Pre-paid travel cards - AusPost Load&Go card?

Status
Not open for further replies.

AshM

Qantas
LT Gold
Virgin
Gold
I'm booked to start a long RTW trip from October this year and had a close eye on the $A as it fell a fair bit in value last week. I see it's rebounded a bit today and, with that in mind, I've started exploring options for locking in exchange rates while the $A remains strong.

I had a look at various options involving forex trading and foreign currency accounts but they're too complicated and involve lots of unexpected fees. Likewise, becoming an HSBC Premier customer was a bit out of my league. So I started looking at pre-paid multi-currency travel cards and compared the Cash Passport (from various outlets), the OzForex Travel Card and the AusPost Load&Go card.

Let me preface this by saying that I have a 28 Degrees card up and running already, which I like, but it obviously doesn't lock in favourable rates in advance. So what I'm trying to do is effectively exchange some money at this stage without having to stuff cash under my mattress. I'm also conscious that simply having the money in the bank for six months is worth around 4% p/a in interest compared to having it sit idly in foreign currency card but leave that aside for now.

Anyway, the gist of what I came up with was that the Load&Go seemed to look the best to me. It has fewer currencies (5 - versus 9 for the other cards - but I don't think I'll need more than the 5) and charges ATM fees ($A2 per withdrawal) and transaction fees (up to a max of 99c/month) but it more than makes up for that by not having initial card fees (1.1% or $15 for the other cards) or reload fees (generally around 1% for others). The exchange rates also were marginally better ($US0.9925 for $A1, compared to around $US0.9850 for the others).

So I guess my question (if you've made it this far) is: has anyone used the Load&Go Travel Card and, if so, what was your experience with it?

Thanks very much!