Free travel insurance attached to Platinum Credit card

Status
Not open for further replies.

taricho

I am new to Frequent Flyer. I have an Platinum American Express card and wonder if anyone has had any touble with the free insurance they offer

I am new to Frequent Flyer. I have an Platinum American Express card and wonder if anyone has had any touble with the free insurance they offer
Hi taricho,

Welcome to AFF.

Is you card the Credit Card or the Charge Card? I believe the insurance policies are different with each card.

Here's the Platinum Edge Credit Card Insurance Product Disclosure Statement:

https://secure.cmax.americanexpress...onal/shared/files/Platinum_Edge_Insurance.pdf

Here's the Platinum Reserve Credit Card Insurance Product Disclosure Statement:

http://www.americanexpress.com/australia/pdfs/PlatReserveInsuranceBrochure.pdf

These define what you get depending upon you card. In both cases, to activate the Insurance requires:
Purchase of Trip on American Express Platinum Edge Credit Card or with Membership Rewards points.

I have used the insurance policy attached to the American Express Platinum credit card several times and had no problems at all with any claims. I found them to be quick to repay me for expenses I incurred that were covered by the policy such as hotel and meals when I missed a connecting flight in Hong Kong due to a late departure from Perth. From memory I have also made a medical related claim that was settled quickly and efficiently. I book all of my travel on Amex because of the insurance policy. What I like is the simple booklet they provide with the card that sets out in simple terms what they cover (delays, lost luggage, theft, medical etc) and again, in my experience if your claim is a fairly simple matter then they are great to deal with.

Here's the Platinum Edge Credit Card Insurance Product Disclosure Statement:

These define what you get depending upon you card. In both cases, to activate the Insurance requires: