Some More Experienced Minds Needed!

Status
Not open for further replies.

subichow

Hi all, I need some thoughts off other members as I'm new to the CC game. I understand that 'advice' is not professional and I am aware of my own personal circumstances etc.. The recent RoseAnna thread was useful but I wanted to start my own question rather than thread-jack that one.

First of all, I applied for and was successful for one of the Velocity Platinum AMEX cards this month which is my first credit card. I'm sure many of you are familiar with the details about it, but in short - the 2x points on travel and 3x on va/restaurants works well for me. Free flight and insurance is nice but lounge access isn't a big deal.

However, considering that a lot of my usual spend is on groceries and fuel, the AMEX Platinum Edge is looking tempting as well with the 3x and 2x MR points which convert at 1:1 to VA and SQ. I know I'm most likely ineligible for the sign up but I will be ineligible for a while now anyway if I decide to apply later. Is it possible that if I apply for two cards within the same month it might just take me as 'new' for both then and I might get lucky with the second bonus? I've already spent the amount required for Velocity AMEX bonus and the points have appeared on my statement but the balance isn't due (or paid) yet so I haven't actually received the points yet.

Also are there any serious impacts of going from no CC to applying for two within a month? It is highly unlikely I will apply for anything for a long time after this.