Registered Users have the option of removing this and all other advertisements.  More


Results 1 to 8 of 8
After numerous great NZ business flights, my first economy experience was uncomfortable due to a seating change that could have been fixed during the 2 hour delay. The CSM eventually ...
Share             
   
  1. #1
    New Member Expectans Expectavi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Per
    Posts
    6
    FF Prog
    QF Plat+ LTG / VA P/ SQSilv(tarnished)

    Woolly Air New Zealand complaint response

    After numerous great NZ business flights, my first economy experience was uncomfortable due to a seating change that could have been fixed during the 2 hour delay.
    The CSM eventually gave me some writing paper for a complaint which became "lost". Customer Relations didn't spot that it hadn't been recorded at all and basically did nothing over a long period.

    Has anybody else had this poor treatment with NZ? I dropped them and went on to high Platinum with QF. Was I too harsh? Other passengers were moved during the delay - doesn't Silver SQ help? At check-in I was told they'd given me a better seat than the one I chose, which it certainly wasn't

  2.    Sponsored Links





    Registered Users have the option of removing this and all other advertisements.  More



  3. #2
    Senior Member mannej's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Perth
    Posts
    6,074
    FF Prog
    QFF, Enrich

    Re: Woolly Air New Zealand complaint response

    What seat in economy isn't comfortable?

    Although your description is brief, have you attempted to contact Air NZ to discuss your experience, it may be a start. Seat changes do happen all the time, and unless there was a genuine reason for you to occupy your first seat, I am fairly sure that they will say that it does happen for their operational reasons.

  4. #3
    New Member Expectans Expectavi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Per
    Posts
    6
    FF Prog
    QF Plat+ LTG / VA P/ SQSilv(tarnished)

    Re: Woolly Air New Zealand complaint response

    My lingering concern is that NZ didn't address the points as outlined in my post. Please check the post. They didn't say anything about "operational" changes in their replies.

    With my Velocity Platinum I was thinking of giving NZ another chance if others found their customer relations handling satisfactory.

    I was moved to a window from an aisle seat at check in, but didn't realise until later their enhancement wasn't one at all. Spent most of a delayed long haul seated with crossed legs because of another tall passenger like myself on the aisle asleep blocking the space. Crew no help to me and tried to palm off an even worse seat when there had been better seats in the middle cabin given away during the on board delay. I let them know of my problem at the outset.

    Qantas, by contrast, send me "sorry" vouchers etc in cases where I don't realise there is any problem!

  5.    Sponsored Links



    Registered Users have the option of removing this and all other advertisements.  More



  6. #4
    Moderator serfty's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    MEL
    Posts
    30,342
    FF Prog
    QF WPNZ*GVA WPHHDPCG

    My Travels
    Flights Recorded
    938
    Miles Flown
    1454134
    Days in Aircraft
    140
    View my Flight Map

    AFF Verified Airline Status
    Qantas Status
    Platinum
    Virgin Status
    Platinum
    What's this and Why?
    Welcome to AFF.

    How long ago did this all occur? It seems unusual for NZ to not follow up such complaints.

    Aside from that, this is a good lesson to all to check and recheck their BP on check-in - don't assume the person checking you in knows each and every seat layout - many here probably fly more than them.

  7. #5
    Established Member ozmille's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Sydney / Belgium
    Posts
    2,480
    FF Prog
    QF WP 53,75%LTG/ *G/Aclub WP

    Re: Woolly Air New Zealand complaint response

    I am always wary when the check in says I have moved you to a better seat. Unless it is an upgrade chances are I am exactly in the seat I want to be and I highly doubt there is a better seat available.

    Cheers,

    Mille



    2013
    flights taken: 28
    kms traveled: 87739

  8. #6
    New Member Expectans Expectavi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Per
    Posts
    6
    FF Prog
    QF Plat+ LTG / VA P/ SQSilv(tarnished)

    Re: Woolly Air New Zealand complaint response

    Thanks for the welcome, Serfty. I am hononoured.

    It was a couple of years ago and I am as mystified as you because I thought they were very good.

    At check in there were bodies everywhere so I didn't start checking the seat until the QF Lounge. I'm normally extremely careful, it was the Station Manager after all, however thats no excuse for me to be off-guard after 42 years' crowded experience. My sin is ever before me - I'm still too trusting and helpful!

  9. #7
    Established Member trooper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Canberra
    Posts
    1,073
    FF Prog
    NZ GE

    Re: Woolly Air New Zealand complaint response

    Funny... I went from QF to NZ (and now Gold Elite there..) over the way a seating issue/complaint was handled....

    I suppose that evens things out??

    ..or at least demonstrates any of them can drop the ball occasionally...

  10.    Sponsored Links





    Registered Users have the option of removing this and all other advertisements.  More



  11. #8
    Senior Member mannej's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Perth
    Posts
    6,074
    FF Prog
    QFF, Enrich

    Re: Woolly Air New Zealand complaint response

    Registered Users have the option of removing this
    and all other advertisements.  More


    I understand that you did raise the complaint, I was just alluding to most airlines these days comment on the fact that they can move (or not move) seating requests due to their operational reasons.

    So in essence what seems trivial for them may bitter our experience significantly.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Good response for BA
    By doug.neill@bigpond.com in forum General Airline Discussion
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11th November 2010, 10:14 PM
  2. The QF Response to a pretty terrible flight attendant
    By N860CR in forum Open Discussion
    Replies: 125
    Last Post: 30th June 2010, 02:39 PM
  3. Positive response from Qantas
    By Flying Senior in forum Open Discussion
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 23rd April 2010, 04:00 PM
  4. Cathy Pacific response time
    By cbert in forum Your Questions
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 10th December 2006, 01:18 PM
  5. Will QFF make changes in response to Velocity?
    By Kiwi Flyer in forum Virgin Australia Velocity
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: 2nd December 2005, 04:38 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  


About Us

    The Australia Frequent Flyer is Australia's leading frequent flyer community and travel website.

    We are independently owned and not affiliated with any airline.

Follow us on

Twitter Facebook Google+ RSS


The Australian Frequent Flyer is a public forum. All posts reflect the personal opinion of the poster. These opinions are not necessarily shared by the Australian Frequent Flyer.


1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119