Bonus 25k Flybuy points Citibank Global Currency Account

Status
Not open for further replies.
Qantas
Gold
Not a credit card offer but still worth posting!

Be rewarded with 25,000 flybuys BONUS POINTS (approx 12.5k velocity points)when you apply for a Citi Global Currency Account, transfer and convert AUD$1,000 or more to a foreign currency within the first three months. Offer valid until 30 November 2019.

Not a bad deal if you looking to convert some foreign currency prior to your travel.

Not sure I'd go with this. To get the points with minimal cost (have no interest in using the card for it's intended purpose) would involve a likely 2% * 2 currency whack plus short term currency risk.

I just signed up. Not sure if I will use it yet. Citibank website rubbish as usual .

I am still confused as to what to do now. I have an existing Citibank Mastercard debit that I use for cash out OS and will be visiting the USA in a few weeks.

Will a get a different card with this or do I just load $1000 AUD worth of USD up on my current card ten draw it out in the USA at a Citibank ATM?

OK I just found out the answer to my own question. I can link this account to my Citibank plus. Think I should just be able to then load $1000 AUD from my Citibank plus funds into USD onto my Global Currency account on the same card, select this account at a USA ATM and withdraw it in cash. Only cost will be the poorer forex rate when loading up the USD.

Guess I need to load up an number of USD that allows me to get it all out from an ATM. Say a multiple of $20.

Last edited:
Ever since I opened up this account I can no longer do payments / transfers in the Citi android app. I get to the account from / to screen but the page loading spinner never stops spinning!

Ever since I opened up this account I can no longer do payments / transfers in the Citi android app. I get to the account from / to screen but the page loading spinner never stops spinning!