Esta...do you need to notify 72hrs out?

Status
Not open for further replies.

PLANT

Established Member
Joined
Jan 23, 2005
Messages
3,199
Points
540
Hi, have Esta since last trip December...do I need to notify them before flying out to states?
 
Credit cards which earn frequent flyer points is a popular way to earn frequent flyer points. You can receive thousands of points on everyday spend. And, many of these cards offer generous signup bonuses! Compare to find the credit card that best suits your needs.

AFF Supporters can remove this and all advertisements

AMX001595_Travel-Insider_1100x260

serfty

Veteran Member
Moderator
Joined
Nov 16, 2004
Messages
43,413
Solutions
11
Points
3,285
Qantas
Platinum
Virgin
Platinum

Atleastonce

Active Member
Joined
Apr 18, 2013
Messages
624
Points
195
Qantas
Bronze
Virgin
Platinum
I have used a current esta on numerous occasions without updating from original application.
 

PLANT

Established Member
Joined
Jan 23, 2005
Messages
3,199
Points
540
Well I went in and changed the address to first location of trip as "?" says so...Said update successful but just stayed on the Update page?
Do I have to give address in checkin again?
Hopefully smooth process as flying out tomorrow!
 
Joined
Nov 18, 2011
Messages
8,590
Points
970
Qantas
LT Silver
Ok, as people are not bothering to update, I won't any more either. I found it only took a few seconds, so not sure what trouble PLANT is having, but it doesn't sound like it is going to be a problem.
 

kpc

Senior Member
Joined
Mar 11, 2003
Messages
6,622
Solutions
1
Points
1,000
Qantas
Platinum
Virgin
Platinum
Just checked in for my flight to Lax, and I did not bother to update my ESTA :)
 

rioter

Member
Joined
Nov 17, 2013
Messages
231
Points
10
Ok, as people are not bothering to update, I won't any more either. I found it only took a few seconds, so not sure what trouble PLANT is having, but it doesn't sound like it is going to be a problem.

One piece of advice. Make sure the address you give the check in agent matches what you tell immigration. That was not a fun experience.
 

RooFlyer

Enthusiast
Joined
Nov 12, 2012
Messages
17,905
Solutions
2
Points
2,800
Qantas
Platinum
One piece of advice. Make sure the address you give the check in agent matches what you tell immigration. That was not a fun experience.

Speed up check-in by putting your hotel etc info into your booking on-line (I think its called APIS, at least on the QF site).

I never update my ESTA information and haven't been asked by immigration any addresses.
 

Himeno

Established Member
Joined
Jun 15, 2011
Messages
4,183
Solutions
1
Points
10
You just need an ESTA to travel to the US under the VWP. The details on the site do not need to be updated. The update-able sections of the ESTA form are pulled by CBP from the APIS data the airline sends.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top