Belated TR: Middle East and Central Europe Dec 22-Jan23

Seat0B

Established Member
Qantas
Platinum
This is my first attempt at a trip report because I find myself with a lot of time on my hands at the moment, unlike my real life when I always mean to post something, but somehow never do. So I thought I would write up my trip to Dubai to see Seat Son, and the side trip of Central Europe we added.

Backgound, and Getting to Melbourne to Check In
The main purpose of the trip was to have an extended post COVID lockout visit to see Seat Son who lives in the UAE. We did not intend to go to Central Europe, but in the end the way the fares worked out it was a no brainer.

So I will start with fares. We started looking in March 22. At first I looked for J award flights between SYD and DXB or MEL and DXB. We were willing to travel any time in November or December 2022. There were none.

So then I looked at paid fares SYD or MEL-DXB return. These were all QF codeshare on EK metal as I wanted to get enough SC to maintain WP status. The SYD-DXB flights were ridiculously priced at around $12,000 per person return. MEL-DXB was a little cheaper at around $10,500 return per person. From a previous experience, I got to wondering if we should consider a "side trip" to somewhere in Europe. We did that in 2027-2018 and it was actually cheaper to book a multi-city flight to Rome (FCO) with long stop overs in DXB in both directions. So I ran that search again, but no luck, the prices went up to over $14k per person.