Just got my first credit score

Status
Not open for further replies.

smit0847

Established Member
It was 725. Slightly lower than I was expecting.

How long do you think I should wait before churning another card? I've been averaging about 2 new cards per year.

It was 725. Slightly lower than I was expecting.

How long do you think I should wait before churning another card? I've been averaging about 2 new cards per year.
Last year because I had access to it cheap I got one of the Veda packages so I could track the impact of applications on score, it takes almost exactly 6 months for the score to recover from a CC application hit and I did this twice so this was consistent.

725 is fine by the way, they will still lend normally with a score like this.

What will happen when Comprehensive Credit Reporting happens is anyone's guess, but certainly applications will become less important and repayment history and total limits will become more important.

Sorry guys, I am an amateur at this stuff. What is this score and where do you get it??

Good gosh- doesn't that worry you?!?
It would/will be a wory, if/when he's looking for a home loan!

However if he's applying for CC's and some/most are still giving them to him am unsure why he's be so worried. Also, as I noted when CCR comes in no. of applications will take on a lower importance (I'm assuming he does actually pay bills on time and has cancelled many of these cards applied for).

Veda will give you a score. And, search on here as there is a currentish thread or two on credit scores what it is, how to get a good one and how to keep it.

Sorry guys, I am an amateur at this stuff. What is this score and where do you get it??

I am 790 out of a possible 830 in the US on Experian. US Bank give me free access to Experian as part of my banking deal in California.
With residential real estate in Australia being sky high I may not be racing to buy anything.