Recommendations on first Amex cc sign up

Status
Not open for further replies.

Stu Roughton

Intern
Hi everyone,

I am a recent AFF convert and introduced myself last week in the appropriate forum. So "hello" if you haven't seen that:)

My points story so far -bearing in mind i am a bit of a newbie to all this...

I have started out on the basics as i held altitude black before joining and have had the QFF points from westpac and a further 75k from ANZ will hit in the next week or so (will request QP passes and cancel when received). Nab is currently en-route with another 100k so all progressing ok'ish so far. I will keep churning anything with a decent sign up for QFF until i get denied at some point i expect.

So. As the 'taxes/surcharges' are so high on QF/codeshare flights i need to be looking elsewhere for my points - namely Amex MR.

I am not a massive flyer so my points earn will be predominantly on the ground so sign up points will be the way to go. I envisage i will be redeeming my points in the future or international premium rewards to europe.

From initial research I like the fit of the platinum edge due to the ascent program and the low annual fee. However, even when using a members referral through this site (which i definitely will) i can only get 10k points.

Asking for recommendations or suggestions as to the best way to get a decent sign up bonus without paying a 1200 annual fee...is it possible to grab the points and then cancel or is the annual fee taken out immediately? i saw somedody mention the possibility of a pro rata refund. I have read about the 18 months exclusion for sign up points but happy to forgo 10k MR if i can get a quick bonus on one of the other cards?

Thanks for reading my ramblings!

Great community you have all built here☺

Stu