Which program/programs to transfer my Amex points to?

Status
Not open for further replies.

travelnutjohn

Long time lurker,
I feel like ive read every thread on this forum, so Im a paper expert

Im going to cancel my amex cards and use my partners card for various reasons,
over the years I have collected a lot of points, which I am proud of, however havent had a chance to use them

I want only to do long haul to europe or America, business or first class,
I want to do the lowest points and taxes possible,
I dont intend to use points for anything else,

I believe , in my research that the best bang for buck is qantas RTW onweorld,
however, my cards arent qantas program but I also have 7 figure qantas point balance already

my 2nd best options are velocity, emirates, asia miles and SPG
ive included emirates because I know its high taxes however I do want to fly emirates first class one day too, (edit: ive just realised according to this article, its much cheaper doing emitrates via AA transfer via SPG)

so this is where my knowledge finishes,

what would people do in terms of which programs to transfer the points to,

I am happy to split it 3-4 ways, I dont have accounts with any of them, but am happy to open accounts
Should I split 3 -4 ways?
any feedback would be appreciated

thanks in advance,

and apologies if this is the wrong place to post it

Last edited:
QFF is probably the worst FF scheme you could transfer your points into...

A very high number of points are required to redeem J/F awards combined with probably the highest fuel surcharges on the planet.

In my opinion, SQ KF offers good value with the big caveat that you only have three years to use the points once transferred (extension options are available at cost).

RTW awards are 240k J and 360k F through KF/*A versus 280k J and 420k F through QFF/OW. KF/*A will most likely be $500-$1500 cheaper as well.

Star Alliance Round The World Award