QF Seat Allocation

eric2011

Established Member
Joined
Feb 5, 2011
Messages
2,132
Solutions
1
Points
485
Qantas
Bronze
Virgin
Platinum
At what stage does QF open up seat allocation for business class seats. In the past I have been able to make selection once the booking had been made but it is now coming up saying that my flight is not eligible. It is a business seat on 737-800 CNS - BNE. Any one have any suggestions
 
Solution
I am going to guess the problem is that row 3 is full with the addition of your booking. Since you have no status rows 1 and 2 will not be open to pre-allocate, and since you can't move within row 3 (other seats occupied) then t will say you can't allocate a seat.

At T-80 this all goes away and you potentially can move then, if there are any open seats.

It's not that allocations aren't open most likely, but there are no seats to allocate to for your status view.

if you provide a flight number/date many of us can access the seat map to verify.

RichardMEL

Senior Member
Joined
Mar 28, 2014
Messages
5,803
Solutions
10
Points
985
I am going to guess the problem is that row 3 is full with the addition of your booking. Since you have no status rows 1 and 2 will not be open to pre-allocate, and since you can't move within row 3 (other seats occupied) then t will say you can't allocate a seat.

At T-80 this all goes away and you potentially can move then, if there are any open seats.

It's not that allocations aren't open most likely, but there are no seats to allocate to for your status view.

if you provide a flight number/date many of us can access the seat map to verify.
 
Solution

eric2011

Established Member
Joined
Feb 5, 2011
Messages
2,132
Solutions
1
Points
485
Qantas
Bronze
Virgin
Platinum
I am going to guess the problem is that row 3 is full with the addition of your booking. Since you have no status rows 1 and 2 will not be open to pre-allocate, and since you can't move within row 3 (other seats occupied) then t will say you can't allocate a seat.

At T-80 this all goes away and you potentially can move then, if there are any open seats.

It's not that allocations aren't open most likely, but there are no seats to allocate to for your status view.

if you provide a flight number/date many of us can access the seat map to verify.
I have looked at EF already and Rows 1 & 2 are all showing as not available and all seats in row 3 are available. This booking is not untill May next year so I believe very unlikely rows 1 & 2 are actually booked with people. Because row 3 is showing as available I can only assume my 2 seats are in 1 or 2.
Post automatically merged:

You could check on Seat Alerts for what seats are/aren’t available Or blocked etc.
Thanks, as above post
 

Kerrodt

Member
Joined
May 18, 2012
Messages
308
Points
215
I have looked at EF already and Rows 1 & 2 are all showing as not available and all seats in row 3 are available. This booking is not untill May next year so I believe very unlikely rows 1 & 2 are actually booked with people. Because row 3 is showing as available I can only assume my 2 seats are in 1 or 2.
Rows 1 and 2 will be blocked for allocation to higher status passengers if they wish to book between now and nearer to departure. That’s standard in all cabins.
 

eric2011

Established Member
Joined
Feb 5, 2011
Messages
2,132
Solutions
1
Points
485
Qantas
Bronze
Virgin
Platinum
Rows 1 and 2 will be blocked for allocation to higher status passengers if they wish to book between now and nearer to departure. That’s standard in all cabins.
OK so why are my 2 seats not showing as being booked in row 3. My seats must be in 1 or 2. Is this not correct
 

eric2011

Established Member
Joined
Feb 5, 2011
Messages
2,132
Solutions
1
Points
485
Qantas
Bronze
Virgin
Platinum
I was also going by whats on the QF website as below and also especially because we are talking about J class

Seat reservations​

You can select your seat on Qantas operated flights+ after making a booking.
Standard seat selection is complimentary if you're:
  • travelling on any Qantas operated domestic service
Post automatically merged:

Has the booking been ticketed?
Yes, full fare J class and shows in MMB
 

SJF211

Junior Member
Joined
Dec 17, 2020
Messages
47
Points
85
Qantas
Gold
My friends have had similar issues in Y. QF838 DRW-MEL in Y, Ms. SJF211 (Silver) and I (Gold) are able to select from our usual status selections but my two friends who are on separate bookings are not able to select with the same message as with dash 8 flights (Individual selection is not available for this flight). Not sure why this is happening but might just have to wait till closer to the time.
 

RichardMEL

Senior Member
Joined
Mar 28, 2014
Messages
5,803
Solutions
10
Points
985
You will see rows 1 and 2 as unavailable as they are blocked for your status level (profile says Bronze). They are likely empty but it's absolutely certain your two seats are not in rows 1 or 2. As to why you can't allocate around row 3 if EF shows all vacant that does not make a lot of sense tbh.

You'd need someone with higher status such as a P1/WP with access to EF to look at the seat map to get a better idea (or call QF).
 

eric2011

Established Member
Joined
Feb 5, 2011
Messages
2,132
Solutions
1
Points
485
Qantas
Bronze
Virgin
Platinum
I am going to guess the problem is that row 3 is full with the addition of your booking. Since you have no status rows 1 and 2 will not be open to pre-allocate, and since you can't move within row 3 (other seats occupied) then t will say you can't allocate a seat.

At T-80 this all goes away and you potentially can move then, if there are any open seats.

It's not that allocations aren't open most likely, but there are no seats to allocate to for your status view.

if you provide a flight number/date many of us can access the seat map to verify.
I have re-read your reply and checked EF again and I think this is the exact case here. I had a proper look, not just a man look LOL:rolleyes:
 

Kerrodt

Member
Joined
May 18, 2012
Messages
308
Points
215
My friends have had similar issues in Y. QF838 DRW-MEL in Y, Ms. SJF211 (Silver) and I (Gold) are able to select from our usual status selections but my two friends who are on separate bookings are not able to select with the same message as with dash 8 flights (Individual selection is not available for this flight). Not sure why this is happening but might just have to wait till closer to the time.
Re QF Dash 8: My experience has always been that I cannot select a seat on a Dash 8 flight at the point of booking (only aisle or window) and that the opportunity only opens up when I do online check in. Even if the flight is connecting to/from a QF 737 flight, I can select seats on the 737 but not the Dash 8. I don’t know why this is.
 

SJF211

Junior Member
Joined
Dec 17, 2020
Messages
47
Points
85
Qantas
Gold
Re QF Dash 8: My experience has always been that I cannot select a seat on a Dash 8 flight at the point of booking (only aisle or window) and that the opportunity only opens up when I do online check in. Even if the flight is connecting to/from a QF 737 flight, I can select seats on the 737 but not the Dash 8. I don’t know why this is.
I am aware of the dash 8 not allowing seat selection, I believe for wait and balance reasons they only allows certain sections/seats so it is not loaded to heavily on one side/end. I was stating the message for selecting seats was the same as for dash 8 flights where seat selection is not available until check-I’m. We’re not travelling on a dash 8, we’re just in a simple 738 DRW-MEL commute. My friends have received that message for a 737 flight and given they don’t have status there may be something happening at QANTAS.
 
Possibly the best subscription service on the planet, designed specially by whisky lovers for whisky lovers. Join the club to grow your collection and drink great whisky.

AFF Supporters can remove this and all advertisements

AustraliaPoochie

Established Member
Joined
Feb 9, 2014
Messages
4,861
Points
595
They can still move you around, due to "operational and security reasons".
In Dec about 2.75 years ago, (I think it was Dec 2019), I had booked AKL - BNE on their A330, always had window seat request in my QFF profile.
And they have 99% of the time gave me this, on their other flights that I have taken with them.
But, just because I was a bit late doing OLCI from AKL, they popped me into the middle of the J cabin, ie, no window.
To prove who you are when you log into your account from overseas, they can be a bit late in sending the 6 digit 2fa code to your mobile phone number, for you to log into your QFF account.
If you are lucky, that 6 digit code comes straight to your mobile, if not, your wanted seat could be snapped by others.
 

Enhance your AFF viewing experience!

From just $6 we'll remove all advertisements so that you can enjoy a cleaner and uninterupted viewing experience.

And you'll be supporting us so that we can continue to provide this valuable resource :)


Sample AFF with no advertisements? More..
Top