Answered - VA - How to know if an international flight is short or long haul ? | Australian Frequent Flyer
Australian Frequent Flyer

Welcome to Australia's leading independent Frequent Flyer and Travel Resource since 1998!
Our site contains tons of information that will improve your travel experience.

Joining AFF is fast, simple & absolutely free - register now and take immediate advantage of these great BENEFITS.

Once registered, this box will disappear. And you will see fewer advertisements :)

Answered VA - How to know if an international flight is short or long haul ?

Ade

Hey everyone,

So, I'm new to VA and trying to understand how to know if an international flight is short or long haul ? I understand, the classification is based on the distance between origin and destination. Does anyone know what's that distance?

Also in VA website, classifications are as follows ;

1. Domestic - clear, any flights within AUS
2. Trans Tasman - clear as well, any flights to/from NZ
3. International Short haul - not sure, how far qualifies as a short haul
4. International Long haul - same as above

And, when trying to calculate the status credits - I find it a bit difficult, when trying to calculate for partner airlines.

For instance, a return flight from SYD to DEL on Singapore Airlines for fare classes Q and H - My interpretation of the tables on the "Status Earn Tables" page tells me that ;

1. Q and H are discount economy fares on partner airline (SQ), in this case, and that's where my understanding stops
2. How do I relate the Q and H as a Discount Economy fare to the status table? I ask this because, the status table only has categories like Getaway/Elevate/Freedom etc and not Discount Economy/Full Economy etc

Thanks in advance for all your replies and assistance :)

Ade

Last edited:

HS-TQE

Intern
Also in VA website, classifications are as follows ;

1. Domestic - clear, any flights within AUS
2. Trans Tasman - clear as well, any flights to/from NZ