Is the Qantas <Amex$450 free travel worth it

Status
Not open for further replies.

Clefys

I recently joined the Ultimate QF/AMEX card there are outfalls to watch out for

The card offers $450 off air fares but only on Qantas, If you book you do not receive the higher point value for booking through QANTAS and only get points for travel

When booking through AMEX they only offered baggage allowance on certain parts of the flight negating the discount eg I travel QANTAS for the allowance but with an Amex booking CBR to Clevland Ohio I was not able to have the allowance on connecting flights within the USA. I am a musician and the allowance lets me carry my instrument at no extra charge when all the way when I book with QANTAS

The fare booked through QANTAS is cheaper than AMEX

I thought booking through AMEX would allow me to preserve my points however if f I book Qantas without points the fare is more expensive than Amex with the discount than Qantas with cash and points.

It is getting to be not worthwhile and of course the more I have delayed this purchase the pricice has risen for the fare by $300 dollars in 4 weeks

Just an observation. I do not know if you have commercial arrangements with QF but be aware of the trap for users

I recently joined the Ultimate QF/AMEX card there are outfalls to watch out for

The card offers $450 off air fares but only on Qantas, If you book you do not receive the higher point value for booking through QANTAS and only get points for travel

When booking through AMEX they only offered baggage allowance on certain parts of the flight negating the discount eg I travel QANTAS for the allowance but with an Amex booking CBR to Clevland Ohio I was not able to have the allowance on connecting flights within the USA. I am a musician and the allowance lets me carry my instrument at no extra charge when all the way when I book with QANTAS

The fare booked through QANTAS is cheaper than AMEX