Lifemiles screenshot method

Status
Not open for further replies.

juddles

Suspended
Joined
Aug 2, 2011
Messages
5,437
Points
10
Qantas
Platinum 1
Hello all,

I am an avid LM miles collector, and now want to burn some. I understand there is a "screenshot method" that helps to get around the %%$#&?!! difficulties of using the LifeMiles booking system. Although I believe in members researching the knowledge that is included in the main Q&A thread on this topic, it has now grown to almost 7000 posts and I am lost. Is it possible anyone could give a shortened run-down of this technique?

I think this would immensely assist members, and would appreciate if someone could help here....
 
Joined
May 12, 2012
Messages
327
Points
215
This has stopped me purchasing Lifemiles. It got too complicated to redeem them so i just buy United points now. More expensive but so easy to redeem online. I don't however do very complicated routes.
 

Cynicor

Established Member
Joined
Jun 13, 2007
Messages
3,869
Points
700
In short- if you have a route that you believe is legal and has availability:

Screenshot the full route with no availability.
Screenshot the individual sectors with availability.
Email the generic LM email with these and an explanation of what you want, when, miles to be used etc.
Get an email back that may or may not be what you wanted.
Call the number given to book.
 

juddles

Suspended
Joined
Aug 2, 2011
Messages
5,437
Points
10
Qantas
Platinum 1
Cynicor, forgive me for being thick (have been called that before!), but what I understand then is the following:

If I want to travel A - B - C, but a search on A - C shows no availability, but I can search A - B with availability, and also B - C with availability, then they may be able to help me do the full A - B - C booking? Is that the basics?
 

jgm

Member
Joined
Feb 16, 2007
Messages
373
Points
225
You also need to include in the email: the lifemiles number of the purchaser, names and D.O.B of all passengers, and coloured photos of the passports of all travellers.
 

travelislife

Established Member
Joined
Feb 9, 2011
Messages
2,332
Points
475
I provided a screen shot of my email and the process in the other thread. Was quite recent so should only be back a couple of pages.
 

Cynicor

Established Member
Joined
Jun 13, 2007
Messages
3,869
Points
700
Never done photos at all, and have done a few bookings.
 
Using the S26 Wi-Fi Smart Plug you can easily convert your existing appliances into smart devices to be controlled remotely with your phone.

Takes just minutes to setup!

AFF Supporters can remove this and all advertisements

travelislife

Established Member
Joined
Feb 9, 2011
Messages
2,332
Points
475
David1 that's all good! I was on my iPhone so couldn't link it, thanks for that!
 

Jeffrey O'Neill

Established Member
Joined
Aug 19, 2006
Messages
1,551
Points
10
Seems to be taking longer now too. I made a booking for May 2017 SYD - BKK - HND - LHR.

Emailed and it took 2 days to get a response and another 2 days to get email with ticket then another day to pay for it which was a 40 minute painful process.

I'm moving to LM for simple direct flights to asia and probally united more often for other trips.
 

baggyred

Member
Joined
Jun 11, 2012
Messages
301
Points
10
Anyone had success with a screenshot booking - simply to get a better itinerary when an existing option is already showing.

1 One example where the existing booking is a mixed cabin booking - and you can make an all business booking
2 other example where you want to extend a layover to longer than 12 hours
3 third option where you can do it in a much simpler fashion that a convoluted 4 stop booking that the LM engine comes up with (just with one layover > 8 hours)
 

Abdul_A350

Member
Joined
Feb 8, 2016
Messages
274
Points
0
Anyone had success with a screenshot booking - simply to get a better itinerary when an existing option is already showing.

1 One example where the existing booking is a mixed cabin booking - and you can make an all business booking
2 other example where you want to extend a layover to longer than 12 hours
3 third option where you can do it in a much simpler fashion that a convoluted 4 stop booking that the LM engine comes up with (just with one layover > 8 hours)

Part of the screenshot process requires you to show that nothing is available. That screen is easy to manufacture by (say) changing the time or specifying an airline that does not fly the route in question.
 

baggyred

Member
Joined
Jun 11, 2012
Messages
301
Points
10
Part of the screenshot process requires you to show that nothing is available. That screen is easy to manufacture by (say) changing the time or specifying an airline that does not fly the route in question.

Fair enough - it does seem odd that a mixed cabin booking would be considered sufficient.

But the work around you propose is easy enough.

Just trying to manufacture a 12 hour stopover in bangkok to go into town for a good thai feed!
 

baggyred

Member
Joined
Jun 11, 2012
Messages
301
Points
10
Part of the screenshot process requires you to show that nothing is available. That screen is easy to manufacture by (say) changing the time or specifying an airline that does not fly the route in question.

Hi Abdul - just to clarify - If I am looking for a flight say JFK -> Per and an economy award booking shows (40k points) and a First Award (111,000), but no business award - am I able to use screenshot for a business award ? Or does there have to be no availability at all in any class?
 

Abdul_A350

Member
Joined
Feb 8, 2016
Messages
274
Points
0
I think that is fine. For example, I just booked a TG SYD-BKK-HND F trip when other options were showing.

But can you not just find a way to make it look as if nothing is showing?
 

baggyred

Member
Joined
Jun 11, 2012
Messages
301
Points
10
Ok - so one more q on the screenshot method.

The flight I need is three legs A-B-C-D

I can see A-B-C on one search and C-D on another.

When I screen shot - do I do A-B and B-C and C-D as 3 screenshots. or do I show

A-B-C on the one screenshot and then C-D on a second screenshot.
 

Guvner

Active Member
Joined
Jul 1, 2014
Messages
853
Points
365
I would do A-B-C and C-D do 2 screenshots as long as the routing was "legal".
 

baggyred

Member
Joined
Jun 11, 2012
Messages
301
Points
10
I would do A-B-C and C-D do 2 screenshots as long as the routing was "legal".

When you say legal - do you mean 8 hours transit? MPM? or something else?

I will be exceeding 8 hours - but hoping that should be ok as some have posted transits as long as 18 hours.

The routing I am looking at is likely JFK-TPE-BKK-PER
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top