Inserting QFF No. into AA booking

Status
Not open for further replies.

Soundguy

Member
Joined
Jun 15, 2006
Messages
323
Points
0
When I make an AA booking at AA.com is there a website (outside of aa.com) where I can firstly confirm the booking and secondly change the frequent flyer number to my QFF number to avoid having to ring them up?

I made a USA domestic booking a couple of days ago and have not receieved any confirmation by e-mail, although on aa.com it lists the status as 'ticketed'. Is this normal? I had to put UK for the credit card as they don't seem to want Australian business..... hope that doesn't create a problem.
 

Soundguy

Member
Joined
Jun 15, 2006
Messages
323
Points
0
NM said:
Can only add QF FF number by calling AA.

Hmmm.... thanks NM. I did this but it wasn't an easy process and it would be nice to verify that the change did happen correctly. There are three people in this booking, all entered with AAdvantage numbers originally then I attempted to change two of them to QFF numbers over the phone.

Now checking on aa.com my booking has no number and the other two remain unchanged with AAdantage numbers. :(
 

simongr

Enthusiast
Joined
Jul 10, 2006
Messages
14,426
Points
0
Easy way to check - jump on the QF website and log in there - go to my bookings (and it should show there.

Failing that if you have your amadeus ref you could go to www.checkmytrip.com and check there.
 

Soundguy

Member
Joined
Jun 15, 2006
Messages
323
Points
0
Thanks Simon, the QF website is dead at the moment but I will check as soon as they crank it up again.

I am concerned about not recieveing confirmation from aa.com also & 2 days later still nothing has been charged to my CC either.
 

Soundguy

Member
Joined
Jun 15, 2006
Messages
323
Points
0
The QF website is working again now, was definitely dead a few minutes ago.

But my aa booking is not showing..... guess I'll leave it till tomorrow and check again. I wonder if I should be calling the aa UK office, could do this tonight.

Australia is part of the UK after all; I mean we have the same Queen so that would be the same kingdom! ;)
 

serfty

Veteran Member
Moderator
Joined
Nov 16, 2004
Messages
43,543
Solutions
12
Points
3,300
Qantas
Platinum
Virgin
Platinum
Soundguy said:
The QF website is working again now, was definitely dead a few minutes ago.

But my aa booking is not showing..... guess I'll leave it till tomorrow and check again. I wonder if I should be calling the aa UK office, could do this tonight.

Australia is part of the UK after all; I mean we have the same Queen so that would be the same kingdom! ;)
If you have a booking made on the AA website for AA operated flights it is possible that no Amadeus reference may be created. If so, then checkmytrip would not work.
 

NM

Enthusiast
Moderator
Joined
Aug 27, 2004
Messages
16,445
Points
1,295
Qantas
LT Gold
Virgin
Red
serfty said:
If you have a booking made on the AA website for AA operated flights it is possible that no Amadeus reference may be created. If so, then checkmytrip would not work.
Correct. It may be visible on virtuallythere.com using the Sabre booking reference. But it depends on how aa.com creates the booking. Virtuallythere.com usually requires the email address that was associated with the booking, and some TAs don't seem to populate that when they make the booking.
 

simongr

Enthusiast
Joined
Jul 10, 2006
Messages
14,426
Points
0
serfty said:
If you have a booking made on the AA website for AA operated flights it is possible that no Amadeus reference may be created. If so, then checkmytrip would not work.

Would that impact the Qantas website though? They should still show up there if it was correct - and would not be there if it wasnt correct.
 

Dave Noble

Senior Member
Joined
Oct 10, 2005
Messages
6,419
Points
0
simongr said:
Would that impact the Qantas website though? They should still show up there if it was correct - and would not be there if it wasnt correct.

A booking made on AA for travel on AA will not generate an amadeus record so cannot be found using the QF website nor checkmytrip

To add a QF number in this situation will require calling AA and asking them to add the FF number

Dave
 

simongr

Enthusiast
Joined
Jul 10, 2006
Messages
14,426
Points
0
WHat I meant was that if AA had put the QF number in correctly, irrespective of whether an amadeus ref was generated, then it should show up on the QF website shouldnt it? Does the QF website need the amadeus ref to recognise the booking?
 

Altair

Active Member
Joined
Aug 22, 2006
Messages
850
Points
10
When I booked on aa.com and then called to have my QF number added it immediately came onto the QF website. What was interesting was that the QF website had a different booking reference number to what aa.com provided.
Note the booking left aa.com and I did not get an email confirmation from AA for a day. Checkmytrip.com used the QF reference not the AA one.
 

NM

Enthusiast
Moderator
Joined
Aug 27, 2004
Messages
16,445
Points
1,295
Qantas
LT Gold
Virgin
Red
simongr said:
WHat I meant was that if AA had put the QF number in correctly, irrespective of whether an amadeus ref was generated, then it should show up on the QF website shouldnt it? Does the QF website need the amadeus ref to recognise the booking?
No, the QF web site only shows bookings that an Amedeus reference.
 

serfty

Veteran Member
Moderator
Joined
Nov 16, 2004
Messages
43,543
Solutions
12
Points
3,300
Qantas
Platinum
Virgin
Platinum
Altair said:
When I booked on aa.com and then called to have my QF number added it immediately came onto the QF website. What was interesting was that the QF website had a different booking reference number to what aa.com provided.
Note the booking left aa.com and I did not get an email confirmation from AA for a day. Checkmytrip.com used the QF reference not the AA one.
Was this for a flight operated by AA?

If so, the implication is that when a QFF number is added to a booking and Qantas become aware of it, a Amadeus reference copy is created. This is only conjecture.
 

Dave Noble

Senior Member
Joined
Oct 10, 2005
Messages
6,419
Points
0
simongr said:
WHat I meant was that if AA had put the QF number in correctly, irrespective of whether an amadeus ref was generated, then it should show up on the QF website shouldnt it? Does the QF website need the amadeus ref to recognise the booking?

No. Unless the booking includes flights on an airline which uses Amadeus , then no Amadeus record will be generated

If you book a Qantas flight on the AA site, then it will make a booking with QF and , since QF uses Amadeus, an Amadeus record will bw generated. There will also be an AA record of the booking so the booking can be seen on both AA.com and Qantas.com. Any changes made direct with QF may not propogate back to AA and so discrepencies may be found should changes be made. The Amadeus record will have the definitive information

If you book a AA flight on the QF site, then it will make a booking with AA and , since AA uses Sabre , a Sabre record will bw generated. There will also be an Qf record of the booking so the booking can be seen on both AA.com and Qantas.com. Any changes made direct with AA may not propogate back to QF and so discrepencies may be found should changes be made. The Sabre record will have the definitive information


If you book an AA flight on the AA site, then there will be no Amadeus record generated since AA does not use Amadeus and so can not be located from the QF site.

If you book an QF flight on the QF site, then there will be no Sabre record generated since QF does not use Sabre and so will not be able to be located from the AA site even if an AA number is in the booking

Dave
 

NM

Enthusiast
Moderator
Joined
Aug 27, 2004
Messages
16,445
Points
1,295
Qantas
LT Gold
Virgin
Red
Altair said:
When I booked on aa.com and then called to have my QF number added it immediately came onto the QF website.
Then your flight must have been a QF flight booked on the aa.com website.
Altair said:
What was interesting was that the QF website had a different booking reference number to what aa.com provided.
Nothing very interesting about that really. AA.com bookings are made through their Sabre reservation system and hence AA.com will provide the Sabre booking reference. Since the itinerary involved at least one flight on an airline that uses Amadeus reservation system (such as QF or BA), the Sabre system pushed the booking info to Amadeus which creates its own booking reference number.

Qantas.com and Checkmytrip.com use Amadeus to retrieve the reservation information and hence need to use the Amadeus booking reference number.
Altair said:
Note the booking left aa.com and I did not get an email confirmation from AA for a day. Checkmytrip.com used the QF reference not the AA one.
That implies to me that the booking did not include an AA flights and only included QF (and/or BA) flights. Hence Sabre does not need to keep the info once its been pushed to Amadeus. Checkmytrip always used Amadeus booking reference numbers and so does Qantas. AA uses Sabre. So what have seen is perfectly normal and to be expected.
 

Soundguy

Member
Joined
Jun 15, 2006
Messages
323
Points
0
Well now I checked my booking on aa.com and the whole thing has disappeared - 'you have no reservations'. Grrrrrr :mad:

What is with this company? How hard do they want make it to deal with them? Will try to call AA pomyland tonight, see if they can help before I give up and go elswhere. I have never had such problems using other US airlines.
 

Dave Noble

Senior Member
Joined
Oct 10, 2005
Messages
6,419
Points
0
Soundguy said:
Well now I checked my booking on aa.com and the whole thing has disappeared - 'you have no reservations'. Grrrrrr :mad:

What is with this company? How hard do they want make it to deal with them? Will try to call AA pomyland tonight, see if they can help before I give up and go elswhere. I have never had such problems using other US airlines.

Do you have the reloc or the flight details? If so , you should be able to search for them again on the AA site.

Dave
 

Soundguy

Member
Joined
Jun 15, 2006
Messages
323
Points
0
Thanks Dave,

I did manage to find it that way, it is not showing because they deleted my AAdantage number - and failed to insert my QFF number in addition to failing to change my wifes FF number.

And to ice the cake they apparently have frozen the booking because my CC is not the required US, Canadian or UK type.

Rather like dealing with certain middle east countries, everyone else is 2nd class or something? No wonder they shut their office here, not much point if they won't accept Oz payment. :(
 
Credit cards which earn frequent flyer points is a popular way to earn frequent flyer points. You can receive thousands of points on everyday spend. And, many of these cards offer generous signup bonuses! Compare to find the credit card that best suits your needs.

AFF Supporters can remove this and all advertisements

Status
Not open for further replies.

Enhance your AFF viewing experience!

From just $6 we'll remove all advertisements so that you can enjoy a cleaner and uninterupted viewing experience.

And you'll be supporting us so that we can continue to provide this valuable resource :)


Sample AFF with no advertisements? More..

Community Statistics

Threads
87,407
Messages
2,142,547
Members
54,446
Latest member
mikegc
Top