Upgrade with Cathay Pacific

Status
Not open for further replies.

pcol6657

Hello,
I am new to the frequent flyer game and was wondering if I could get some advice from the experts out there.

I am planning on flying from Sydney to Toronto and return over the Dec/Jan and would like to upgrade my wife and I from Economy to Premium Economy which is an available to option on the return flight from Toronto-Hong Kong-Sydney on the way home.

I have about 80 000 QFF points and 80 000 American express rewards points and was wondering how I would go about doing this.

Should I transfer Amex Rewards to Asia miles and upgrade that way or am I able to upgrade with QFF points?
Which is more likely to work and when will I find out if I have been approved?

Any Advice would be much appreciated.

Thanks.

You could only upgrade using points from Asia miles.. So transferring from your amex mr account.

I have only done business to first class upgrades but in my experience upgrades will only work if there is confirmed award availability on those flights so you can find this out before transferring. On the plus side the upgrade will be immediately confirmed, none of the lottery cough like with Qantas.

You may also want to check if only certain economy booking classes are eligible for upgrade, I have no experience with that.

You may also want to check if only certain economy booking classes are eligible for upgrade, I have no experience with that.

Yep thats how it works with CX. Basically if you have booked an eligible fare class (which is Y, H in economy, may include 1-2 more eligible codes but I cannot think of them from my head), when you go into manage my bookings on CX's website, there should be a button to upgrade that sector. If there's award availability and you have enough miles in your account, you should be able to immediately confirm the upgrade.