British Airways checked baggage policy from Feb 13

Status
Not open for further replies.

Reggie

Established Member
Joined
Mar 20, 2006
Posts
1,642
Dave,

I can see whats happened now, somewhere my status WP and FF has dropped off from BA Manage my booking, even though they still appear in virtually there, and after having allocated myself the seats I wanted on the BA legs several months ago, BA have given my seats to someone else and given me other seats.:evil:

Reggie.
 

Dave Noble

Senior Member
Joined
Oct 10, 2005
Posts
6,419
Reggie said:
Dave,

I can see whats happened now, somewhere my status WP and FF has dropped off from BA Manage my booking, even though they still appear in virtually there, and after having allocated myself the seats I wanted on the BA legs several months ago, BA have given my seats to someone else and given me other seats.

Reggie.

Lots of seats have been lost or shuffled during the implementation especially. Get your FF number added back in such that your status shows and then try and re-choose seats if the ones you have are not to your liking

Other than the AC having no middle seat, there isn't much difference between the seats in CE to be that fussed about imo

Dave
 

Reggie

Established Member
Joined
Mar 20, 2006
Posts
1,642
Dave,

Subsequent to my email, I found my FF is actually listed. THe problem must be that it isn't coming through with status, because when I try and select seating it keeps telling me "You do not have permission to perform this operation". Also when I enter advance passanger information, it tells me the same thing and re asks for my login info. This is rather annoying after several attempts.

Reggie
 

Reggie

Established Member
Joined
Mar 20, 2006
Posts
1,642
Dave Noble said:
Other than the AC having no middle seat, there isn't much difference between the seats in CE to be that fussed about imo

Dave

Unless you are in the middle
 

Dave Noble

Senior Member
Joined
Oct 10, 2005
Posts
6,419
Reggie said:
Dave,

Subsequent to my email, I found my FF is actually listed. THe problem must be that it isn't coming through with status, because when I try and select seating it keeps telling me "You do not have permission to perform this operation". Also when I enter advance passanger information, it tells me the same thing and re asks for my login info. This is rather annoying after several attempts.

Reggie

That sounds like a browser issue. if you are unable to select seats it comes up with a message saying that you cant select a seat

When you go to "at the airport" , does it show that you have lounge access; if not, I suggest a call to BA to remove and re-enter the number

Dave
 

Reggie

Established Member
Joined
Mar 20, 2006
Posts
1,642
Dave Noble said:
That sounds like a browser issue. if you are unable to select seats it comes up with a message saying that you cant select a seat

When you go to "at the airport" , does it show that you have lounge access; if not, I suggest a call to BA to remove and re-enter the number

Dave

It doesn't even show a seat plan, goes straight to the lack of permission.

At the airport no longer shows my access to the lounges, it did last week or the week before when I last looked, but not today. So talk with BA not my TA who made the flights? Can BA pickup the status from a QF FF#.
 

Dave Noble

Senior Member
Joined
Oct 10, 2005
Posts
6,419
Reggie said:
It doesn't even show a seat plan, goes straight to the lack of permission.

That sounds like a browser issue; if it decides that you are not entitled to seat assignment , it doesnt go to the seat map, it just returns an error similar to that in the attached jpg image

Reggie said:
At the airport no longer shows my access to the lounges, it did last week or the week before when I last looked, but not today. So talk with BA not my TA who made the flights? Can BA pickup the status from a QF FF#.

I would just go straight to BA and sort it out ; the TA will serve no benefit and the BA member of staff will be able to see the status immediately and confirm it is in ok

It can definately pick up status from a QF frequent Flyer number; I have a few flights booked with BA and can access all seats happily

Dave
 

Reggie

Established Member
Joined
Mar 20, 2006
Posts
1,642
Thanks Dave, I'll phone em at BA when they are back at work Tommorow
 
Sponsored Post

Struggling to use your Frequent Flyer Points?

Award Flight Assist takes the hard work out of finding award availability and redeeming your frequent flyer or credit card points for flights.

Using their expert knowledge and specialised tools, the Award Flight Assist team at Frequent Flyer Solutions will help you book a great trip that maximises the value for your points.

Dave Noble

Senior Member
Joined
Oct 10, 2005
Posts
6,419
Reggie said:
Thanks Dave, I'll phone em at BA when they are back at work Tommorow

You could also try phoning QF and seeing if they can sort out the entry for you since they can see BA bookings; also, what does www.checkmytrip.com say for you FF details?

Dave
 

Reggie

Established Member
Joined
Mar 20, 2006
Posts
1,642
Dave Noble said:
You could also try phoning QF and seeing if they can sort out the entry for you since they can see BA bookings; also, what does www.checkmytrip.com say for you FF details?

Dave

On check my trip it lists the following

Frequent flyer: Qantas Airways - QF2******
Frequent flyer: British Airways - QF2******

I cant find anything about status.

Reggie
 

Dave Noble

Senior Member
Joined
Oct 10, 2005
Posts
6,419
Reggie said:
On check my trip it lists the following

Frequent flyer: Qantas Airways - QF2******
Frequent flyer: British Airways - QF2******

I cant find anything about status.

Reggie

checkmytrip doesnt tend to show status but shows whether it is in properly. It looks like the number is in ok but seems like the status has maanged to go astray

A call to BA should be able to sort out the issue

Dave
 

Reggie

Established Member
Joined
Mar 20, 2006
Posts
1,642
Dave Noble said:
checkmytrip doesnt tend to show status but shows whether it is in properly. It looks like the number is in ok but seems like the status has maanged to go astray

A call to BA should be able to sort out the issue

Dave

Dave, I have rung QF and then realised that somehow in the past 2 weeks my seating for all sectors was given up and reissued, basically I lost my upper deck seats SIN-LHR and LAX-SYD and Qantas wont say how. I cant get my same seat back or any window on SIN-LHR, but have got last seat in upper deck which 11B, LAX-SYD I managed to get my original back.

Sorry to all for going OT.

Reggie
 

Dave Noble

Senior Member
Joined
Oct 10, 2005
Posts
6,419
Reggie said:
Dave, I have rung QF and then realised that somehow in the past 2 weeks my seating for all sectors was given up and reissued, basically I lost my upper deck seats SIN-LHR and LAX-SYD and Qantas wont say how. I cant get my same seat back or any window on SIN-LHR, but have got last seat in upper deck which 11B, LAX-SYD I managed to get my original back.

Sorry to all for going OT.

Reggie


Personally I wouldnt be going to the upper deck by choice; if QF have removed and reentered your number, you might want to pop onto the BA site and see whether you can get into seat selection

Dave
 

Reggie

Established Member
Joined
Mar 20, 2006
Posts
1,642
I am currently trying to do that now.

You have probably answered this elsewhere, but why not the bubble for you?
 

Dave Noble

Senior Member
Joined
Oct 10, 2005
Posts
6,419
Reggie said:
I am currently trying to do that now.

You have probably answered this elsewhere, but why not the bubble for you?

The seats are the same upstairs as downstairs, however there is a much better chance of getting an empty adjacent seat downstairs plus can get off quicker at the destination . Of course, better still is have a seat in F :)

bon chance with the BA site; I would be surprised if it doesnt pick up the status given that they both use the same reservations system

Dave
 

Reggie

Established Member
Joined
Mar 20, 2006
Posts
1,642
Dave Noble said:
The seats are the same upstairs as downstairs, however there is a much better chance of getting an empty adjacent seat downstairs plus can get off quicker at the destination . Of course, better still is have a seat in F :)

bon chance with the BA site; I would be surprised if it doesnt pick up the status given that they both use the same reservations system

Dave

I requested the upgrades to F nearly 2 weeks ago, will wait and see still 12 seats left on each according to EF. According to EF the bottom deck has only a few seats left. Something definitely went very wrong with my booking as they had allocated me 24E which is the middle seat, not vry nice SIN-LHR.

OK am now being shown having access to the Flounge, still no seat access for all 3 of the BA flights "You do not have permission to perform this operation", will speak with BA tommorrow. But there is more perspective now, on who cares about a 1hr flight when you could have been stuck in the middle for a 12hr flight
 

Dave Noble

Senior Member
Joined
Oct 10, 2005
Posts
6,419
Reggie said:
I requested the upgrades to F nearly 2 weeks ago, will wait and see still 12 seats left on each according to EF. According to EF the bottom deck has only a few seats left. Something definitely went very wrong with my booking as they had allocated me 24E which is the middle seat, not vry nice SIN-LHR.

Being a WP, why don't you phone up and request a seat in row 16 ( upper deck exit ) on QF flight ; there is a decent chance of getting it

Dave
 

Reggie

Established Member
Joined
Mar 20, 2006
Posts
1,642
Dave Noble said:
Being a WP, why don't you phone up and request a seat in row 16 ( upper deck exit ) on QF flight ; there is a decent chance of getting it

Dave

Been there, tried that, after seeing comments on this forum. Basically got fobbed off when I tried a few months ago, the WP contact said she would put a request throught to seat allocations. Maybe I am too wussy and dont push hard enough, but even after the mess up today and lossing my original seating, I asked the person about exit row, and she said she didn't have access to it.

The way things have gone today, I am tempted to ring tommorrow and really push hard for it, but at the back of my mind i am hoping for the F upgrade.

Reggie
 

Dave Noble

Senior Member
Joined
Oct 10, 2005
Posts
6,419
Reggie said:
Been there, tried that, after seeing comments on this forum. Basically got fobbed off when I tried a few months ago, the WP contact said she would put a request throught to seat allocations. Maybe I am too wussy and dont push hard enough, but even after the mess up today and lossing my original seating, I asked the person about exit row, and she said she didn't have access to it.

When you phone, make sure that you get through to the premium desk rather than a regular reservations agent. When you ask for the exit, they will either put a request into the system or phone seating; if the former, then wait 48 hours and if you find that you do not have the exit , phone back and find out the status of the request. If there is no response from seating then the person will probably call them or there may be a response saying that no exits were available

Take the name of the agent when you get through and if the person claims that it cannot be done then phone back, speak to another agent and then speak to the supervisor about the 1st agent's lies. That's the approach I take

Dave
 

Reggie

Established Member
Joined
Mar 20, 2006
Posts
1,642
Dave Noble said:
When you phone, make sure that you get through to the premium desk rather than a regular reservations agent. When you ask for the exit, they will either put a request into the system or phone seating; if the former, then wait 48 hours and if you find that you do not have the exit , phone back and find out the status of the request. If there is no response from seating then the person will probably call them or there may be a response saying that no exits were available

Take the name of the agent when you get through and if the person claims that it cannot be done then phone back, speak to another agent and then speak to the supervisor about the 1st agent's lies. That's the approach I take

Dave

I think today I ended up with regular because of the p/h, but last time was premium. I will definitely go with your advice on this one. I will let you know what happens
 
Status
Not open for further replies.

Enhance your AFF viewing experience!

From just $6 we'll remove all advertisements so that you can enjoy a cleaner and uninterupted viewing experience.

And you'll be supporting us so that we can continue to provide this valuable resource :)


Sample AFF with no advertisements? More..
Top