Esta...do you need to notify 72hrs out?

Discussion in 'Your Questions' started by PLANT, Apr 28, 2014.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Welcome to Australia's leading independent Frequent Flyer and Travel Resource!
Our site contains tons of information that will improve your travel experience.
Joining AFF is fast, simple & ABSOLUTELY FREE -  join now by clicking on the JOIN NOW button, and take immediate advantage of these great BENEFITS.
Once registered, this box will disappear. And you will see fewer advertisements :)
  1. PLANT

    PLANT Established Member

    Jan 23, 2005
    2,857
    332
    Hi, have Esta since last trip December...do I need to notify them before flying out to states?
     

  2. get me outta here

    get me outta here Senior Member

    Nov 18, 2011
    5,352
    1,558
    CBR Country :)
    Flight Map:
    View my flight map
    You go back into the ESTA and change the dates and the place you are staying etc, and then print it.
     
  3. Princess Fiona

    Moderator

    May 22, 2009
    9,598
    8,944
    NSW
    Flight Map:
    View my flight map
    Twitter:
    I never bother doing anything with mine. I don't think you have to.
     
  4. serfty

    Moderator

    Nov 16, 2004
    39,050
    7,704
    MEL
    Flight Map:
    View my flight map
    I used to do so religiously, but not so these days as I forgot once or twice and from results it seems optional.
     
  5. Atleastonce

    Atleastonce Active Member

    Apr 18, 2013
    561
    486
    Sunshine Coast
    I have used a current esta on numerous occasions without updating from original application.
     
  6. PLANT

    PLANT Established Member

    Jan 23, 2005
    2,857
    332
    Well I went in and changed the address to first location of trip as "?" says so...Said update successful but just stayed on the Update page?
    Do I have to give address in checkin again?
    Hopefully smooth process as flying out tomorrow!
     
  7. Sprucegoose

    Sprucegoose Senior Member

    Aug 20, 2003
    6,601
    903
    SE Aust
    I never have and never been a problem
     
  8. Aussie_flyer

    Aussie_flyer Established Member

    Apr 26, 2009
    4,499
    1,690
    Melbourne
    No


    ...........
     
  9. rioter

    rioter Member

    Nov 17, 2013
    231
    35
    Mirroring this. Multiple trips a year and never updated and never had a problem.
     
  10. get me outta here

    get me outta here Senior Member

    Nov 18, 2011
    5,352
    1,558
    CBR Country :)
    Flight Map:
    View my flight map
    Ok, as people are not bothering to update, I won't any more either. I found it only took a few seconds, so not sure what trouble PLANT is having, but it doesn't sound like it is going to be a problem.
     
  11. kpc

    kpc Senior Member

    Mar 11, 2003
    5,743
    2,196
    Sydney
    Just checked in for my flight to Lax, and I did not bother to update my ESTA :)
     
  12. rioter

    rioter Member

    Nov 17, 2013
    231
    35
    One piece of advice. Make sure the address you give the check in agent matches what you tell immigration. That was not a fun experience.
     
  13. get me outta here

    get me outta here Senior Member

    Nov 18, 2011
    5,352
    1,558
    CBR Country :)
    Flight Map:
    View my flight map
    Yes, that was my thinking, next trip landing in HNL w' no obvious address in HNL.
     
  14. rioter

    rioter Member

    Nov 17, 2013
    231
    35
    The checkin agent will ask you if you did not provide it when purchasing the ticket, what your first hotel address is.
     
  15. RooFlyer

    RooFlyer Enthusiast

    Nov 12, 2012
    12,040
    15,877
    Tasmania
    Flight Map:
    View my flight map
    Speed up check-in by putting your hotel etc info into your booking on-line (I think its called APIS, at least on the QF site).

    I never update my ESTA information and haven't been asked by immigration any addresses.
     
  16. Himeno

    Himeno Established Member

    Jun 15, 2011
    3,115
    842
    You just need an ESTA to travel to the US under the VWP. The details on the site do not need to be updated. The update-able sections of the ESTA form are pulled by CBP from the APIS data the airline sends.
     
Loading...

Share This Page