Amex Corporate Card

Status
Not open for further replies.

gavhore

Hi,

I am hoping to get an Amex Corporate card for the company i work for, to pay for expenses to accrue points to make our travel costs a bit cheaper. It needs to be a corporate card, as i need the company to accrue the points NOT the individual, as it won't just be me doing the travel and i am only an employee of the company. I have 2 questions, 1. the Amex corporate card is the only card i have found that lets the company accrue the points, does anybody know of a better card to use? 2. When using an Amex card to pay for expenses, you often have to pay a surcharge for the privelage, at what point does the cost of the surcharge outweigh the value of the reward points.

My apologies if these questions have been ask previously, i am a newbie and still trying to find my way around the site.

Thank you.

Gavin

Gavin these are legitimate questions that do need answering have you tried ringing AMEX direct they know the in and outs too

Gavin these are legitimate questions that do need answering have you tried ringing AMEX direct they know the in and outs too
I fail to see how calling AMEX will give any joy for either Q.

1. Hello AMEX - is this card best card on market for earning rewards pts for my company? Sure is! But what about Diners or Bank issued Visa or Mcard or Amex? Nah - they are all dogs - stick with us - ours is best!

2. Hello AMEX - is it worth paying 7% surcharge to these rogueing thieving merchants who levy exorbitant CC fees? Sure is - look how valuable that 1 rwds pt / $1 is - keep using our card sunshine! :D

Well I think you get the drift - both Qs can only be answered by OP as to what value he/she or the company put on each reward point.

gav TBH IMHO I am very comfortable with Amex MR pts costing ~$0.01 ea - over that you really need to question it - there is no simple answer and every AFF member will hold a different view to each other - it really is a personal decision.