Best value for Altitude and Qantas Frequent Flier points ?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Markus

Hi Folks

I have just joined the forum today so I am an absolute newbie at all this . It is refreshing to find such active discussion and expertise on what appears (to me at least) to be such a black art !

I would welcome any advice you may have on the best strategy to maximize value of the following long accumulated points -

-600k Westpac Altitude
-350k Qantas FF

With a trip to Europe in mind for myself and 2 others later this year as the ultimate goal.

Which of the 2 schemes provides greatest value and flexibility ? is it better to transfer the Altitude points into Qantas FF or does the Altitude system provide better options for flights to and from Aust? Appears that Altitude does not allow for round the World or multi destination bookings on the online booking system? Could I book the main Aust to Europe legs via Altitude and any shorter Europe sectors via Qantas FF?

Any advice or links to where I could find same would be most appreciated?

I've also found and was checking out the frequentflyerclub dot come dot au

Im interested to know if other forum users have encountered and used this service or others like it vs dealing direct with the airlines and or online booking ( eg Altitude) ?

Thanks for any advice

best regards

Markus

Many of us switched out of Westpac Altitude when they halved the Visa earn rate and encouraged the use of the Amex part of the duo.
Are those Altitude points classified as Qantas points or can you get them to go to non Qantas?
Do you want to fly better than economy?
i have been using the Westpac Platinum Kris flyer Amex to do several Business and First class trips a year to Europe and the US as there is great availability but high redemption taxes.