SQ Y fare, upgraded with KF pts > crediting to Velocity

Status
Not open for further replies.

blingy90

Member
Joined
Apr 23, 2013
Posts
354
Hey everyone,

This has been raised a while ago - wanting to see if anyone has had any recent experience re a SQ purchased Y ticket upgraded to J with KF points, yet still receiving velocity points/SCs for the base Y fare.

When making your original booking - did you include your KF or Velocity membership or neither?
(Not sure when it comes to upgrading wether you need your KF membership number on the booking?)
Post upgrading - can you then change it to your velocity number?

If anyone has done this before - would you be able to post your experience/feedback of how to do this.
Cheers
 
Last edited:

Fiches Mouser

Established Member
Joined
Dec 14, 2013
Posts
1,416
Hey everyone,

This has been raised a while ago - wanting to see if anyone has had any recent experience re a SQ purchased Y ticket upgraded to J with KF points, yet still receiving velocity points/SCs for the base Y fare.

When making your original booking - did you include your KF or Velocity membership or neither?
(Not sure when it comes to upgrading wether you need your KF membership number on the booking?)
Post upgrading - can you then change it to your velocity number?

If anyone has done this before - would you be able to post your experience/feedback of how to do this.
Cheers

I haven't done it before, but I see no reason why you couldn't change your FF number after upgrading (or even before for that matter).

You can either do it online when managing your booking, or if it doesn't allow, you'll certainly be able to call and do it over the phone.

In the past, I've just checked in online and changed it then. Once you arrive at the airport, you can still pick up a BP as normal, but it saves a check-in agent from incorrectly entering a number if you leave it until then.
 

blingy90

Member
Joined
Apr 23, 2013
Posts
354
Thanks for the feedback mrsmart. I suspected it would be able to be done - but didn't want to assume this
 

bnalyd

Junior Member
Joined
Nov 19, 2013
Posts
11
Afternoon Blingy,

Did you have any luck with the above? I am in a similar predicament at the moment. I am trying to upgrade but I keep getting, Cannot upgrade the booking, as it was created with a KrisFlyer account different from the current logged in account.

Has any one else experienced this? Will I have problems as it was booked through my work travel agent? I know the fare is upgradable, is it as simple as me doing above and changing the FF number. I would like to know befroe I transfer points from Velocity to Krisflyer. Appreciate any advice on this.

Cheers
 

blingy90

Member
Joined
Apr 23, 2013
Posts
354
Currently - via the manage booking online - negative.
If I go into the booking and try to edit the FF details, its got my KF details plugged in and its greyed out, not letting me change.
I haven't attempted to call KF yet to see if they can rectify
 

bnalyd

Junior Member
Joined
Nov 19, 2013
Posts
11
I have managed to upgrade but it is a process. I had to have the travel agent re-issue the booking with my krisflyer number instead of Velocity. The upgrade went through fine. The only issue now is that the booking is locked to my Krisflyer number, which is annoying as the status credits on this flight will get me closer to re-qualification for platnium. Travel agent said to try and change at the airport. Hopefully that works. I will never understand why basic information has to be changed by TA.

On a side note, it would be nice if we could just use velocity in the same way that a Star Alliance partner does, instead of having to take from one to another, even if they increased the transfer rate it would still make it much easier when you have to book through a TA for work.
 

blingy90

Member
Joined
Apr 23, 2013
Posts
354
Right....so you made your initial booking with your velocity number, but when you went to upgrade you had to change to your KF (I'm assuming to use the points associated with your account). But you were unable to change it back post upgrade to velocity after upgrading? If I may ask...when are you travelling? Very keen to hear if you are able to change back to your velocity at the airport. Im in the same boat as you...wanting my SQ service's to credit to VA.

Cant see why it can't be done!
 

bnalyd

Junior Member
Joined
Nov 19, 2013
Posts
11
Apologies for the delayed response, I was in Argentina.

I am now in the Gold Kris Flyer lounge in SIA. The end result was that the travel agent, despite Singapore telling me otherwise, said it was not possible for them to change the FF number. When I arrived at the airport I asked at check-in and the agent told me that they could change the FF number for the sectors where I had not used my Kris Flyer FF to upgrade. So not a bad outcome. It means I only miss out on one out of 4 sectors, so will still get those handy SCs.

I hope it works out for you!!

Cheers.
 

blingy90

Member
Joined
Apr 23, 2013
Posts
354
Hmmmmm..... thats a little disappointing if I run into the same problem! The flights I've booked for myself and my partner were going to make up a significant proportion of re-qualifying for platinum velocity.

Might need to dive into the KF t&cs / also try ringing KF to have my number changed. My partner has her velocity number attached to the booking just mine is my KF number currently.

I hope I can change it and that they post points/SCs to velocity.
 

bnalyd

Junior Member
Joined
Nov 19, 2013
Posts
11
I have just checked my Velocity account and for reasons that I do not understand, I received status credits for both the MEL-SIA leg and SIA-PEK, even though my Krisflyer number was used for the first leg. The only annoying thing it was credited on my review date, as I moved to platinum. Which is a little annoying as it is 100SC that I miss out on, and which would have made getting the 800 to re-qualify so much easier... Hope this helps.
 

blingy90

Member
Joined
Apr 23, 2013
Posts
354
Just rang KF then.....was able to change my KF number to my Velocity number, agent said should be all fine but to double check at the airport if I was worried. I jumped onto KF online after the phone call and checked my booking, both my velocity number and my partners velocity number are now displaying instead of our KF numbers.

So looks like it should post to VA no problems. Will confirm at airport but feeling a lot better now that I can see our velocity numbers on our booking
 

Milboo

Established Member
Joined
Apr 11, 2013
Posts
1,826
I just made a SQ booking which had my Amigos FF number attached to it. I contact the local call centre and they processed my upgrade from KF points (transferred from VA). I then had them change the FF account to my VFF one (had be trying to see if *A offered up anything better seat wise than VFF does) without any issues.
 

Demon_fan

Member
Joined
Mar 18, 2014
Posts
137
Anyone had any more recent experiences with this?

I have a return trip to Europe with SQ flying PE. Would love to use KF points to upgrade some of the legs to J but want to credit to VA.

Just hoping this loop hole hasn't been closed off since the posts from early 2016.
 

blingy90

Member
Joined
Apr 23, 2013
Posts
354
HI Demon_fan,

I can confirm it is possible (or at least it was from January 2017).
We flew australia - SIN - HND return, booked through Singapore and upgraded to J with KF miles.
On each check-in, I made sure both our VA FF numbers were on the boarding pass (I found it handy to have your velocity card/s with you to avoid any confusion)

Of note though: some points / SCs posted fine whilst others retro claims had to be performed (and quite randomly as well), e.g. MEL-SIN posted for me but not for my partner
In the end though - all flights posted correctly to VA

Anyone had any more recent experiences with this?

I have a return trip to Europe with SQ flying PE. Would love to use KF points to upgrade some of the legs to J but want to credit to VA.

Just hoping this loop hole hasn't been closed off since the posts from early 2016.
 

Keith009

Established Member
Joined
Mar 6, 2005
Posts
4,605
Just a variation to this - I've used some Lufthansa SEN upgrade vouchers on SQ metal through the Star Alliance upgrade system (actioned by the M&M call centre). My M&M number attached itself to my SQ PNR alongside my Velocity number, but I got Velocity Points & SCs automatically without having to chase up.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top