Inserting QFF No. into AA booking

Discussion in 'American Airlines AAdvantage' started by Soundguy, Sep 27, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Welcome to Australia's leading independent Frequent Flyer and Travel Resource!
Our site contains tons of information that will improve your travel experience.
Joining AFF is fast, simple & ABSOLUTELY FREE -  join now by clicking on the JOIN NOW button, and take immediate advantage of these great BENEFITS.
Once registered, this box will disappear. And you will see fewer advertisements :)
  1. Soundguy

    Soundguy Member

    Jun 15, 2006
    323
    3
    Rudd's Banana Republic
    When I make an AA booking at AA.com is there a website (outside of aa.com) where I can firstly confirm the booking and secondly change the frequent flyer number to my QFF number to avoid having to ring them up?

    I made a USA domestic booking a couple of days ago and have not receieved any confirmation by e-mail, although on aa.com it lists the status as 'ticketed'. Is this normal? I had to put UK for the credit card as they don't seem to want Australian business..... hope that doesn't create a problem.
     

  2. NM

    NM
    Moderator

    Aug 27, 2004
    15,779
    1,216
    Flight Map:
    View my flight map
    Can only add QF FF number by calling AA.
     
  3. Soundguy

    Soundguy Member

    Jun 15, 2006
    323
    3
    Rudd's Banana Republic
    Hmmm.... thanks NM. I did this but it wasn't an easy process and it would be nice to verify that the change did happen correctly. There are three people in this booking, all entered with AAdvantage numbers originally then I attempted to change two of them to QFF numbers over the phone.

    Now checking on aa.com my booking has no number and the other two remain unchanged with AAdantage numbers. :(
     
  4. simongr

    simongr Enthusiast

    Jul 10, 2006
    14,229
    1,742
    Easy way to check - jump on the QF website and log in there - go to my bookings (and it should show there.

    Failing that if you have your amadeus ref you could go to www.checkmytrip.com and check there.
     
  5. Soundguy

    Soundguy Member

    Jun 15, 2006
    323
    3
    Rudd's Banana Republic
    Thanks Simon, the QF website is dead at the moment but I will check as soon as they crank it up again.

    I am concerned about not recieveing confirmation from aa.com also & 2 days later still nothing has been charged to my CC either.
     
  6. simongr

    simongr Enthusiast

    Jul 10, 2006
    14,229
    1,742
  7. Soundguy

    Soundguy Member

    Jun 15, 2006
    323
    3
    Rudd's Banana Republic
    The QF website is working again now, was definitely dead a few minutes ago.

    But my aa booking is not showing..... guess I'll leave it till tomorrow and check again. I wonder if I should be calling the aa UK office, could do this tonight.

    Australia is part of the UK after all; I mean we have the same Queen so that would be the same kingdom! ;)
     
  8. serfty

    Moderator

    Nov 16, 2004
    39,955
    8,107
    MEL
    Flight Map:
    View my flight map
    If you have a booking made on the AA website for AA operated flights it is possible that no Amadeus reference may be created. If so, then checkmytrip would not work.
     
  9. NM

    NM
    Moderator

    Aug 27, 2004
    15,779
    1,216
    Flight Map:
    View my flight map
    Correct. It may be visible on virtuallythere.com using the Sabre booking reference. But it depends on how aa.com creates the booking. Virtuallythere.com usually requires the email address that was associated with the booking, and some TAs don't seem to populate that when they make the booking.
     
  10. simongr

    simongr Enthusiast

    Jul 10, 2006
    14,229
    1,742
    Would that impact the Qantas website though? They should still show up there if it was correct - and would not be there if it wasnt correct.
     
  11. Dave Noble

    Dave Noble Senior Member

    Oct 10, 2005
    6,419
    8
    A booking made on AA for travel on AA will not generate an amadeus record so cannot be found using the QF website nor checkmytrip

    To add a QF number in this situation will require calling AA and asking them to add the FF number

    Dave
     
  12. simongr

    simongr Enthusiast

    Jul 10, 2006
    14,229
    1,742
    WHat I meant was that if AA had put the QF number in correctly, irrespective of whether an amadeus ref was generated, then it should show up on the QF website shouldnt it? Does the QF website need the amadeus ref to recognise the booking?
     
  13. Altair

    Altair Active Member

    Aug 22, 2006
    820
    86
    Wellington
    When I booked on aa.com and then called to have my QF number added it immediately came onto the QF website. What was interesting was that the QF website had a different booking reference number to what aa.com provided.
    Note the booking left aa.com and I did not get an email confirmation from AA for a day. Checkmytrip.com used the QF reference not the AA one.
     
  14. NM

    NM
    Moderator

    Aug 27, 2004
    15,779
    1,216
    Flight Map:
    View my flight map
    No, the QF web site only shows bookings that an Amedeus reference.
     
  15. serfty

    Moderator

    Nov 16, 2004
    39,955
    8,107
    MEL
    Flight Map:
    View my flight map
    Was this for a flight operated by AA?

    If so, the implication is that when a QFF number is added to a booking and Qantas become aware of it, a Amadeus reference copy is created. This is only conjecture.
     
  16. Dave Noble

    Dave Noble Senior Member

    Oct 10, 2005
    6,419
    8
    No. Unless the booking includes flights on an airline which uses Amadeus , then no Amadeus record will be generated

    If you book a Qantas flight on the AA site, then it will make a booking with QF and , since QF uses Amadeus, an Amadeus record will bw generated. There will also be an AA record of the booking so the booking can be seen on both AA.com and Qantas.com. Any changes made direct with QF may not propogate back to AA and so discrepencies may be found should changes be made. The Amadeus record will have the definitive information

    If you book a AA flight on the QF site, then it will make a booking with AA and , since AA uses Sabre , a Sabre record will bw generated. There will also be an Qf record of the booking so the booking can be seen on both AA.com and Qantas.com. Any changes made direct with AA may not propogate back to QF and so discrepencies may be found should changes be made. The Sabre record will have the definitive information


    If you book an AA flight on the AA site, then there will be no Amadeus record generated since AA does not use Amadeus and so can not be located from the QF site.

    If you book an QF flight on the QF site, then there will be no Sabre record generated since QF does not use Sabre and so will not be able to be located from the AA site even if an AA number is in the booking

    Dave
     
  17. NM

    NM
    Moderator

    Aug 27, 2004
    15,779
    1,216
    Flight Map:
    View my flight map
    Then your flight must have been a QF flight booked on the aa.com website.
    Nothing very interesting about that really. AA.com bookings are made through their Sabre reservation system and hence AA.com will provide the Sabre booking reference. Since the itinerary involved at least one flight on an airline that uses Amadeus reservation system (such as QF or BA), the Sabre system pushed the booking info to Amadeus which creates its own booking reference number.

    Qantas.com and Checkmytrip.com use Amadeus to retrieve the reservation information and hence need to use the Amadeus booking reference number.
    That implies to me that the booking did not include an AA flights and only included QF (and/or BA) flights. Hence Sabre does not need to keep the info once its been pushed to Amadeus. Checkmytrip always used Amadeus booking reference numbers and so does Qantas. AA uses Sabre. So what have seen is perfectly normal and to be expected.
     
  18. Soundguy

    Soundguy Member

    Jun 15, 2006
    323
    3
    Rudd's Banana Republic
    Well now I checked my booking on aa.com and the whole thing has disappeared - 'you have no reservations'. Grrrrrr :mad:

    What is with this company? How hard do they want make it to deal with them? Will try to call AA pomyland tonight, see if they can help before I give up and go elswhere. I have never had such problems using other US airlines.
     
  19. Dave Noble

    Dave Noble Senior Member

    Oct 10, 2005
    6,419
    8
    Do you have the reloc or the flight details? If so , you should be able to search for them again on the AA site.

    Dave
     
  20. Soundguy

    Soundguy Member

    Jun 15, 2006
    323
    3
    Rudd's Banana Republic
    Thanks Dave,

    I did manage to find it that way, it is not showing because they deleted my AAdantage number - and failed to insert my QFF number in addition to failing to change my wifes FF number.

    And to ice the cake they apparently have frozen the booking because my CC is not the required US, Canadian or UK type.

    Rather like dealing with certain middle east countries, everyone else is 2nd class or something? No wonder they shut their office here, not much point if they won't accept Oz payment. :(
     
Loading...

Share This Page