 at about T-48 and was able to pre select meals.

Fortunate since the onboard menu was s#!t (main meals of cheese, soup, calzoni etc), the online option was the only one that was actually a proper meal.
 

defurax

Established Member
Joined
Jun 27, 2012
Messages
2,775
Flights
My Map
I just had an upgrade from PE to J on QF10 at about T-48 and was able to pre select meals.

Fortunate since the onboard menu was s#!t (main meals of cheese, soup, calzoni etc), the online option was the only one that was actually a proper meal.
Thanks...shows again that QF staff just make up stuff! Had you already selected a PE meal before your upgrade?
 

downgraded

Member
Joined
Apr 2, 2014
Messages
361
Thanks...shows again that QF staff just make up stuff! Had you already selected a PE meal before your upgrade?
I think I had.
QF seem to under cater badly so I tend to pre order. II was in 11c, the people behind in 12 were told they couldn't have their first choice which as the front 2 rows of J is pretty staggering.
 

Ansett

Established Member
Joined
Jul 13, 2011
Messages
3,601
I flew QF9 on Friday on a points upgrade from Y to J I had preselected a meal in Y and was unable to select a meal for J after the upgrade.
 

defurax

Established Member
Joined
Jun 27, 2012
Messages
2,775
Flights
My Map
I guess from now on I'll wait for my upgrade to clear before selecting a meal. Typical of QF IT to mess with something that was working just fine for the past few years...
 

ozbeachbabe

Senior Member
Joined
Jan 10, 2009
Messages
6,420
Our QF3 upgrade came through 28 hours & 20 mins prior to departure and I was able to select J class meals however we did not pre-select Qeat meals in whY.
 

defurax

Established Member
Joined
Jun 27, 2012
Messages
2,775
Flights
My Map
So phase 2 of the experiment. This time I waited until my J upgrade was confirmed to try to select a meal using Menu Select and again it says that I'm not eligible. This is quite weird, I thought airlines were introducing these initiatives to save on food loss, but apparently QF now sees it as some uber premium service not available to the freeloaders using points to upgrade! :p:rolleyes:
 

Attachments

ozbeachbabe

Senior Member
Joined
Jan 10, 2009
Messages
6,420
So phase 2 of the experiment. This time I waited until my J upgrade was confirmed to try to select a meal using Menu Select and again it says that I'm not eligible. This is quite weird, I thought airlines were introducing these initiatives to save on food loss, but apparently QF now sees it as some uber premium service not available to the freeloaders using points to upgrade! :p:rolleyes:
I was a 'freeloader' using points to upgrade yet I was still able to select meals on a Samsung S8.

Have you tried on a desktop via MMB then scrolling on the select meals photo when you scroll through your booking?

How far in advance were you trying to select meals? Do you have an android or iOS phone?
 

defurax

Established Member
Joined
Jun 27, 2012
Messages
2,775
Flights
My Map
I was a 'freeloa"der' using points to upgrade yet I was still able to select meals on a Samsung S8.

Have you tried on a desktop via MMB then scrolling on the select meals photo when you scroll through your booking?

How far in advance were you trying to select meals? Do you have an android or iOS phone?
Just tried on my laptop and I got the following message: "It looks like something went wrong. Contact your local Qantas Office who can help you complete the booking". The same message I got last week when I tried to re-select a meal after being upgraded. When was your flight to HNL? Ansett reported having the same issue as me on a recent flight (Post #5).
 
Last edited:

Ansett

Established Member
Joined
Jul 13, 2011
Messages
3,601
Just tried on my laptop and I got the following message: "It looks like something went wrong. Contact your local Qantas Office who can help you complete the booking". The same message I got last week when I tried to re-select a meal after being upgraded. When was your flight to HNL? Ansett reported having the same issue as me on a recent flight (Post #5).
Exact same message when I tried on London Trip Last week after upgrade on points from Y to J
 

ozbeachbabe

Senior Member
Joined
Jan 10, 2009
Messages
6,420
Just tried on my laptop and I got the following message: "It looks like something went wrong. Contact your local Qantas Office who can help you complete the booking". The same message I got last week when I tried to re-select a meal after being upgraded. When was your flight to HNL? Ansett reported having the same issue as me on a recent flight (Post #5).
We flew out a couple of weeks ago on QF3 Sun 18 Mar and the upgrade was confirmed the day prior on Sat 17 Mar.

What destination are you flying to? I wonder if the bug or glitch is route specific?
 

defurax

Established Member
Joined
Jun 27, 2012
Messages
2,775
Flights
My Map
We flew out a couple of weeks ago on QF3 Sun 18 Mar and the upgrade was confirmed the day prior on Sat 17 Mar.

What destination are you flying to? I wonder if the bug or glitch is route specific?
Flying SYD-HKG return. When I selected my PE meal last week before the upgrade I noticed it was a new interface (at least different to the one I'm used to and worked just fine to re-select a meal after being upgraded on LAX-MEL last December). So my guess is another glitch introduced by the constant redesign of QF website.
 

Ansett

Established Member
Joined
Jul 13, 2011
Messages
3,601
Mine was MEL-DXB-LHR and upgrade from Y to J. Had previously been able to re-select a meal.after an upgrade on this route.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.

Community Statistics

Threads
85,394
Messages
2,012,698
Members
52,588
Latest member
Spot23
Top