HKG Qantas First/Business Class Lounge

Status
Not open for further replies.

JohnK

Veteran Member
Joined
Mar 22, 2005
Messages
43,731
Points
3,070
I have finally been able to find it and decided to sample it today. It is near gate 15/16.

The business lounge is not too bad. Very spacious, quiet (although only a few of us in here) and does have Heineken and Tsingtao bottle beer and Guiness draught cans. Finally bottle beer instead of canned beer as is the case in most QF/BA lounges in Asia. It is still work in progress and there are workmen in here putting in final touches.

The first lounge is not open yet. Apparently it will be opening tomorrow. As I am through here again next Sunday may come in and have a quick look.

Still does not compare to the Pier/Wing but does give people a better alternative to what was available previously.
 

david870mdg

Member
Joined
Jul 20, 2009
Messages
355
Points
5
I recently spent a few trips ex HKG checking out the new QF Business Lounge. No sign of a QF F Lounge when I was there though?
It may not be quite as good as CX offerings but during the day it is next to empty and if you don't like noodles then there's alternative food offering.
CX has the upside (even JL does) of daylight / airside views.
Will post some pics of the new lounge eventually.

David
 

JohnK

Veteran Member
Joined
Mar 22, 2005
Messages
43,731
Points
3,070
Take pics on Sunday if you get into the F lounge?
I wil try to visit on Sunday time permitting and take some pictures. I have also taken some pictures of the business lounge today.

Still no idea how to post pictures on AFF so someone will have to show me at the next Brisbane drinks night.

I recently spent a few trips ex HKG checking out the new QF Business Lounge. No sign of a QF F Lounge when I was there though?
The signs of an First Class lounge are there now. The question is when will it be ready?
 

djfuzz

Established Member
Joined
Dec 20, 2007
Messages
1,417
Points
10
Great stuff JohnK, look forward to seeing the photos (I post mine on imageshack.us and link to them in my posts).

We were in HKG a few days ago but were too wowed by the Wing to head across to the QF J lounge. Will try to check out the F lounge when we're there next week, but very keen to hear what you think of it. :)
 

anat0l

Enthusiast
Joined
Dec 30, 2006
Messages
11,672
Points
1,175
Barring the food, the QF/BA lounge isn't all that bad.

The decor is all the same, but being a new lounge it looks much more "fresh", so that does help give it a good review. Showers are very nice.

BKK QF/BA lounge is much the same (except much smaller - well, at least the F lounge anyway) and much the same review.

As JohnK alluded to, the F lounge section was not open when I was there in early December. I imagine it will just be another section but cornered off from the rest of the masses. Food will be much the same...

The best lounge in HKG for those with oneworld access is IMO the CX Wing lounge. The Pier is much the same except restaurant sports a bit less character and the lounge is not 'open' like the Wing (more like a bunker, a la QF/BA lounge style). Still, for those relying purely on QP access, the QF/BA lounge is a good one for what it's worth.

EDIT: OK, should clarify my first clause. The food in the lounge isn't that bad. It's about the same - if a bit better - than the fare in the QF J domestic lounges (and of course dinner courses are the best). Still, CX lounges are the best for food because they run a good meal all day and courses are more wholesome.
 
Last edited:

NM

Enthusiast
Moderator
Joined
Aug 27, 2004
Messages
16,581
Points
1,295
Qantas
LT Gold
Virgin
Red
My biggest complain with the HKG QF Business Class lounge is the restricted internet access. They proxy everything and block anything that is not HTTP/HTTPS. So no direct access to my corporate email (lotus Notes using TCP port 1352), IPSec VPN or SIP VoIP phone.

For this reason, I left the QF lounge and went back to The Wing where the WiFi works with all of those apps identified.
 

Evan

Established Member
Joined
Dec 26, 2006
Messages
3,185
Points
0
Wifi is restricted :( very poor. I need VPN.
I did visit the lounge 2 weeks ago when i was in HKG and thought it was much larger and nicer and saw what looked like a very nice pizza on the food bench but was just wandering in to fill time before heading to the CX lounge for some serious lounging :)
 

samh004

Enthusiast
Joined
Apr 1, 2009
Messages
19,432
Solutions
14
Points
1,570
Qantas
Platinum
Virgin
Red
There's not a suggestion box or an email you can send a query at to see if they can change their wifi system? After all, it shouldn't be harder than changing a few settings and clicking update.
 

thewinchester

Established Member
Joined
Oct 3, 2006
Messages
1,781
Solutions
1
Points
10
My biggest complain with the HKG QF Business Class lounge is the restricted internet access. They proxy everything and block anything that is not HTTP/HTTPS. So no direct access to my corporate email (lotus Notes using TCP port 1352), IPSec VPN or SIP VoIP phone.

For this reason, I left the QF lounge and went back to The Wing where the WiFi works with all of those apps identified.
Is that normal for overseas QP's? Only os port I've visited is SIN, and didn't have any problems with net access there.
 

JohnK

Veteran Member
Joined
Mar 22, 2005
Messages
43,731
Points
3,070
I am in QF/BA First Class lounge in HKG right now. Has only opened in the last couple of days so still has that new feel about it.

It is above gate 15 on level 7 as opposed to the Business Lounge which is on level 5. Entrance is a little confusing and can be easily missed although no issue getting instructions at the Business Lounge which is very well signposted.

Sure it is not in the same league as CX Wing/Pier but still a nice lounge with self serve alcohol. Lounge is very spacious and apparently is where the old lounge used to be located. Nice choice for breakfast this morning including congee, quiche and the normal continental breakfast items. Have a number of photos but no idea how to post to AFF.

Only downside us trying to use Safari trying to browse the internet.
 
Last edited:

NM

Enthusiast
Moderator
Joined
Aug 27, 2004
Messages
16,581
Points
1,295
Qantas
LT Gold
Virgin
Red
Is that normal for overseas QP's? Only os port I've visited is SIN, and didn't have any problems with net access there.
No. This is the first time I have come across it at a Qantas lounge. The old lounge did not have this issue. I hope the new F Lounge uses the old internet connection and not leverage the new J lounge one.

At least we have a choice and the WiFi at The Wing and The Pier are just fine.
 

Mal

Enthusiast
Joined
Dec 25, 2004
Messages
12,386
Points
1,065
At least we have a choice and the WiFi at The Wing and The Pier are just fine.

I thought that at the old Qantas lounge they piggybacked on the general Wi-Fi available from the airport rather than having their own.

Perhaps the Airport's wi-fi has been locked down, and Cathay still has their own.
 

NM

Enthusiast
Moderator
Joined
Aug 27, 2004
Messages
16,581
Points
1,295
Qantas
LT Gold
Virgin
Red
I thought that at the old Qantas lounge they piggybacked on the general Wi-Fi available from the airport rather than having their own.

Perhaps the Airport's wi-fi has been locked down, and Cathay still has their own.
The Wing and The Pier certainly have their own WiFi using an SSID of "Cathay". Can't remember what the old lounge SSID was, but the new QF Business Class lounge is "QF_Business_Lounge".
 
We've Increased Our Flying to 30 Destinations Across Australia. Book With Us Today. Change Your Flight, Fee-Free and As Often As You Like for Travel up to 30 Apr 22*. Contactless Check-in. Special Safety Protocols. New Cleaning Practices. Online Check-in.

AFF Supporters can remove this and all advertisements

BlueAU

Member
Joined
Sep 30, 2009
Messages
361
Points
0
It's a Cisco access point that isn't configured properly. I spoke to someone when I was there and was told the Wifi is a work in progress ... just a temp solution for time being. I suspect the final one will be in and shared with the First Lounge ...

Hence all the restrictions.

Heck "admin/cisco" worked on the web login for the AP !! :)
 

simongr

Enthusiast
Joined
Jul 10, 2006
Messages
14,426
Points
0
I am a mac fan but prefer firefox to Safari for some unknown reason... IE however is only used when forced by poorly built websites.
 

NM

Enthusiast
Moderator
Joined
Aug 27, 2004
Messages
16,581
Points
1,295
Qantas
LT Gold
Virgin
Red
It's a Cisco access point that isn't configured properly.
...
Heck "admin/cisco" worked on the web login for the AP !! :)
Maybe I should configure it properly for them next time I am there ;).
 

serfty

Veteran Member
Moderator
Joined
Nov 16, 2004
Messages
44,099
Solutions
19
Points
3,300
Qantas
Platinum
Virgin
Platinum
Never used safari, I guess id just get used to it if I had to ...

hmmm ... I easily use Firefox on QP XP machines - I might set myself a project ...:idea:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.

Enhance your AFF viewing experience!

From just $6 we'll remove all advertisements so that you can enjoy a cleaner and uninterupted viewing experience.

And you'll be supporting us so that we can continue to provide this valuable resource :)


Sample AFF with no advertisements? More..

Staff online

Top