OW Explorer Status Credits

Status
Not open for further replies.

vt01

Member
Joined
Jan 6, 2006
Messages
377
Points
165
Dave Noble said:
Have you had the reissue done yet? if not get AA to do it. They will charge the USD125 reissue fee but do not add their own fine on top.

You can indeed do SYD-CNS-SYD
You cannot do SYD-DRW-SYD since only one non-stop between those 2 cities is permitted. You could do SYD-DRW-BNE-SYD

Dave

Thanks Dave. I will certainly get AA to do it.

SO does that mean I could also do a SYD-PER-BNE stop Then a BNE-MEL-SYD? Just looking a maximising points and SC's
Thanks
 

Dave Noble

Senior Member
Joined
Oct 10, 2005
Messages
6,419
Points
0
vt01 said:
Thanks Dave. I will certainly get AA to do it.

SO does that mean I could also do a SYD-PER-BNE stop Then a BNE-MEL-SYD? Just looking a maximising points and SC's
Thanks

No. Only 1 non-stop permitted betweern syd/mel/bne and per

You could do CBR-PER-BNE

Dave
 

vt01

Member
Joined
Jan 6, 2006
Messages
377
Points
165
Dave Noble said:
No. Only 1 non-stop permitted betweern syd/mel/bne and per

You could do CBR-PER-BNE

Dave
Thanks Dave.. As I want to start and end in Sydney I think I'll do SYD-DRW-ADL-SYD. 20 more SC's by coming home via ADL than BNE..
 

Skyring

Established Member
Joined
Oct 18, 2005
Messages
2,790
Points
720
Qantas
LT Silver
vt01 said:
Thanks Dave.. As I want to start and end in Sydney I think I'll do SYD-DRW-ADL-SYD. 20 more SC's by coming home via ADL than BNE..
Ahhh, watch out for those customs chaps. Apparently they are nit-picking coughs in Adelaide. If you've got a Mars Bar in your pocket, declare every millimetre of it.

Pete, rigid enforcer
 

vt01

Member
Joined
Jan 6, 2006
Messages
377
Points
165
Skyring said:
Ahhh, watch out for those customs chaps. Apparently they are nit-picking coughs in Adelaide. If you've got a Mars Bar in your pocket, declare every millimetre of it.

Pete, rigid enforcer
Thanks Pete.. I'll eat it just before they check me!
 

Dave Noble

Senior Member
Joined
Oct 10, 2005
Messages
6,419
Points
0
vt01 said:
Thanks Dave.. As I want to start and end in Sydney I think I'll do SYD-DRW-ADL-SYD. 20 more SC's by coming home via ADL than BNE..

If Perth appeals, you could just buy a cheapie for SYD-CBR and then continue to PER and then back to SYD which will get 170 SCS plus a SYD-CNS-SYD for another 160 , giving 330SCs vs 220SCs for SYD-DRW-ADL-SYD

Dave
 

Skyring

Established Member
Joined
Oct 18, 2005
Messages
2,790
Points
720
Qantas
LT Silver
Dave Noble said:
If Perth appeals, you could just buy a cheapie for SYD-CBR and then continue to PER and then back to SYD which will get 170 SCS plus a SYD-CNS-SYD for another 160 , giving 330SCs vs 220SCs for SYD-DRW-ADL-SYD
A bus to Canberra from Sydney only costs $20 or so...

Perth has gotta be a definite inclusion for a xONE4. Nice place, too.
 

serfty

Veteran Member
Moderator
Joined
Nov 16, 2004
Messages
43,976
Solutions
14
Points
3,300
Qantas
Platinum
Virgin
Platinum
Or can go -SYD-PER-DRW-SYD for good SC's and points (time 'suck' somewhat)
 

FlyFirst

Junior Member
Joined
Jun 24, 2006
Messages
30
Points
0
Hi all

If it hasn't been psted elsewhere in these forums, the booking procedure for YUPs is fairly simple provided you do the following:

1) on AA.com, you must select pricing by fare, not schedule

2) select 'First Class with restrictions'

As for routes with YUPs:

3) a YUP fare is usually only available if you connect, at least once, via a carrier's hub (the best fares are via DFW)

4) look for flights on which AA has competition from other airlines, particularly low cost carriers such as Southwest, Jetblue, Airtran

5) good starting points for YUPs are HNL, BWI, BOS.

6) enter in your starting point, then a destination, hit 'enter'. The fare will appear. If it looks high, try another destination. Always select flights with multiple stops if you can as this will increase your SCs

Bear in mind the following:

7) some YUPs are only available on certain days of the week (like Tuesdays through Thursdays). If you are getting a high fare for other days, try T/W/T.

Advanced:

8) once you have mastered the above, you can play around with the booking engine on AA to maximise flight segments through using the multi-city tool

9) you do the above by taking a simple YUP and then adding in segments. You will know if the routing you have chosen is not valid because the fare will jump significantly

10) when using the multi booking tool you should select the following flight times: early morning, noon, afternoon, evening (for segments 1-4 respectively)

11) for multi segment bookings, always allow a minimum of 2 hours connecting time to allow for delays (late incoming aircraft). You should always try to book on the first flight out in the morning, and make sure that you have at least one other flight choice for segments 2, 3 and 4 so that a delay in segment 1 doesn't mean the end of your itinerary.

12) if you are doing a status run to get SCs, try not to fly during known bad weather seasons (like winter / tornado season) - these all cause severe delays

13) if you are doing back-to-back 4 segment runs, try and allow one day off in between to accommodate flight delays (for example, go outbound Tuesday with four sengments, rest Wednesday, fly back Thursday). This means if you miss the last flight of the day on Tuesday (ie segment 4), you can fly that segment on the Wednesday, then you haven't mucked up your return flight.

Finally:

14) Now I don't want to give away all the great YUP fares, but you can do a 4 segment trip (or you could as of late last year) from a certain city in Florida to a certain city in Texas for USD 247. (I can't check if the fare is still available at the moment because the AA site is undergoing maintenance.)

15) all of the above being said, some of the great 4 segment flights are getting harder to find because AA is giving routes to American Eagle which only operate in one class and hence the fare prices out very high.

Regards

FlyFirst
 

vt01

Member
Joined
Jan 6, 2006
Messages
377
Points
165
serfty said:
Or can go -SYD-PER-DRW-SYD for good SC's and points (time 'suck' somewhat)

So this is valid at the end of my DONE4 where Sydney was my origin?
Also, that's only 3 segments.. Does that mean i have another segment I can use? So I could do SYD-PER-DRW-ADL-SYD?

And I also have 2 stopovers when I return?

Thanks
 

Dave Noble

Senior Member
Joined
Oct 10, 2005
Messages
6,419
Points
0
vt01 said:
So this is valid at the end of my DONE4 where Sydney was my origin?
Also, that's only 3 segments.. Does that mean i have another segment I can use? So I could do SYD-PER-DRW-ADL-SYD?

And I also have 2 stopovers when I return?

Thanks

You could do that. You are allowed 2 stopovers; assuming that you do not continue straight onto PER , then your 1st stopover would be Sydney and so you would only be permitted one stopover during the SYD-PER-DRW-ADL-SYD run

Dave
 

Skyring

Established Member
Joined
Oct 18, 2005
Messages
2,790
Points
720
Qantas
LT Silver
Dave Noble said:
You could do that. You are allowed 2 stopovers; assuming that you do not continue straight onto PER , then your 1st stopover would be Sydney and so you would only be permitted one stopover during the SYD-PER-DRW-ADL-SYD run
Which can, of course, be taken any time within twelve months of your first flight.
 

NM

Enthusiast
Moderator
Joined
Aug 27, 2004
Messages
16,548
Points
1,295
Qantas
LT Gold
Virgin
Red
Dave Noble said:
You could do that. You are allowed 2 stopovers; assuming that you do not continue straight onto PER , then your 1st stopover would be Sydney and so you would only be permitted one stopover during the SYD-PER-DRW-ADL-SYD run

Dave
And the definition of a stopover for the purposes of a xONEx OneWorld Explorer fare rules is a stop of more than 24 hours. So you can stop overnight, just so long as the time between scheduled arrival and departure times is less than 24 hours.

Note that for purely domestic flights, QF declare that a transit is an arrival and departure on the same calendar day. So don't let the TA or airline agent try to tell you this applies to a OneWorld Explorer fare - its the 24 hour rule that applies to these fares.
 

vt01

Member
Joined
Jan 6, 2006
Messages
377
Points
165
Thanks Dave, Skyring and NM! You're all a fountain of knowledge.

I think I finally understand how the rules apply.

My last question is a $$ one. I know I have the USD$125 reissue fee but I also assume I'm going to get hit for taxes on each flight. Is that correct?

And taxes are about $50 per sector so that's a further $200?

Thanks
 

Skyring

Established Member
Joined
Oct 18, 2005
Messages
2,790
Points
720
Qantas
LT Silver
vt01 said:
Thanks Dave, Skyring and NM! You're all a fountain of knowledge.

I think I finally understand how the rules apply.

My last question is a $$ one. I know I have the USD$125 reissue fee but I also assume I'm going to get hit for taxes on each flight. Is that correct?

And taxes are about $50 per sector so that's a further $200?

Thanks
Yes, you'll get hit up for taxes. My last two xONE4s were in the region of $750 each, that was for seven and twenty flights respectively. You can drop the cost of these things significantly by booking through AA and/or buying overseas in Bangkok or Colombo, which is what I'll do for my next one.

Pete, with a matter of hours remaining
 

Dave Noble

Senior Member
Joined
Oct 10, 2005
Messages
6,419
Points
0
vt01 said:
Thanks Dave, Skyring and NM! You're all a fountain of knowledge.

I think I finally understand how the rules apply.

My last question is a $$ one. I know I have the USD$125 reissue fee but I also assume I'm going to get hit for taxes on each flight. Is that correct?

And taxes are about $50 per sector so that's a further $200?

Thanks

Taxes are nowhere near $50 per sector and should be no more than $50 total; just contact AA and get it calculated

Dave
 
Transform your lounge room (or any indoor space) into your own private movie theatre in just a few seconds.

Our Mini Pocket Projector is small, light and easily transportable. A must have!

AFF Supporters can remove this and all advertisements

vt01

Member
Joined
Jan 6, 2006
Messages
377
Points
165
Dave Noble said:
Taxes are nowhere near $50 per sector and should be no more than $50 total; just contact AA and get it calculated

Dave

So even though my fare was done by Amex travel, then taken over by Qantas when I made my first changes with reissue (and Qantas charged me $75 admin fee plus $USD125!), I can now ask AA to insert the additional sectors and reissue for the USD$125 plus taxes.

If I made these changes through Qantas again, would taxes be different?

Thanks
 

Dave Noble

Senior Member
Joined
Oct 10, 2005
Messages
6,419
Points
0
vt01 said:
So even though my fare was done by Amex travel, then taken over by Qantas when I made my first changes with reissue (and Qantas charged me $75 admin fee plus $USD125!), I can now ask AA to insert the additional sectors and reissue for the USD$125 plus taxes.

If I made these changes through Qantas again, would taxes be different?

Thanks

Yes you can indeed use AA.

If you use QF, they will prob sting Fuel Fines if they can plus will add their own $75 fine for the privilege for using them

Dave
 

vt01

Member
Joined
Jan 6, 2006
Messages
377
Points
165
Dave Noble said:
Yes you can indeed use AA.

If you use QF, they will prob sting Fuel Fines if they can plus will add their own $75 fine for the privilege for using them

Dave

Thanks Dave.

And one last question, can I make these last sectors open sectors or do I need to provide dates and times?
 

NM

Enthusiast
Moderator
Joined
Aug 27, 2004
Messages
16,548
Points
1,295
Qantas
LT Gold
Virgin
Red
Just be sure to allow plenty of time at the AA ticket counter to have it re-issued. And make sure you have the e-ticket receipt with you so they can see all the sectors.

I have not used Amex for a while, but when I did they used Galileo for the booking, and of course QF will have issued the ticket through Amadeus. So depending on the routing, AA may not be able to see all the sectors in the Sabre res system. So it may take them a little while to complete the process, but there is no reason that with the correct information (i.e. e-ticket receipt and full itinerary) that cannot do it.

They will likely need to refer it to their pricing dept to calculate all the taxes so they know what you have already paid (included in the e-ticket receipt) and what you should be paying for the new itinerary. It would be most helpful to them if you can plan ahead and give them a day or so to complete the task of recalculating and re-issue.

Of course, after re-issue with AA your ticket number will begin with 001 (AA ticket issue) rathar than 081 (QF ticket issue). That can help if you are going to upgrade any AA segments using VIPOW or Miles upgrades where they need to change the booking into a different booking class.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top