MEL to JFK on QF93/107, enough time to transit in LAX? | Australian Frequent Flyer
Australian Frequent Flyer

Welcome to Australia's leading independent Frequent Flyer and Travel Resource since 1998!
Our site contains tons of information that will improve your travel experience.

Joining AFF is fast, simple & absolutely free - register now and take immediate advantage of these great BENEFITS.

Once registered, this box will disappear. And you will see fewer advertisements :)

MEL to JFK on QF93/107, enough time to transit in LAX?

Status
Not open for further replies.

brumm5150

Newbie
Joined
Feb 4, 2007
Messages
9
Hi,

I'm booked to travel MEL to JFK and the TA has got me on QF93 out of MEL which arrives in LAX at 0730 at T4, transferring to QF107 which is scheduled to depart at 0905 also from T4.

Is this enough time to transfer, what do I have to do when I arrive in LAX?

I did try to go out via SYD on QF107 so as to be on the same plane the whole way but the was no D availability.
 

alect

Member
Joined
Jun 20, 2006
Messages
351
I hve just booked my brother on the same itinerary (MEL-JFK). Since he is in Y I decided the 93/107 connection was too tight. I put him on the 9.30am AA flight to JFK.

If you're in J then I think you should be fine as the main time delay is at Immigration, and if you're in J and one of the first few off the plane you should be fine. You should also make sure you use the elite security escalator in the northern part of T4 to go through security for 107.
 

dajop

AFF Supporter
Joined
Jul 1, 2002
Messages
9,076
Flights
My Map
QF107 relies not only on through traffic from SYD but feeder traffic from QF93 (from MEL) and QF 175 (from BNE). Unless QF93 is running really late, I think QF107 would wait for the connecting passengers to filter through immigration and security.
 

simongr

Enthusiast
Joined
Jul 10, 2006
Messages
14,229
I have found my main delay when disembarking from J to be baggage. I am normally through immigration quickly and then spend 30 mins waiting for my bags. Travelling with one bag might help (might come off separately) .
 

Reggie

Established Member
Joined
Mar 20, 2006
Messages
1,616
brumm5150 said:
Hi,

I'm booked to travel MEL to JFK and the TA has got me on QF93 out of MEL which arrives in LAX at 0730 at T4, transferring to QF107 which is scheduled to depart at 0905 also from T4.

Is this enough time to transfer, what do I have to do when I arrive in LAX?

I did try to go out via SYD on QF107 so as to be on the same plane the whole way but the was no D availability.
QF107 if on time will start (re)boarding at appox 0845. On your arrival into LAX, you first have to pass through immigration, and you being in J should be further ahead of the majority of the plane. However you do not know how busy immigration will be due to the backlog from previous flights. Lets say 5mins to disembark, 15mins immigration, and 30mins for baggage collect as per simongr. It is now 0820.

You now have to line up past customs to recheck bag through screening, and this depends on length of line, (this has taken me nearly 30mins before), lets say queue is short, and allow 10mins. You then have to make the short walk from TBIT to T4, and pass through security. If security is empty this will still take you 5mins to take computer out, possible shoes off, liquids etc and then repack and reshoe. Time now 0835. If security is not empty time taken = unknown. You now have 10minutes to get to gate and board, should be easy at this point.

IMHO however lots of things need to go right, no queue's at immigration, recheck, and security, and QF93 to land on or before time. I personally would think it would be cutting it fine, however I am sure there are plenty of AFFers here who will say they have made the connection. It would be interesting how many haven't and what the ramifications where/are.

Reggie
 

littl_flier

Active Member
Joined
May 1, 2007
Messages
898
At the end of the day, if you mis-connect, Qantas is reposibile for re-booking you onto the next AA flight anyway. Given the reported difference between QF J and AA F, (QF much better), I would keep it as is and if you miss the flight, then just wear the consequences.
 

Reggie

Established Member
Joined
Mar 20, 2006
Messages
1,616
littl_flier said:
At the end of the day, if you mis-connect, Qantas is reposibile for re-booking you onto the next AA flight anyway. Given the reported difference between QF J and AA F, (QF much better), I would keep it as is and if you miss the flight, then just wear the consequences.
littl_flier, it would be unwise to assume this. Qantas are only repsonsible if the events are within their control. If you arrive late at the boarding gate to board QF107 but QF93 landed ontime, their obilgation is only as stated in theirs T&C's

8.4 If You Are Late
If you arrive:
late at check-in or the boarding gate (see 8.2), or
without your ticket and all necessary travel documents
We may:
cancel your reservation
refuse to carry you, and/or
require you to pay a service fee to cover our reasonably incurred administration costs
Whilst we all hope that Qantas may rebook us onto an AA flight, they dont necessarily have to because delays in immigration, security and bag recheck are beyond their control..
 

littl_flier

Active Member
Joined
May 1, 2007
Messages
898
Reggie said:
littl_flier, it would be unwise to assume this. Qantas are only repsonsible if the events are within their control. If you arrive late at the boarding gate to board QF107 but QF93 landed ontime, their obilgation is only as stated in theirs T&C's



Whilst we all hope that Qantas may rebook us onto an AA flight, they dont necessarily have to because delays in immigration, security and bag recheck are beyond their control..
Thanks Reggie. Yes, very true indeed and caution is needed ....... but providing they are booked on a single ticket and are a legal connection, there is certainly a good chance QF will come to the rescue.

Bottom line of any travel though is make sure you have travel insurance. If you opt against this, and they were booked on a credit card with travel protection, you may be covered, otherwise, you may (I think unlikely, expecially if you have status) have to wear the consequences.

Remember, if this is the case, there will probably be other passengers in the same situation.
 
Last edited:

Reggie

Established Member
Joined
Mar 20, 2006
Messages
1,616
littl_flier said:
Qantas is reposibile for re-booking you onto the next AA flight anyway. Given the reported difference between QF J and AA F, (QF much better)
Also pax is flying business class on a D fare, as AA donot have a business class or a D fare within the US, if QF were to put the pax onto an AA flight it would be more than likely an economy seat. D class flights on DONEX tickets do book into A fare in First Class, but this is not necessarily the case for a D fare.
 

Dave Noble

Senior Member
Joined
Oct 10, 2005
Messages
6,419
The minimum connecting time at LAX is , iirc, 2 hours so on a single ticket I wouldn't have thought that the agent's system would have allowed booking onto QF107 with a 90 minute connection time. Looking on EF, it does not show this as valid and the 1st option it offers is AA2 at 09:35

If you miss the connection on an invalid connection, then there is no requirement for them to assist

I would strongly suggest rebooking onto a later AA flight

reggie said:
Also pax is flying business class on a D fare, as AA donot have a business class or a D fare within the US, if QF were to put the pax onto an AA flight it would be more than likely an economy seat. D class flights on DONEX tickets do book into A fare in First Class, but this is not necessarily the case for a D fare.
This is not true; AA does have business class on the LAX-JFK runs since these operate with 3 class aircraft. For business class trips, AA books domestic 2-class legs into First class rather than economy

Dave
 

Reggie

Established Member
Joined
Mar 20, 2006
Messages
1,616
Dave Noble said:
This is not true; AA does have business class on the LAX-JFK runs since these operate with 3 class aircraft. For business class trips, AA books domestic 2-class legs into First class rather than economy
Dave
Thanks Dave, didn't realise that AA had business class on that route. AA would book it into First, but if the pax missed a valid connection onto the QF flight due to immigration and security delays, if Qantas were to assist, would they book a D pax into a first class seat or Y?
 

littl_flier

Active Member
Joined
May 1, 2007
Messages
898
Dave Noble said:
The minimum connecting time at LAX is , iirc, 2 hours so on a single ticket I wouldn't have thought that the agent's system would have allowed booking onto QF107 with a 90 minute connection time. Looking on EF, it does not show this as valid and the 1st option it offers is AA2 at 09:35

If you miss the connection on an invalid connection, then there is no requirement for them to assist

I would strongly suggest rebooking onto a later AA flight



This is not true; AA does have business class on the LAX-JFK runs since these operate with 3 class aircraft. For business class trips, AA books domestic 2-class legs into First class rather than economy

Dave
In summary, I think you should take the AA flight but someone definitely needs to take this up with Qantas. The Qantas timetable and booking engine both list this connection as their number one choice. If they get strict on the two hours rule, all hell will break loose. At the end of the year the BNE-LAX-JFK connection will reduce down to 1hr50mins meaning that all passengers that missed this connection would be in the same boat. Again this is QF's number one connection. There may be some very unhappy people ahead.
 

Dave Noble

Senior Member
Joined
Oct 10, 2005
Messages
6,419
Reggie said:
Thanks Dave, didn't realise that AA had business class on that route. AA would book it into First, but if the pax missed a valid connection onto the QF flight due to immigration and security delays, if Qantas were to assist, would they book a D pax into a first class seat or Y?
AA would book into business class since AA offers business class on that route. if it was a 2 class service , then they would book into First

Obviously if QF have sold it as a through connection, they would be liable to deal with the issue on a misconnect. Personally, I'd avoid the risk and allow the extra 30 minutes and take the AA flight. AA business class is pretty comfortable for a daytime flight

Dave
 

dajop

AFF Supporter
Joined
Jul 1, 2002
Messages
9,076
Flights
My Map
I have sat on QF 107 waiting after connecting on QF93, and waited for stragglers to come through (and waited and waited). There's probably a substantial number of through pax and much easier for QF to delay 107 than transfer them to AA. Would this be one reason why QF 108 (the return flight from JFK-SYD) is known as QF10-late due to the late departure of QF 107 (the other being JFK congestion? Personally, I'd be less worried about this connection than connecting to AA.
 

NM

Moderator
Joined
Aug 27, 2004
Messages
15,792
Flights
My Map
Another viable option may be to route MEL-SYD-JFK, taking QF107 from Sydney, vian LAX to New York. Just need to leave MEL a little earlier to get to SYD.
 

alect

Member
Joined
Jun 20, 2006
Messages
351
Reggie said:
You then have to make the short walk from TBIT to T4, and pass through security. If security is empty this will still take you 5mins to take computer out, possible shoes off, liquids etc and then repack and reshoe. Time now 0835.
QF93 arrives into T4 not TBIT
 

Reggie

Established Member
Joined
Mar 20, 2006
Messages
1,616
alect said:
QF93 arrives into T4 not TBIT
You are correct alect, I was wrongly under the impression that it was only the Sydney flights that arrive at T4. The Depatures to Melb are from TBIT. Sorry Brumm, the time taken may be shorter, but I would still heed Dave Noble's advice.
 

maninblack

Established Member
Joined
Aug 14, 2006
Messages
2,303
Many Melbourne and i believe BNE passengers make this connection. Actually QF 107 just waits for them, unless the MEL flight is seriously delayed. Last time i did this flight it was a little late into LAX but there where about 50 passengers on the MEL flight going on to JFK. This would happen regularly. But if in doubt, talk to Qantas about it.
 

simongr

Enthusiast
Joined
Jul 10, 2006
Messages
14,229
Dave Noble said:
AA business class is pretty comfortable for a daytime flight

Dave
Yeah - its ok for day flying - - I have done this route on that flight I think :) If fact given that you dont have bulky skybeds around it feels more spacious. Just remember that you need the cigarette lighter attachment for inseat power rather than empower of a regular plug.
 

Rae

Member
Joined
Sep 30, 2006
Messages
159
I've done the MEL/LAX transfer to JFK a few times - never any problems. In fact, if it's getting late they'll call all the people forward in immigration connecting to that flight.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.

Community Statistics

Threads
81,233
Messages
1,872,959
Members
49,070
Latest member
Ryder
Top