Travelex cash passport

Status
Not open for further replies.

HardieBoys

I'm annoyed with myself. I purchased a Travelex cash passport yesterday, as I'm travelling in South Asia over the holiday period, where credit cards are not as commonly accepted as elsewhere in Asia.

I purchased a cash passport denominated in euros, as I'll be travelling to Europe in 2008. The going rate for euros is around $1AUD = 0.60, however, the Travelex rate was $1AUD = 0.556, which is a reasonably high price to pay for the security that the Travelex product affords.

I've never used the Travelex product before, but decided to obtain one as a back-up in the event of theft and so on whilst abroad, in addition to ATM cards and credit cards. I'm just put out by the cough exchange rate...

Unfortunately you're likely to find yourself stung again when withdrawing non-euro currency from your euro card.

I used one earlier in the year and didn't mind the euro rate when purchasing the card, but when withdrawing lira in Turkey found the rate terrible compared to the credit card my partner used within 2 mins of my withdrawel.

I'd never use one again personally, and now carry a mixture of credit and debit cards which I have had no problems with from the Netherlands to Nepal.

Have a great trip

TG

I'm aware of the conversion fee and the withdrawal fee, but as I'm going to India, I was going to be hit by these fees regardless of the currency I chose. I'm going to use it mainly as a back-up, but will rely more on ATMs and credit cards, though when in Europe next year, will use it as a primary card.

aubs said:
Again, I recommend the Wizard Clear Advantage card, topped up with cash before you go.

The Earth mastercard (comes with the Earth AMEX and both give points direct to QFFF) also gives you zero fees and charges on cash withdrawals while overseas. (Note: purchases DO attract the usual 1.45% or 2.25% or whatever it is these days??).