Air Canada fare classes conflicting on flyaow itn

Discussion in 'Your Questions' started by Bob, May 11, 2005.

Thread Status:
Due to inactivity, this thread is no longer open for new posts. You can still join the conversation by posting to an open thread or starting a new one. Alternatively, please contact a Moderator if you have new information you wish to be added to this thread.
Welcome to Australia's leading independent Frequent Flyer and Travel Resource!
(Click HERE for a welcome message from our founder.)

Our site contains tons of information that is guaranteed to improve your travel experience. Be it tips on how to fly in First/Business at a reduced cost, smart ways to earn more points, the best way to use your points, cheap deals, hand-picked hotel recommendations, detailed trip reports.

We hope you find the information useful and decide to join our online community.

Joining AFF is fast, simple and ABSOLUTELY FREE - so why not join now by clicking on the JOIN NOW button, and take immediate advantage of these great BENEFITS.

    
Once registered, this box will disappear freeing up more space on your screen!
And you will see fewer advertisements :)

  1. Bob

    Bob Member

    Jun 8, 2004
    180
    7
    Brisbane (sometimes)
    When I do a search on the CWT tool on the flyaow.com fare classes site it comes up with different class availabilities for the same flight: e.g. Sun 29 May, do a search for SYD YVR and it shows AC34 as:
    Cabin class: J4 C0 Y5 M5 B5 H5 V0 Q0 L0 I0
    Do a search for SYD YYZ and it shows the AC34 segment as:
    Cabin class: J4 C4 Y5 M5 B5 H5 V0 Q0 L0 I0

    Same flight, same day, but one shows C class (upgrades) available and the other does not.
    Registered Users don't see this and have the option of removing all other advertisements.  Register HERE

    This has destroyed my faith in the usefulness of this as a tool to identify what flights upgrades are available on.

    Can anyone explain what is going on?
     
  2. Kiwi Flyer

    Kiwi Flyer Senior Member

    Sep 24, 2004
    5,453
    4
    It seems to me that Air Canada is making some booking class available to those with onward travel (on AC) that is not available for that sector alone.

    I see that kind of thing happening all the time on many airlines.
     
  3. Bob

    Bob Member

    Jun 8, 2004
    180
    7
    Brisbane (sometimes)
    I would have thought so also, but Air Canada both here and in Canada will not allow me to upgrade, even though I have booked right through to YYZ. Even though their system also shows C class on a through ticket, when they try to upgrade the computer works on a segment by segment basis so it says there is no C class.
     
  4. NM

    NM
    Moderator

    Aug 27, 2004
    15,708
    1,186
    Flight Map:
    View my flight map
    Bob, your description sound like the problem is more a limitation of the AC Computer to process upgrades rather than inacurate infromation being returned by CWT/ITN.
     
  5. Kiwi Flyer

    Kiwi Flyer Senior Member

    Sep 24, 2004
    5,453
    4
  6. cssaus

    cssaus Active Member

    Dec 13, 2004
    904
    62
    Sydney
    Can you elaborate on the link for the CWT tool at flyaow.com?

    Thanks.
     
  7. Kiwi Flyer

    Kiwi Flyer Senior Member

    Sep 24, 2004
    5,453
    4
    www.flyaow.com/class.htm has a number of links including the CWT. All can be used to see availability by booking class. Most of the links limit the search to particular airlines or have some other restriction.

    For instance, the CX one can be useful for QF except on routes that CX flies as well as QF.

    Need to take care in interpreting the results, and there have been the odd report of incorrect info. Nevertheless it is a useful (and free) tool.
     
  8. cssaus

    cssaus Active Member

    Dec 13, 2004
    904
    62
    Sydney
    Thanks for the info.

    I got a flight on UA840 this Saturday to LA and as a 1K member I'm curious to know my chances for an upgrade from Economy class. It's showning:

    F4 C7 D2 Y9 B9 M9 H8 Q6 V6 W4 S4 T2 K0 L2 G0 A3 Z0 E0 U0

    Any thoughts?
     
  9. Bob

    Bob Member

    Jun 8, 2004
    180
    7
    Brisbane (sometimes)
    Thanks for the link Kiwi Flyer. Either way there is no I showing :cry:
     
  10. Kiwi Flyer

    Kiwi Flyer Senior Member

    Sep 24, 2004
    5,453
    4
    Yup many airlines dont allow award/upgrade classes to be viewed this way. However you can sometimes infer award/upgrade availability.

    For example I will rank lower than C on Air Canada. So if no C then no I available.
     
  11. Kiwi Flyer

    Kiwi Flyer Senior Member

    Sep 24, 2004
    5,453
    4
    Presume you're supporting the upgrade with a SWU?

    Economy isnt looking too full - several discounted codes still available. So unlikely to get op-up.

    Business isnt too full either, UA willing to sell 2 discounted business seats (D code) still available but no heavily discounted business (Z code).

    First isnt too full either, at least 4 seats available.

    Note I use "at least" several times as 4,7,9 are commonly used by the airline for maximum numbers to show - the real number available could be a lot more.
     
  12. cssaus

    cssaus Active Member

    Dec 13, 2004
    904
    62
    Sydney
    KiwiFlyer thanks for your "analysis" of the codes & numbers.

    Yes, I am using a SWU and this morning when I checked my emails there was one from UA confirming the upgrade to business. I guess better late than never.
     
Loading...

Share This Page