Bankwest: earn up t 22,500 bonus Qantas points

Status
Not open for further replies.
Just make sure you are eligible for the bonus points as it only applies to new customers and the point a dollar is capped at 200,000 for a cost of 190 plus 30 for Qantas. For Platinum eligibility you should call them and it would pay to have other credit card balances at zero.If you are already a customer you could close that card prior to applying as missing 22,500 points would really suck!

We have one in progress now for Mrscove.

Hi

I am a bit of newbie but I have seen your posts throughout the forums and you seem to have a handle on things.

So it is worthwhile applying for another credit card for the $22,500 points even though it costs you $89.00 to earn them?

I am looking at obtaining a new credit card to obtain frequent flyers but there are so many out there it is comfusing.

I value your advice :D

We have one in progress now for Mrscove.

So it is worthwhile applying for another credit card for the 22,500 points even though it costs you $89.00 to earn them?

That depends on what you are going to redeem the points for. That will give you what a points is worth to you. This is different for all of us.

ie Redeeming to fly in economy (worth less), or business (worth more), an upgrade to business (worth more)....or things such as gift cards or goods (both worth a lot less generally).

Generally International flight redemptions will deliver more value in cents per points than domestic redemptions.

So say a long haul economy flight for say 140,000 points + taxes

Assume that you can buy it on special for $1400 inc taxes.

That would give you say 140,000 points for $1000 = 0.71 cents per point.

22,500 at $89.00 = 0.396 cents per point.

So in this case you would finish in front.

Redeem for a domestic flight where ticket prices are cheap and in many cases you would lose money.