Reason given to cancel churned credit card

Status
Not open for further replies.

shadrach

Intern
Hi all,

I'm new to the credit card churning game, but have a couple of cards i'd like to cancel, now that the points have come through :)

Just wondering, what reason\excuse do most give for cancelling their cards.

Are there some reasons to avoid giving, or does it not matter. I'm thinking ahead to when I apply for more bonus offers in the future and don't want to hurt my chances, especially if it's with a previous credit card issuer.

Hope this makes sense.

Cheers and thanks all for your great help and insight provided on AFF.

Just tell them you only signed up for the bonus points, no reason to lie.

You've decided to consolidate your banking with the bank your mortgage is through/ need to reduce credit cards for a better credit score as you want to get a mortgage or something like that

I have no need for this card anymore.

I don't want to pay an annual fee.

I can get a better offer elsewhere.

Following advice on this forum, I send a letter that says

"Please close credit card #9999 9999 9999 9999 effective immediately. There is no outstanding balance or direct debits on this account. Please send a final statement to the postal address above."

Job done.

All of these reasons invite further questions and offers which you don't want to answer.

As noted above, just tell the bank to cancel the card and send the final statement to you.

All of these reasons invite further questions and offers which you don't want to answer.

As noted above, just tell the bank to cancel the card and send the final statement to you.

Yeah, I'm perfectly happy with the please close my account line but the OP did in fact ask for an excuse!

You've decided to consolidate your banking with the bank your mortgage is through/ need to reduce credit cards for a better credit score as you want to get a mortgage or something like that